We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wrong location, wrong staff, wrong choice.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge
Ranked #31 of 361 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This hotel is a let down on so many counts. First, the location is really out of the way. It feels and it is well away from the major city sites and restaurants. It's a good 30 minutes walk to Nevsky Prospekt, and a pretty uninteresting one at that. Whilst our room was good, other guests told us that theirs were very cramped with little space for clothes and luggage. The breakast experience is very poor - vast tour groups all descending on the buffet and tables at once. An awful bunfight to get seated and to find something to eat. The food itself varied in quality from some good things to some that was very poor. This is not a place for a pleasant relaxing start to the day. Pretty awful really. Perhaps the worst thing about this hotel is the very poor and at times surly service. We had an awful experience trying to get room service. It was only through sheer persistence and determination that we managed to get some food - and they had the termerity to demand first a cash deposit on taking the order (which they really didn't want to be bothered with) and then to demand cash on delivery. A very novel form of room service! The reception desk really couldn't be bothered answeriung questions and were simpmy not interested in arranging taxis etc. We had arrived in St Petersburg after a short stay at the Moscow Grand Marriott, and the contrast between the two hotels was stark. The only positive about the Sokos is the very lovely spa and pool. They seem to have invested a lot in this at the expense of the rest of the hotel - we suggest that they should have instead invested in staff training and the basics of running a hotel. We don't recommend staying here and avoid any tour comanies that use it. It's in the wrong location with the wrong staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WebstersLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,535)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

346 - 352 of 1,535 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013

We used this hotel as our base for a 2 night 3day St. Petersburg experience. St. Petersburg Line ferry books rooms at a pleasant discount for a visa free St. Petersburg experience, their price includes breakfast which was above average, excellent croissants but you have look for them. . The dining room was a pleasant surprise with excellent meals and service for lunch & dinner. Rooms very up to date and clean.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dubit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We were 5 freinds travelling together for 2 days in St Petersburg and were happy to be located to this nice hotel near Neva river banks.
Hotel was in two old buildings connected to each other by a atrium space with bar and restaurant in it.
We had a nicely furnished and clean rooms though not any river view.
The breakfasts vere plentiful and rich and one could choose from pastries, cereals, eggs, salads etc according one's taste. Service in restaurant was good too.
The only backlash was the safe in the rooms. My friend and I were forced to change three times the room before the safe there was activated properly .It took us one and a half hours to be setteled down because of this misshap. I would have expected the hotel of this quality to check their rooms properly before letting the new guests in to them.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank salmer_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Stayed two nights on a business trip. Hotel location was very good for us. Hotel staff was really helpful, the rooms very comfortable, quite big and clean. Wifi worked everywhere all the time. The view was not the best. Breakfast was ok in russian standards. Will come here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jiitee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

On check in I was told we were given a free upgrade. Room was very spacious, tea and coffee making facilities (which were't replenished without asking), lacking in cupboard and wardrobe space. 20 minute walk to The Hermitage. Hotel very quiet during the day and evening but at breakfast there were lots of Japanese tourists. Breakfast was adequate. Drinks and snacks in the bar were expensive, a small beef burger with fries was 750 rubbles (£16). To ventilate our room at night we left the balcony window open and both my wife and I suffered mosquito bites which you don't really expect in autumnal mid September. Staff as friendly as Russians can be.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

it is near to metro , one stop to nevsky , breakfast is good in regards to russian standart , there may be more fruits. You can try somon in beakfast. It was nice. rooms are nice.staff is helpfull. I have not seen any major problem. the staff speak english. I can stay here once more.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank expattr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The hotels is situated near a metro station, so you do not need a taxi to go to the center. The staff speaks english and the restaurant is ok. Do prepare yourself to pay extra for the breakfast and even for the small snacks in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller189934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA
Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA
#22 of 361 in St. Petersburg
845 reviews
Liteyny
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tchaikovskogo
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tc...
#4 of 361 in St. Petersburg
804 reviews
Admiralteisky
Petro Palace Hotel
Petro Palace Hotel
#30 of 361 in St. Petersburg
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vasilyevsky Island
Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky
Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky
#27 of 361 in St. Petersburg
1,239 reviews
Grand Hotel Emerald
#93 of 361 in St. Petersburg
227 reviews
Admiralteisky
W St. Petersburg
W St. Petersburg
#18 of 361 in St. Petersburg
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge

Address: Birzhevoi Lane, 2-4 | Valisyevsky Island, St. Petersburg 199004, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Vasilyevsky Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#23 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#25 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#34 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: £74 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge 5*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge is a unique City Business Resort located in the historical center of St. Petersburg on the Vasilievsky Island. The hotel is named after the famous Palace Bridge located nearby, which leads directly to many of the main sights of St.Petersburg center - the Hermitage Museum, Palace Square, Admiralty, St.Isaac's Cathedral and Nevsky Prospect, all just a 15 minute walk away. Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge offers a perfect getaway for wellbeing and relaxation whilst travelling on business and pleasure. This unique concept includes a fabulous Wellness Club with SPA area including swimming pool and saunas, THANN Day Spa, a 4000 sq.meters fitness center where personal trainers help you to stay fit. Moreover, on the second floor you can find GORKI Golf Academy - the first indoor golf club in the city. Unwind and escape from your routines in your own terms. Dine at 'Dans Le Noir?' where you will have restaurant experience of a lifetime in complete darkness. Celebrate at Sevilla restaurant or a magnificent Ballroom, which make your event a day to remember. Organize your corporate meeting, teambuilding or presentation at our up-to-date conference rooms, which can accommodate up to 350 people. Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge is a magnificent combination of new and old. Guest rooms, some of which are apartments and perfect for a long stay, are located in the modern building, but the heart of the hotel is an old brick building dating back to the mid19th century. It used to serve as the wine cellars of a famous merchant dynasty - the Eliseev family. Today under these old brick arches and chandeliers, you will find a modern and multifaceted world of hospitality aimed to relax or get energized. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing