We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard St. Petersburg Vasilievsky

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Courtyard St. Petersburg Vasilievsky
Ranked #44 of 330 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

The hotel is nice ! if you like traditional hotel at heart of city , that's very good . clean room with average service and normal bed. lobby is very small and bad decorate . lobby bar is good . breakfast is good .enjoy ...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjyva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick N, General Manager at Courtyard St. Petersburg Vasilievsky, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thank you very much for your comments.

Best regards,
Patrick Naughter, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    213
    75
    13
    8
See reviews for
93
142
33
194
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

We made a trip to St.Pete in June with my husband and daughter from Moscow and we all were very excited about it - it was 1st visit there with my little one and there were "white nights" that period. When we came there was a young man at the reception and I found him rude and not friendly. Booking the hotel I mentioned about 3 people and was very surprised not having found gowns and slippers. Emty minibar was another surprise, but I was told that it was a rule for all Cortyards (strange) and to fill the fridge I should buy everything myself in the hotel shop (also strange). About location: I live in Moscow and know St.Pete quite well and I knew this location but in website it ABSOLUTELY misleads people from overseas moreover I didn't expect that it would be so far from metro station. Breakfasts are OK but everytime they put little stakes the way you couldn't get the table you liked - I don't know if it is a usual practice (may be they were planning some event afternoon there and wanted to bar the main space to get it ready, don't know). I was a bit dissapointed but in general even Cortyard by MARRIOTT couldn't spoil our holiday :-)

Room Tip: ask the river view - it is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iriant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick N, General Manager at Courtyard St. Petersburg Vasilievsky, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. The hotel is located on Vasilievsky Island, one of the foundation areas of the old city, which is regarded as part of the historic centre.

Best regards,
Patrick Naughter, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

I caveat this review with the following....I am a platinum Marriott member, I've stayed in Marriott's across the globe sometimes hundreds of nights a year and I am a very fair reviewer, writing the goods with the bads. The descriptions posted of this Courtyard property are misleading and unless you are prepared you will likely be unhappily surprised as my wife and I were during a recent trip.

The description states "The Courtyard St. Petersburg Vasilievsky hotel has a perfect location in the historic city centre of charming Saint Petersburg city, Russia". It is actually at least a 15 minute walk to the nearest metro that will take you to the city center. The entire journey is at least 30 minutes each way.

The hotel website also states "in room delivery of food". This is also incorrect, if you want to order from the restaurant they will charge a 20% surcharge on the already overly priced food.

The rooms are large and clean and breakfast is decent, but these other items are unacceptable when describing the hotel and made our stay a bit unpleasant.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jtgoldberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick N, General Manager at Courtyard St. Petersburg Vasilievsky, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. The hotel is located on Vasilievsky Island, one of the foundation areas of the old city, which is regarded as part of the historic centre.

Best regards,
Patrick Naughter, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Loved the room; good sized and nice view of the Neva. Taxi to Hermitage is 500 rubles, and to the airport 900 rubles. Breakfast is 870-950 rubles, so try and book your stay with breakfast included. Internet is quite expensive, but free in the lobby. It's a bit of a walk down to the Hermitage and other sightseeing places. Price was good though compared to some hotels closer. It's a trade off, I suppose. Staff is very friendly and speaks good English. Would stay here again; everything is good here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick N, General Manager at Courtyard St. Petersburg Vasilievsky, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thank you very much for your comments.

Best regards,
Patrick Naughter, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

This was our first "brand named" hotel we stayed in at the end of our vacation. We understand that the nicer the hotels are, the less you get! The staff was really nice and there was free (but slow) WIFI access. The hotel is quite far from the airport and trains. We paid the taxi 30.00 USD which is a lot cheaper that the hotel would charge for its shuttle taxi service. The surrounding neighborhood seems a little rough and it was quite a walk to see any attractions. The a/c did not work well. Had I not been using "points" I could not see paying 250.00 USD to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank usatravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick N, General Manager at Courtyard St. Petersburg Vasilievsky, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. Sorry that you experienced issues with our internet, we looked into this and have since improved the connectivity throughout the hotel.

Best regards,
Patrick Naughter, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
434 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

The hotel is conveniently located. The rooms are very spacious with high ceilings. I had 3 big windows in my room. Which was good, since the view over the embankment and river is wonderful. The big space of the room left very positive impression. The room was well equipped with all the necessary amenities, including electric kettle and iron with ironing board. The restaurant at the hotel is of excellent quality both for a-la carte dinner & buffet breakfast, which was a pleasant surprise. All in all the hotel offers good value for money, taking into account its location, and I would recommend it over the nearby Sokos.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amk2f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick N, General Manager at Courtyard St. Petersburg Vasilievsky, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thank you very much for your comments.

Best regards,
Patrick Naughter, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
478 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

I stayed at the hotel when I was Gold member of Marriott Rewards program.
I was traveling alone on business.

Well, firstly hotel web site is slightly misleading saying that hotel is located in historic city centre of St. Petersburg. It is actually across the river from historic city centre and if you choose the hotel you will have to trek quite a while, or take taxi, or go to subway station each day to achieve anything. Taxi takes 15-20 minutes to reach downtown. The area hotel situated with have literally nothing nearby except small shops and couple of cafes. Nothing hotel lists in "local attractions" is actually nearby.

The hotel selling point is I guess price (for price sensitive clients willing to trade convenience of accessing city centre for the price. It also had quite interesting benefit advertised in hotel lifts - supposedly one can get access to Hermitage museum by showing the hotel room key (I did not have time to enquire how this actually works).

Check-in was expedient as well as check-out. My status was recognized and I was upgraded to the studio room facing the river.

Room was quite large, similar size to US courtyard studio room and had separate sitting area with sofa, table, chairs and work desk and sleeping area with reasonably comfortable bed. Bathroom had shower over bath and usual Courtyard toiletries.

Staff was speaking English reasonably well

Hotel offers wireless wi-fi in rooms which was free to me due to the status. There were also several PCs in the lobby where people can use Internet for limited period of time.

I used hotel restaurant for breakfast and dinner for most of the days I stayed. Prices were reasonable. Breakfast selection was bigger compared to US Courtyards and they offered eggs/omlets to order option. Dinner service had reasonably large menu and wine list. There is also a bar.

This hotel has a gym, which I didnt visit, underground parking and business centre at the reception

Bottom line - if you are willing to exchange convenience for price, this may be the option for you. Otherwise try hotels on the other side on Neva river that will be closer to city center (if one prefer Marriott brand I dont think anything is located more conveniently than Renaissance St. Petersburg).

If anyone has any questions reated to this hotel I will be glad to answer (if I know the answer) - just ask.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank avsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick N, General Manager at Courtyard St. Petersburg Vasilievsky, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thank you very much for your comments.

Best regards,
Patrick Naughter, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Kolomna
Courtyard St. Petersburg Center West/Pushkin Hotel
Courtyard St. Petersburg Center ...
#42 of 330 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilyevsky
Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilyevsky
#26 of 330 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
NasHotel
NasHotel
#6 of 330 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vladimir
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Ligovsky
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Li...
#17 of 330 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Admiralteisky
Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel
Renaissance St. Petersburg Balti...
#37 of 330 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Liteyny
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tchaikovskogo
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tc...
#5 of 330 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard St. Petersburg Vasilievsky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard St. Petersburg Vasilievsky

Property: Courtyard St. Petersburg Vasilievsky
Address: 2 Line of Vasilievsky Island, 61/30, St. Petersburg 199178, Russia (Formerly Marriott Courtyard Vasilyevskiy)
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Vasilyevsky Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#35 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#37 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#46 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard St. Petersburg Vasilievsky 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard St. Petersburg Vasilievsky hotel has a perfect location near the historic city centre of charming Saint Petersburg city, Russia. Whether you accommodate for business or choose the hotel for vacation the Courtyard St. Petersburg Vasilievsky will contribute to making your visit more memorable and comfortable. You will surely appreciate the location near the city center, its modern design, the view to the River Neva and free WiFi Internet access in the hotel rooms. The Courtyard St. Petersburg Vasilievsky hotel offers 214 spacious accommodations and suites with comfortable bedding, large work desk and WiFi Internet. Choose from our 8 upscale conference venues with broadband, state-of-the-art technology and professional services. After a hard day enjoy an aperitif in our Lobby Bar or taste dishes from Eastern France and Russia in Pierrot Restaurant. Choose from the St. Petersburg hotels the Courtyard St. Petersburg Vasilievsky, it is a new stay in St. Petersburg, Russia! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard St. Petersburg Vasilievsky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard St Petersburg Vasilievsky Hotel St. Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing