We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Vasilievsky
Ranked #46 of 357 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Loved the room; good sized and nice view of the Neva. Taxi to Hermitage is 500 rubles, and to the airport 900 rubles. Breakfast is 870-950 rubles, so try and book your stay with breakfast included. Internet is quite expensive, but free in the lobby. It's a bit of a walk down to the Hermitage and other sightseeing places. Price was good though compared to some hotels closer. It's a trade off, I suppose. Staff is very friendly and speaks good English. Would stay here again; everything is good here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick N, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Vasilievsky, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Thank you very much for your comments.

Best regards,
Patrick Naughter, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (601)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Vasilievsky
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

143 - 149 of 601 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2013

This was our first "brand named" hotel we stayed in at the end of our vacation. We understand that the nicer the hotels are, the less you get! The staff was really nice and there was free (but slow) WIFI access. The hotel is quite far from the airport and trains. We paid the taxi 30.00 USD which is a lot cheaper that the hotel would charge for its shuttle taxi service. The surrounding neighborhood seems a little rough and it was quite a walk to see any attractions. The a/c did not work well. Had I not been using "points" I could not see paying 250.00 USD to stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank usatravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick N, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Vasilievsky, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Thank you very much for your comments. Sorry that you experienced issues with our internet, we looked into this and have since improved the connectivity throughout the hotel.

Best regards,
Patrick Naughter, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

The hotel is conveniently located. The rooms are very spacious with high ceilings. I had 3 big windows in my room. Which was good, since the view over the embankment and river is wonderful. The big space of the room left very positive impression. The room was well equipped with all the necessary amenities, including electric kettle and iron with ironing board. The restaurant at the hotel is of excellent quality both for a-la carte dinner & buffet breakfast, which was a pleasant surprise. All in all the hotel offers good value for money, taking into account its location, and I would recommend it over the nearby Sokos.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amk2f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick N, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Vasilievsky, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Thank you very much for your comments.

Best regards,
Patrick Naughter, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

I stayed at the hotel when I was Gold member of Marriott Rewards program.
I was traveling alone on business.

Well, firstly hotel web site is slightly misleading saying that hotel is located in historic city centre of St. Petersburg. It is actually across the river from historic city centre and if you choose the hotel you will have to trek quite a while, or take taxi, or go to subway station each day to achieve anything. Taxi takes 15-20 minutes to reach downtown. The area hotel situated with have literally nothing nearby except small shops and couple of cafes. Nothing hotel lists in "local attractions" is actually nearby.

The hotel selling point is I guess price (for price sensitive clients willing to trade convenience of accessing city centre for the price. It also had quite interesting benefit advertised in hotel lifts - supposedly one can get access to Hermitage museum by showing the hotel room key (I did not have time to enquire how this actually works).

Check-in was expedient as well as check-out. My status was recognized and I was upgraded to the studio room facing the river.

Room was quite large, similar size to US courtyard studio room and had separate sitting area with sofa, table, chairs and work desk and sleeping area with reasonably comfortable bed. Bathroom had shower over bath and usual Courtyard toiletries.

Staff was speaking English reasonably well

Hotel offers wireless wi-fi in rooms which was free to me due to the status. There were also several PCs in the lobby where people can use Internet for limited period of time.

I used hotel restaurant for breakfast and dinner for most of the days I stayed. Prices were reasonable. Breakfast selection was bigger compared to US Courtyards and they offered eggs/omlets to order option. Dinner service had reasonably large menu and wine list. There is also a bar.

This hotel has a gym, which I didnt visit, underground parking and business centre at the reception

Bottom line - if you are willing to exchange convenience for price, this may be the option for you. Otherwise try hotels on the other side on Neva river that will be closer to city center (if one prefer Marriott brand I dont think anything is located more conveniently than Renaissance St. Petersburg).

If anyone has any questions reated to this hotel I will be glad to answer (if I know the answer) - just ask.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank avsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick N, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Vasilievsky, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Thank you very much for your comments.

Best regards,
Patrick Naughter, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Great location with beautiful river view room, close to hermitage museum and metro station and lots of local resaurants and good buffet breakfast, the lunch buffet had also delicious salads...ighly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samiraaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick N, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Vasilievsky, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Thank you very much for your comments.

Best regards,
Patrick Naughter, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed in Courtyard for 3 nights in May 2013. The check-in process was smooth and quite quick. The room (#504) was big (this is due to additional space of balcony). the facilities in the room were good: modern furniture, double bed. The minuses are: Wardrobe is not very convenient to place your clothes and not free internet in the room. The shower power is weak - it's really annoying thing. And you can't open windows - you need to call to reception and they will send a man to help you. The breakfast was good.The staff was very helpful. And finally I would mention that location is not perfect - 10 min to underground or use taxi.

Room Tip: If it's not possible to book room with river view ask for 504, 404 and 304 rooms.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank klaidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick N, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Vasilievsky, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Thank you for taking time to post this review. We are presently working on a solution to have complimentary internet throughout the hotel. Presently free wifi is available in all public areas including our restaurant and bar. We contacted the city authorities and have arranged water pressure testing from 15th to 16th May 2013. We look forward being of service to you again. Best regards in the meantime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Good front desk staff greeted us, their English was fine. We were prepared for the 200 RUB doc fee. Our room was fine, a small shortcoming was slightly less water pressure that I like. The location of this hotel is a quite neighborhood which I liked, about a 10 to 15 minute walk to the metro.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick N, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Vasilievsky, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Thank you for taking time to share your experience. We contacted the city authorities and have arranged water pressure testing from 15th to 16th May 2013. We hope to be of service to you again. Best regards in the meantime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Kolomna
Courtyard St. Petersburg Center West/Pushkin Hotel
Courtyard St. Petersburg Center ...
#39 of 357 in St. Petersburg
639 reviews
Admiralteisky
Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel
Renaissance St. Petersburg Balti...
#37 of 357 in St. Petersburg
638 reviews
Vladimir
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Ligovsky
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Li...
#13 of 357 in St. Petersburg
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevsky Forum Hotel
#16 of 357 in St. Petersburg
748 reviews
Nevskiy
Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA
Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA
#25 of 357 in St. Petersburg
804 reviews
Liteyny
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tchaikovskogo
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tc...
#4 of 357 in St. Petersburg
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Vasilievsky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Vasilievsky

Address: 2 line of Vasilievsky Island 61/30, St. Petersburg 199178, Russia (Formerly Marriott Courtyard Vasilyevskiy)
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Vasilyevsky Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#35 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#37 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#46 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: £51 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Vasilievsky 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Vasilievsky has a perfect location near the historic city centre of charming Saint Petersburg. Whether you accommodate for business or choose our hotel in St. Petersburg, Russia, we will contribute to making your visit more memorable and comfortable. You will surely appreciate the location near the city center, its modern design, the view to the River Neva and free WiFi Internet access in the hotel rooms. The Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Vasilievsky hotel offers 214 spacious accommodations and suites with comfortable bedding, large work desk and WiFi Internet. Choose from our 8 upscale conference venues with broadband, state-of-the-art technology and professional services. After a hard day enjoy an aperitif in our Lobby Bar or taste dishes from Eastern France and Russia in Pierrot Restaurant. Choose from the St. Petersburg hotels the Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Vasilievsky, it is a new stay in St. Petersburg, Russia! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Vasilievsky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard St Petersburg Vasilievsky Hotel St. Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing