We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bait and Switch!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nordhostel Hermitage
Reviewed 30 September 2010

Nord Hostel has despicable business practices.
Their entire marketing is all about the great location next to the Hermitage.
Just check the "map" link on tripadvisor. That is the only reason I agreed to spend about $100 U.S. a night in a hostel.

There is no mention on Expedia or Hostelworld or Trip Advisor about a second location
In all of my correspondence directly with the Nord Hostel, they never mentioned that I would be placed in a far off location.

I booked a private twin with them, had to pay fully in advance with paypal, and now I see why they require this.

When we showed up, reception was closed between 2 and 5pm, another misrepresentation from their listing, which said "24 hour reception" (they have since changed it).

When it opened, we were told we were NOT in the Nord Hostel, but in another location quite a long walk away. We had to lug all of our bags (my friend has a bad foot too). through the crowded streets of St. Petersburg to get to the other location, which was in a far inferior neighborhood with graffiti, down an alley with cats and beer bottles, up to a crappy apartment that seemed to have Russians living in it for long stretches at a time.

Nord Hostel's response is that there is a mention on their website under the "Map" tab that the private rooms are in another location, and because her e-mails to me included a website link below the signature, I was by "default" responsible to have scoured every tab of the website and read this. That map part was not even there before, they changed it later.
But even if it was, this is a ridiculous cop-out. They had plenty of opportunities to tell me that I would not be staying at the Nord Hostel.

NO MENTION of this far inferior location is made on Expedia (which we booked through), Tripadvisor, or other booking websites. Just because I sent her an e-mail directly (I had to contact them directly to pay them because you could not pay through Expedia), I should not be charged with reading the every inch of the website, even it if had been there.

The girls working at the hostel were friendly, but the Hostel manager, who is in the Netherlands or somewhere, refused to give us our money back. So we were robbed of $400 by this place and had to book with another place that really is in the area close to the Hermitage.

I cannot judge how the dorm rooms are, but I would never recommend giving your business to this type of establishment.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2010

We stayed there on our way back from the Baikal Lake, that was one theese places where u just wanna stay to chill out and enjoy wonderfull time in St.Petersburg, the lace itself is super cosy with nice kitchen area, free internet, wi-fi and first of all with with great hospitality of two wonderfull girls Tati and Lena that will always give u a hand no matter what or where they are ( just call God-:), we love the place!!!
Monika& Mike

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikewarcholik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

From here it's only two minutes walk to the Hermitage, that means you're in the heart of the city! Close to shops, restaurants, and metro's!
Very friendly and helpfull staff!! They will help you find your way and give you excellent tips about St Petersburg.
We enjoyed our stay very much. Only good and warm memories....

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jet059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

The hostel is not prepared to accommodate so many people in such a small space. Despite the 2 dorms are spacious, a tiny bathroom with two toilets and two showers is not enough for all and the kitchen is very small and has no window. There is no living room, no A/C and no fan. And it is very noisy during the day and especially at night.
But the location can’t be better and the staff is nice.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clatla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

This hostel has two locations, one with shared dorms, on the doorstep of the Hermitage- and another a few blocks further out. The one I stayed in was in a residential building just a very large apartment with four or five bedrooms, for 2-3 people each, and a few bathrooms so sharing was never a problem. Both locations are very well located, I never had to bother with the metro. I had missed a bus and arrived even later than planned, but the manager was around to let me in and happily show me around even at a very late hour. There's a nice little serve yourself stocked kitchen with cereals and breads and egss and coffee and juices. they just ask that you finish by 2 pm. The manager is very smart and interesting, speaks flawless English- and loves the arty side of St Petersburg and loves to share it with visitors, I got loads of good advice and great conversation. If Tatiana ever stops managing it, the whole place might fall apart, but as it is, it's a wonderful comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bettyellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

I stayed in a dorm with four friends and two of my friends had separate room. The place is a quite small but clean and remind me my times when I lived in community. Don't expect marble and silver ware.

Place has an excellent location. It also has heavy traffic nearby so take your ear plugs with you!

Service was friendly and they spoke pretty good English (what I expect as a baseline). By the way Russians speak English worse than I write it, so this was a great plus!

You had to made your own breakfast and it was what they promised - hopefully you like serials. Though what was nice that in such a little room you have to meet other guests who where in my case very nice company.

As a conclusion this hostel is small, clean and friendly place with a best location you could imagine.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edelfelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2010

The attention we received from the staff (Tatiana mainly) at this place was nothing short of amazing. She helped us figure out what to do, where to go and how to make the most out of our trip.
The hostel is spacious and the guests tend to be clean. The whole ambiance is great.
At night in the weekends the noise coming from the street can get bothersome.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldtraveler28006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Hostel Life
Hostel Life
#312 of 1,796 in St. Petersburg
110 reviews
Galakt Hotel
#161 of 364 in St. Petersburg
84 reviews
Nevskiy
Baby Lemonade Hostel
Baby Lemonade Hostel
#3 of 1,796 in St. Petersburg
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vasilyevsky Island
Nechayannaya Radost Hostel
Nechayannaya Radost Hostel
#697 of 1,796 in St. Petersburg
6 reviews
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 364 in St. Petersburg
1,688 reviews
Hotel Nouvelle Europe
#140 of 364 in St. Petersburg
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nordhostel Hermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nordhostel Hermitage

Address: Bol'shaya Morskaya St., 10, St. Petersburg 191186, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Admiralteisky , Palace Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #458 of 1,796 Speciality Lodging in St. Petersburg
Hotel Class:2 star — Nordhostel Hermitage 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nord Hostel one of the most centrally located hostels in Saint-Petersburg. You cannot possibly be closer to the Hermitage, one of the largest and oldest museums in the World, city's main square, the Palace square, and magnificent Winter Palace, residence of the Tsars. Just walk through the Arch and immerse yourself in history and beauty! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Nordhostel Hermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing