We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best starting point to enjoy St. Petersburg”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky
Ranked #26 of 333 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Tirana, Albania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“The best starting point to enjoy St. Petersburg”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I spent one week in St. Petersburg in March 2014. Staying in this hotel made my visit to this city an excellent experience. Service was discrete, the personnel was friendly and ready to help in everything at every moment. The room was very clean and with all facilities. Breakfast was sufficient. The filter coffee perhaps could be better, but this is not a serious problem. The interior design generally interesting. Whenever you turn back to the hotel, either for a short rest or late in the evening after an intensive day, you have the feeling you are getting back home.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aristotle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anton V, Deputy FO Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Aristotle S,

First of all I'd like to thank you for such a pithy feedback.
We're so pleased to hear when guests feel homey within the walls of our hotel. We always try our best to improve our customer service and hotel facilities. We won't leave your comment about coffee taste without attantion.

You are welcome again to Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky!

BR,

Anton Volodin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    543
    371
    95
    20
    6
See reviews for
147
336
67
263
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I spent there 3 nights. Hotel is clean and silent - surprisingly, Rooms are equipped very well, and the furniture seems to be stylish. Wireless internet connection works. Hotel has good location - up to ten minutes to subway station Vasileostrovskaya, up to 20 minutes of walk to Hermitage in city centre. Best place is restaurant for breakfast. Wide choices of buffet. Very intelligent waiters. You can order something you wish to serve to the table directly. Reccomended for foreigners. English speaking employees.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foreigner349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMelnikov, Executive Assistant Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Foreigner349,

Thank you for choosing Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky during your visit to St. Petersburg and for finding time for writing this review.

I am very glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay from all the aspects: the room, the breakfast, and the most important for me, the service (read our team).

I wish you a lovely spring and look forward to seeing you back,
DM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Location is excellent in many ways; fair center, a lot of restaurangs near by as well as historical places.
If you are not seeking golden handles and high prices try Vasilievsky.
Hotel is cosy with wonderful staff! Never got such a service in Russia. Special thanks to Natalia and her crew!
Jari Luoma, Finland

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JariLuoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMelnikov, Executive Assistant Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Jari,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for finding time to share your opinion with the fellow travelers.

It is so nice to know that you have liked it here and that our team made your stay a pleasurable experience. I will make sure to share your compliments with the whole hotel team and some individuals as well.

I hope to see you again at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky,
DM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I hosted a two-day seminar and had wonderful support from the staff (especially Natalia in the dining room) who catered to all our needs. The food was excellent and the service exceptionally better than I was expecting from this class hotel. The staff speaks English well and was helpful in sight-seeing and making other arrangements. Kudo's to the staff!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMelnikov, Executive Assistant Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Gregory,

Thank you for staying with us during your visit and for sharing your opinion with the TripAdvisor community.

I am so happy (and also proud) that Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky team made your stay the way you have described! There is no better inspiration for us that such reviews!

We will be waiting for you return,
DM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Petersburg, Saint Petersburg City, Russia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I been visiting hotel to join my Finnish colleagues at breakfast and to start our business meetings. We are international company, Finnish owned. We host our Finnish colleagues quite often. Anyone knows, that the mood in morning can make your day! All of us got excellent spirit in that day. Breakfast was rich and tasty. We were met by smiling nice-looking lady - manager Natalia - and were offered the best places to sit in quite to start our business meeting. She arranged everything so well, that we got our food and coffee in second. Nice breakfast room atmouspher and service-minded staff made great start of the day! Than you, Sokos!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evgeniya C, Front Office Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Anna S,

Thank you so much that you spent your time and left a review about our breakfast and service. It is so great to know that our staff made your day! The best rating for us is if you have a wish to come back and feel this atmosphere again and again! You are always welcome!

With best regards,

Chirkova Evgenia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

I spent two nights in this hotel. Came with nine colleagues.
First day we had a quick lunch in the restaurant: almost all took a borsch soup and it was good.
Room was spatious for one person but it was missing shelves where to put your clothes. The shelf on top of the wardrobe was too high.
Plenty of mirrors but not a good light for make-up.
The room was very clean. Carpets on corridors were very loose and therefore very dangerous because you might trip out and fall.

Breakfast was OK. Nothing special, nothing luxurious and nothing mouthwatering. Oh, except the croissants were very good. The presentation was a little too dull. I didn't like the colourful plates. They looked like childrens' table ware.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Emma518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMelnikov, Executive Assistant Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Emma518,

Thank you for staying at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky and for finding some time to share your opinion with the growing TripAdvisor community.

I am happy that you have liked the size of the room the cleanliness, and I would like to point out that our wardrobes have several shelves that can store very sound amount of baggage. As for the carpets, they might be loose in couple of spots and we are now looking for way to fix that issue.

It is nice to know that you found our croissants to be very good and at the same time I feel a bit upset that the selection of fresh fruit, plenty of dairy product, pastry station, selection of cold cut and cheeses, freshly brewed coffee of two kinds, two porridge options, egg station, where you can get the eggs the way you like and all the other delicacies did not impress you. As for colourful plates - those are Finnish design plates by the brand Iittala and is very often noticed and mentioned by our guests as a very nice touch to a restaurant buffet.

I would like to thank you again for your review.

I wish you a happy and colorful spring and always back to Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky,
DM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Room 412 was very small. No towel rail in bathroom and the shower was very difficult to access being over the bath. There were two taps for the shower, one for the water and one for the temperature. I guess that you might get used to them after a few days. Vey confusing light switches and no carpet on the floor. The telephone was not next to the bed. Impossible to fill the electric jug from the tap in the bathroom. The coffee and milk were not replaced after use.
The hotel is on the other side of the river to most of the attractions. Would be impossible to walk to the Nevsky Prospect.
Free internet in the foyer. Breakfast OK.

Room Tip: A room at the front would probably be noisy and at the back they look onto a light well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1937Max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMelnikov, Executive Assistant Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear 1937Max,

First of all let me thank you for staying with us during your visit to St. Petersburg. Also, I appreciate you finding some time to share your opinion with the travelling community of Tripadvisor.

I am happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay, still, of course, your "except" is somehow upsets me. I agree that room 412 is not the largest one we have, but we have plenty of different shapes of room and I am sure that if there would be a chance to provide you with a bigger and better room my colleagues would do it without a doubt. I also admit that some of the issues you have mentioned probably could be a bit tricky to figure out and use for the elderly guests. Still, I am sure our front office is always willing to assist and help the guests. It is a pity to hear that coffee and cream were not replaced, in fact that should be and since September 2013 we honestly improved the quality of our housekeeping service.

Even though we are located on the other side of the river from the Hermitage and the Palace Square, the walk along the Neva and over the bridge is usually considered a pleasant one by our guests and they also enjoy the walk to Nevsky prospect and the main attractions.

I am happy to hear you have mentioned the Internet access and I would also like to point out, that together with a guest computer in the lobby we have a high speed free of charge WiFi throughout the whole hotel areas.

Also thank you for considering our breakfast to be a reasonable one and it did go to another level since your visit and we have extended our buffet assortment and have a table service for coffee and tea (you can also choose between a darker of a lighter roast of coffee).

The rooms facing the main street (8th Line) have a good, modern windows and are sound proof, so the noise from the traffic is not really an issue.

Thank you once again for your review and I am always happy to see you back at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky,
DM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Vasilyevsky Island
Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge
Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge
#41 of 333 in St. Petersburg
1,261 reviews
Nevskiy
Akyan Saint Petersburg
Akyan Saint Petersburg
#11 of 333 in St. Petersburg
464 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
NasHotel
NasHotel
#9 of 333 in St. Petersburg
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vasilyevsky Island
Courtyard St. Petersburg Vasilievsky
Courtyard St. Petersburg Vasilie...
#47 of 333 in St. Petersburg
562 reviews
Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Gar...
#61 of 333 in St. Petersburg
886 reviews
Vladimir
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Ligovsky
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Li...
#18 of 333 in St. Petersburg
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky

Property: Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky
Address: 8 Liniya V.O., 11-13, St. Petersburg 199034, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Vasilyevsky Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#20 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#21 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#30 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky can be named as the first gallery hotel in St. Petersburg, which is situated on the Vasilievsky Island, close to the Neva river embankment and Blagoveshchensky bridge. You will reach the Hermitage and Nevsky Prospect in 5 minutes by bus. Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky is not just about high designed rooms, soft beds and convenient location, but permanently up-to-date exhibitions as well, which are taking place in the hotel interiors. Mikhailovsky theatre, the biggest contemporary art museum in Russia Erarta - the best art representatives in St. Petersburg are the hotel partners. The key concept of Solo Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky is "The House of Arts & Culture". By staying in Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky, you will begin your own art journey, where each guest will get his or her own individual route. Ballet or opera in the best city theatres, the most interesting exhibitions, shows and parties - every Soloist is your concierge and we know everything about rich and saturated life of St. Petersburg. After the big day have a pleasant calm evening in stylish Repin Lounge Restaurant & Bar, where you can always find the best of Russian cuisine as well as outstanding specials from all over the world. Do not miss your favorite sport events - in the 8th Line Pub you can watch all the broadcasts on the big svreen in Full HD quality. The best draft beer and whisky collection will complete the triumph of beloved team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing