We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing Services” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard St. Petersburg Vasilievsky

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Courtyard St. Petersburg Vasilievsky
Ranked #44 of 331 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Disappointing Services”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

Lobby, restaurant and rooms are clean but design of the lobby is a bit cheesy. The worse part of my stay was the services. The most obvious examples were summarised below:

1) During check-in, there was no clear queue and people tended to jump the queue. They were slow in checking in people too, and I waited for 40 minutes in the queue (consider that only a couple was in front of me, it was appallingly inefficient). The whole check-in process took about an hour for me and my friend.

2) No postal service provided, and not even stamp. If you don't speak Russian, you would have difficulty locating the post office as there was no English signage outside the office. The post office looked like it wasn't in service either since it was a metal door and you couldn't see inside. We were lucky as a Russian lady directed us to queue for the right windows (as we were holding postcards), but it took us an hour for mailing 3 postcards due to the long queue. It would be helpful if the hotel could do it for their guests (i.e. I believe it is a standard service for chain hotels)

However, the concierge was helpful (i.e. two different staffs helped us), and spent an hour trying to reach the CS of the mobile phone service provider for us and sorted out our problem with our pre-paid SIM card brought from Moscow Airport. We are indebted to their help.

Another shortfall, shall I say, is the surcharge of buying concert/opera tickets from the concierge. They charge 50% of the ticket fees, which I consider excessive.

Location wise, it was not the most convenient place and it is about 10 minutes walk from the subway station. Luckily, there are lots of restaurants near the subway station, so feel free to wander around and do some discoveries. Convenient shops nearby worth the visit as well (we had some interesting salads from those shops

Room Tip: Ask for a room that could see the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fireony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    213
    75
    13
    8
See reviews for
93
142
33
194
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

I have stayed in this hotel with my Family. The hotel was pretty good, very modern and elegant. The room was spacious and very clean. We have received a corner room with a gorges view to River Neva. The staff was very helpful and kind. The hotel has helped for us to request a Russian visa application. The city center was approximately 20 minutes by walk. We were absolutely satisfied with this hotel and I am absolutely sure if I go to St. Petersburg again I am going to choose this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask a high floor room, if possible a corner room, they are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnhem
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2012

we stayed at the Vasilievsky for 2 nights in October. It is a new hotel with the typical Courtyard feel to it.
The rooms are quite big. The beds are very comfortable. You will find coffee and tea making facilities in the room.
The bathroom is good.

Free Wifi in the lobby, where you can sit quite comfortably.

There are 2 metro stations which can be used, one on the green line and one on the yellow line. Both at about 10-15 minutes walk.

It is not really close to the Hermitage but the neighborhood is quite interesting. It has a long shopping street nearby with shops, restaurants and bars.
Also just opposite the hotel you will find the Petrograd area which is a great area to go for a walk.

we can highly recommend the hotel. It might not be the most obvious location but you can feel more of the St Petersburg away from the tourists

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eliette_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

Stayed for 3 nights end October for business. Very good value for money, good location, easy to get everywhere, friendly staff. Only negative I would like point out is that you can't open the windows in the room.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the higher floors with views over the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

I stayed there for two night and it´s a comfortoble, clean, modern hotel with all modern facilities. Excellent breakfast menu, really friendly staff and service, free Wi-Fi in the lobby, modest priced Wi-Fi in the rooms. From there, all tourist attractions can be reached by foot. I´ll certainly come back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juke68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

Comfortable, modern hotel with all modern facilities: flat-screen TV, Wi-fi, in-room fridge, gym and on-site ATM. Good restaurant with excellent breakfast and decent dinner menu. Snack menu in bar also available with good draft beer. Longish walk to Winter Palace (taxi $15-20) but much shorter walk to nearest Metro. Several good restaurants within walking distance include Georgian and Lithuanian cuisine. Several small groceries in area. Lobby staff speak good English.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlust427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liege, Belgium
Level Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

As all Marriotts, the bed is amaizing! Hard to get out of it! And the rooms are spacious.
The lobby is nice and bright, the bar is cozy and a bit "tacky" but nothing over the top.

Food at the restaurant is nice at breakfast (although the same everyday), whilst group diners are not very fancy (same for the business lunches - good but nothing special).
On this other side, the food at the bar is really nice, fresh and fancy :-)

Meeting rooms are nice and the event/catering managers are available.

The only down side is the level of english speaking troughout the staff... they speak a little bit... but don't speak too fast... especially with the youngsters :-)

Location wise, the Marriott is about 15 minutes walk from the Hermitage... and the walk is along the river Neva... beautifull :-)
The area is kind of real... not full of tourist.. you can get the taste of the real Russian life... worth to walk around!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Xri912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Kolomna
Courtyard St. Petersburg Center West/Pushkin Hotel
Courtyard St. Petersburg Center ...
#41 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilyevsky
Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilyevsky
#26 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
NasHotel
NasHotel
#6 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vladimir
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Ligovsky
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Li...
#17 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Admiralteisky
Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel
Renaissance St. Petersburg Balti...
#35 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Liteyny
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tchaikovskogo
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tc...
#5 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard St. Petersburg Vasilievsky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard St. Petersburg Vasilievsky

Property: Courtyard St. Petersburg Vasilievsky
Address: 2 Line of Vasilievsky Island, 61/30, St. Petersburg 199178, Russia (Formerly Marriott Courtyard Vasilyevskiy)
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Vasilyevsky Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#35 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#37 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#46 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard St. Petersburg Vasilievsky 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard St. Petersburg Vasilievsky hotel has a perfect location near the historic city centre of charming Saint Petersburg city, Russia. Whether you accommodate for business or choose the hotel for vacation the Courtyard St. Petersburg Vasilievsky will contribute to making your visit more memorable and comfortable. You will surely appreciate the location near the city center, its modern design, the view to the River Neva and free WiFi Internet access in the hotel rooms. The Courtyard St. Petersburg Vasilievsky hotel offers 214 spacious accommodations and suites with comfortable bedding, large work desk and WiFi Internet. Choose from our 8 upscale conference venues with broadband, state-of-the-art technology and professional services. After a hard day enjoy an aperitif in our Lobby Bar or taste dishes from Eastern France and Russia in Pierrot Restaurant. Choose from the St. Petersburg hotels the Courtyard St. Petersburg Vasilievsky, it is a new stay in St. Petersburg, Russia! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Marriott and Booking.com so you can book your Courtyard St. Petersburg Vasilievsky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard St Petersburg Vasilievsky Hotel St. Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing