We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thrown to another hotel....at night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge
Ranked #32 of 358 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2010

Booked the hotel for 5 nights, 9 months prior to the trip, primarily because of the location. Upon arrival at 8 P.M. we were told that they had overbooked the hotel and were sending us to their "sister" hotel approximately a mile away . Negotiated with 3 desk clerks and 2 assistant managers for 1 1/2 hours before we finally gave up and went to the other hotel. Have since contacted Hotels.com (no help whatsoever) and AMEX (told them that the Sokos hotels felt that they had fulfilled their obligations). We were sent from a 5 star to a 4 star incurring additional taxi charges every day with absolutely no compensation. Our tour guide told us that we have to understand one thing, "they really just don't care" I would strongly suggest, unless you love to gamble with your vacation, that you not consider this hotel. In fact, they really don't care at all!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tabicma1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

470 - 476 of 1,471 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2010

Stayed 2 nights in middle of heatwave so air con struggled to cope and one night during storm, went off all together. We were offered free pool and spa use, but as we don't swim and had no appropriate swim wear, this was of no use to us!
Room decent enough. we arrived in the evening and as it appeared no restaurants in the vicinity, we ate at the buffet. Big mistake! The food was mediocre and the cold foods weren't covered so not too hygienic. The plate of melon next to the desserts was a mass of tiny black flies, so obviously we gave that and the desserts a miss. When my husband told the waitress she neither apologised or looked in any way concerned. The cost of that was about £20 each, plus £5 for a small bottle of water! Needless to say we didn't partake of the breakfast, which cost even more! (Tip- the Butterfly bar right opposite the hotel cooked us a delicious fluffy salmon omelette for less thn £3)
On checkout we were charged for our registration as foreigners. Admittedly only £6, but our previous 4* hotel in Moscow hadn't charged for this, so we felt it was a bit of a rip off.
Best thing about hotel was location, about 15 minutes walk to The Hermitage.
Would recommend web site Go To Ru for booking transfers to and from airport. Excellent value and the drivers were there on time. Return trip approx £50.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynneybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

The Sokos Palace Bridge Hotel in St. Petersburg, Russia is the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. My wife and I stayed there with others on a group tour. In August of 2010, Russia was having a heat wave, so temperatures ranged up to 95 F. As we checked in, the tour guide said that the hotel rooms were not as cool as usual because of the heat wave. As it turned out, this was a half-truth. In fact, there was no air-conditioning at all in the entire hotel. The hotel said they would give us free spa use for which the hotel
normally charges $20. The rooms were sweltering when we got there and no air at all came from the vents.

When we got on the elevator, we could not get it to take us to the proper floor. As it turned out, you had to swipe your card on the elevator control, but they did not tell us this, so we spent ten minutes ridng up and down in the elevators. We were the lucky ones, because another group got stock between floors in the elevator for 20 minutes. Three days later, we also got stuck in the elevator for ten minutes until the maintenance workers came to get us out. When the elevators weren't stuck between floors, they moved very slowly and there were long waits.

We decided to go for a swim in the spa to cool off, and this was also an adventure. Our card keys to the spa door did not work, so we want back to the reception desk. There was a long line of people at the receptipon desk, so we had to wait to get our keys activated. They tried to charge us $20 to activate our spa keys until we protested, It took us 15 minutes to get to the spa, because you had to use a special elevator that took seven minutes to arrive and then we had to wind our way down a long corridor that was very confusing. We were very disappointed when we finally arrived. It was an indoor pool and the room was very hot. The pool water was too hot, so it wasn't very refeshing.

Food in the hotel was very mediocre and service was terrible. The maid did not replace the soap each day and the rooms were not cleaned very well. When we tried to call the reception desk or the concierge, the phone would ring for long periods of time, and sometimes. there was no answer at all. The concierge was not very helpful and one time, she gave us the wrong directions.

The staff was quite rude at times, and they seemed to think they were doing us a big favor if they answered a simple question. They did not speak very good English.

The rooms stayed stuffy and hot for three days with no air conditioning. It was very difficult to sleep at nightl

My advice is to avoid this hotel and be careful if you ever book at another Sokos Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sebastian99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2010

While the Soros had clean rooms and is near the Hermitage, that's the best that can be said about it. In blistering heat, the air-conditioning didn't work but the staff wouldn't acknowledge it. A few fans were available if you happened to know about them, but they were quickly lent out. Sleeping with the windows open meant major mosquito issues and no ability to use curtains (it's still light at 2 a.m. in July). I am seriously relieved that my malaria vaccination is current.

Am not expecting "Western service" , but the standards were nonexistent - i.e. in the small restaurant at breakfast, we -had to ask for menus, ask to place an order, ask several times for water and so on. Simple orders were sometimes wrong (like the mushroom, cheese, ham omelette that arrived with none of these). And overall, no one seemed to care.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArtHistoryLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2010

It's a little bit distant from the subway station but this is an amazing hotel in St Pete with all the ammenities and comfort that any other 5 stars will provide you. The staff is attentative and the facilities are extremely nice. The bar is pricey.
Overall, I would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PedroREIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2010

We booked and paid for this hotel in october 2009 eight months before travel. We booked the hotels car to pick us up at the airport and a superior room.When we arrived in Saint Petersburg there was no one there to collect us.After waiting an hour at the airport we phoned the hotel only to be told they had forgot about us and get a taxi.When we arrived at the hotel we were told the hotel was over booked and they had no rooms.The manager was nasty to us none of the staff were nice.They insisted we stay in their sister four star hotel in a standard room.We got no apology at all just the boot out the door.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Service
4  Thank DublinSeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2010

I stayed at the Sokos Palace Bridge on two short occaisions in March 2010. A lovely hotel if not a little sterile. Plenty of restraunts and bars. The place even has its own bowling alley! Rooms clean and well fitted, staff helpful and efficient. About a 30 - 40 min drive from the airport and close to all attractions. Free internet in rooms but, hey, dont have laundry done. I could have bought a full wardrobe for what I paid!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manwithplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Vasilyevsky Island
Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky
Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky
#27 of 358 in St. Petersburg
1,185 reviews
Nevskiy
Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA
Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA
#24 of 358 in St. Petersburg
816 reviews
Liteyny
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tchaikovskogo
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tc...
#4 of 358 in St. Petersburg
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralteisky
W St. Petersburg
W St. Petersburg
#20 of 358 in St. Petersburg
1,162 reviews
Admiralteisky
Petro Palace Hotel
Petro Palace Hotel
#31 of 358 in St. Petersburg
1,181 reviews
Vladimir
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Ligovsky
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Li...
#12 of 358 in St. Petersburg
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge

Address: Birzhevoi Lane, 2-4 | Valisyevsky Island, St. Petersburg 199004, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Vasilyevsky Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#24 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#24 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#25 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#34 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: £75 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge 5*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge is a unique City Business Resort located in the historical center of St. Petersburg on the Vasilievsky Island. The hotel is named after the famous Palace Bridge located nearby, which leads directly to many of the main sights of St.Petersburg center - the Hermitage Museum, Palace Square, Admiralty, St.Isaac's Cathedral and Nevsky Prospect, all just a 15 minute walk away. Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge offers a perfect getaway for wellbeing and relaxation whilst travelling on business and pleasure. This unique concept includes a fabulous Wellness Club with SPA area including swimming pool and saunas, THANN Day Spa, a 4000 sq.meters fitness center where personal trainers help you to stay fit. Moreover, on the second floor you can find GORKI Golf Academy - the first indoor golf club in the city. Unwind and escape from your routines in your own terms. Dine at 'Dans Le Noir?' where you will have restaurant experience of a lifetime in complete darkness. Celebrate at Sevilla restaurant or a magnificent Ballroom, which make your event a day to remember. Organize your corporate meeting, teambuilding or presentation at our up-to-date conference rooms, which can accommodate up to 350 people. Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge is a magnificent combination of new and old. Guest rooms, some of which are apartments and perfect for a long stay, are located in the modern building, but the heart of the hotel is an old brick building dating back to the mid19th century. It used to serve as the wine cellars of a famous merchant dynasty - the Eliseev family. Today under these old brick arches and chandeliers, you will find a modern and multifaceted world of hospitality aimed to relax or get energized. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing