We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge
Ranked #32 of 358 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Our standard room on the sixth floor was of a high standard with a wet room and bathrobes
Flat screen TV. Large beds & large room.
Buffet breakfast had with lots of choice ( even bubbly) apart from cooked items which were average.
Location is OK with centre of city (Hermitage, churches, shops etc) within 15-20mins walk.
Not particularly near Metro station. Taxis cost 500 roubles to centre which seems quite expensive
Modern hotel with good amenities inc free internet

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dalesman23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina B, Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Dear Mr. Dalesman23,

Thank you for choosing Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge!

Our standard rooms are really spacious and well-equipped, I appreciate that you’ve noticed that and enjoyed it.
Hotel is located in the central part of the city, in step-by-step availability from the metro Vasiliostrovskaya and Palace Bridge which leads to the Hermitage and Nevskiy Prospect.

I’ll be glad to welcome you again in our hotel!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

418 - 424 of 1,471 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2012

This is a nice hotel with nice decoration at restaurant areas and corridors.

Not overpriced and great lunch. Rather helpfull and English speaking staff.

Location not so far from the city centre.

I will visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trave4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina B, Front Office Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Dear Mrs./Mr. Travel4life,

Thank you for your feedback!

The hotel’s restaurant Sevilla is decorated with Spanish pictures and located in renovated building – former vine cellar of well-known Russian merchant Eliseev – it’s really impressive!
Our staff is trying to do their best to provide 24-hour service of premium quality.

I wish to welcome you again in our hotel!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We spent a night here and were generally impressed with the hotel, the room and especially the pool/spa complex. We all felt that it was the nicest and cleanest hotel pool we'd ever seen. The room was also well appointed and beds comfortable, so no complaints there. A few minor dings for a coolish staff and a surprise 300 Ruble charge for "registration support" (whatever that is) when the room wsa paid for months in advance. We also thought the location was bit isolated and far from nighttime activities - we even got stuck on the wrong side of the bridge when it was closed for boat traffic (get the schedule BEFORE you leave the hotel!). Finally, the lobby bar is to be avoided - very high-priced drinks, with an overworked and unfriendly staff to boot. I'd stay here again just to use the pool and spa, which were heavenly after a long day of touring in the city.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cajuche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina B, Front Office Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Dear Cajuche,

Thank you for choosing Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge and leaving your feedback with your useful comments!
I am really pleased that you were impressed by the cleanness of our pool area, well equipped room and comfortable bed.
I am sorry that you were not informed by your travel agency about additional fee which you need to pay for the registration. Registration support is obligatory fee which all foreign people need to pay to be registered in our country.
Prices of the lobby bar are at the same level in comparison with the prices of the city bars. We are really sorry that lobby bar staff turned out to be unfriendly and overworked. We’ll try to organize more trainings to improve the level of the service.

I will be really glad to welcome you again in our hotel!

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

This hotel has a serious staff shortage problem and it shows.
I wanted ice delivered to my room and they told me that they would charge me 370 roubles if they deliver ice to my room but it will be free if I go to the lobby bar and pick it up myself.
I have never heard of such nonsense.
The hotel works with tour groups and avoid having breakfast between 8.30 and 9.30 in the morning.There isn't enough staff to clean the tables and make the tables ready for the new arriving guests.
The breakfast buffet is very avarage ,not much variety.The rooms are clean and well maintained.The hotel's location is not very central and there isn't much going on in the hotel's neighbourhood(not many bars or restaurants very close to the hotel).
I am not very sure if I would pick this hotel for my next trip.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tunç Ö
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander P, Director of Food and Beverage at Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Dear Suttun,

Thank you very much for finding a minute and writing this feedback.

I look trough your comments and I am sorry the our Breakfast didn't reached your expectations.
We've noted your suggestions and we are working hard to improve on those points.
Also we will review our room delivery charges and if changes are needed they will be applied.

On the other hand it was pleasant to see that your liked our rooms and maintained.

Hopefully we shall see you again when you come back to our city.

Best regards,

Alexander Petkov

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Had a week end last May with my family, definitely next time we'll be back. Short walk distance Hermitage. Excellent relation with price and service. Mario Correia, Focus Travel Agency , Porto-Portugal

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARIO C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina B, Front Office Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Dear Mario C,

Thank you your such warm feedback!

Look forward seeing you in our hotel again!

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Had a relaxing weekend break in St Petersburg. Stayed second time in Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge, as my first visit there a year ago was really nice and relaxing. This time I can say the same. Staff was even friendlier and more relaxed what they used to be, easier to communicate in English.
Bridge bar staff was wonderful, I ordered chef's recommended salmon burger - it was really tasty with home made tartar sauce.
Nice thing in this hotel are relaxing possibilities in the spa and also on the gym. Gym is spacious with modern equipment. Spa pools and saunas make you relaxing after a work out nicely! Don't forget to try Russian shower bucket if you go! :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prof_traveler_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina B, Front Office Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Dear prof_traveler_72,

I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for the second time!
We’ve organized lot’s of trainings of different kinds to reach our aim of more personalized and client oriented service.
I am really glad to see that you’ve enjoyed not only our tasty dishes in the Bridges Bar, but also had some time to use our new well equipped gym and relax in the Spa area.
With great pleasure I will welcome you again in our hotel.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Admirers of Ryanair will recognise the Sokos Hotel (Palace Bridge) as an analogue of Frankfurt (Hahn): it is a good 10-minute walk from the Palace Bridge (just under a kilometer away) and certainly 20-minutes from the Winter Palace itself. Nevertheless, it is an attractive walk, whether you go via the noble facade of St Petersburg University and the statue of Lomonosov, or via the statue of Pavlov and the former bourse. The area around the hotel is quiet; and by exploring the streets leading deeper into Vasilievsky Island, the visitor will get an authentic feel of St Petersburg life. The hotel is part of a Finnish chain, although you will detect the firm Russian overlay when you ask for an late check-out. The standard bedrooms are smart and rather spacious. The breakfast buffet is extensive and varied (even including flutes of champansky); but it's difficult to find an apple that doesn't taste like cotton wool and the hot food is only beta. I was staying in the hotel in very muggy weather, but the air-conditioning didn't seem to work in the bedroom. So, not perfect, but good.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank euchromatopsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina B, Front Office Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

Dear euchromatopsia,

Thank you for your nice feedback!

It is good that you like our location. The hotel is situated almost on the split of Vasilievsky island just over the bridge from the Hermitage. The place is really beautiful and quite.
The variety on our breakfast is really good. And I am glad that you like it. From the hot dishes we have forage, pancakes, omelet, sausages, bacon and etc. So variety is also quite big.
I am sorry that you felt that air-conditioning in your bedroom didn’t work. Now we are in a process of renovation of our air-conditioning system. And at the moment we already made 100 rooms. Last years summer in St. Petersburg is really hot. We hear all guests comments and we are doing everything to make our guests stays as comfortable as possible
Look forward seeing you in our hotel!

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Vasilyevsky Island
Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky
Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky
#27 of 358 in St. Petersburg
1,185 reviews
Nevskiy
Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA
Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA
#24 of 358 in St. Petersburg
817 reviews
Liteyny
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tchaikovskogo
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tc...
#4 of 358 in St. Petersburg
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralteisky
W St. Petersburg
W St. Petersburg
#20 of 358 in St. Petersburg
1,163 reviews
Admiralteisky
Petro Palace Hotel
Petro Palace Hotel
#31 of 358 in St. Petersburg
1,181 reviews
Vladimir
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Ligovsky
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Li...
#12 of 358 in St. Petersburg
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge

Address: Birzhevoi Lane, 2-4 | Valisyevsky Island, St. Petersburg 199004, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Vasilyevsky Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#24 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#24 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#25 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#34 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: £75 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge 5*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge is a unique City Business Resort located in the historical center of St. Petersburg on the Vasilievsky Island. The hotel is named after the famous Palace Bridge located nearby, which leads directly to many of the main sights of St.Petersburg center - the Hermitage Museum, Palace Square, Admiralty, St.Isaac's Cathedral and Nevsky Prospect, all just a 15 minute walk away. Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge offers a perfect getaway for wellbeing and relaxation whilst travelling on business and pleasure. This unique concept includes a fabulous Wellness Club with SPA area including swimming pool and saunas, THANN Day Spa, a 4000 sq.meters fitness center where personal trainers help you to stay fit. Moreover, on the second floor you can find GORKI Golf Academy - the first indoor golf club in the city. Unwind and escape from your routines in your own terms. Dine at 'Dans Le Noir?' where you will have restaurant experience of a lifetime in complete darkness. Celebrate at Sevilla restaurant or a magnificent Ballroom, which make your event a day to remember. Organize your corporate meeting, teambuilding or presentation at our up-to-date conference rooms, which can accommodate up to 350 people. Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge is a magnificent combination of new and old. Guest rooms, some of which are apartments and perfect for a long stay, are located in the modern building, but the heart of the hotel is an old brick building dating back to the mid19th century. It used to serve as the wine cellars of a famous merchant dynasty - the Eliseev family. Today under these old brick arches and chandeliers, you will find a modern and multifaceted world of hospitality aimed to relax or get energized. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing