We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a piece of real classical music”

Mariinsky Theatre Concert Hall
Book In Advance
More Info
US$313.55*
and up
Private Half Day St Petersburg City Tour including visit to the Russian Museum
Ranked #47 of 1,786 things to do in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
411 reviews
200 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“a piece of real classical music”
Reviewed 25 April 2013

a perfect place to enjoy the classical music, acute acoustics, comfortable seats and quite affordable prices

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    42
    9
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“The best addition to St Petersburg's Cultural Offering in the lay 10 years”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

The addition of a concert hall to the main hall of the Mariinsky Theatre was a miracle. It was built after a fire burnt down the original building that used to house the Mariinsky's costumes. Acoustics are great, programming is generally excellent and the seats and sight lines are both generally good. Even the prices are moderate for once rats of this calibre. I only hope that the Mariinky Second Stage will prove as successful.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Glenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Attending a Classical Music Concert in St. Petersburg was so much fun.”
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Attending a Classical Music Concert in St. Petersburg was so much fun. The performances were absolutely beautiful and I was enthralled with the conductor (he was so passionate and on queue), and with the main player(s) (who stood right behind the conductor). Aside from being extremely talented, the main player(s) were very enthusiastic as well. I recommend buying the tickets beforehand, and picking them up the day of the performance. The tickets were also reasonably priced. The hubby and I got great seats, and we paid a total of $32 USD for both (approximately). I would classify this as a definite must do if you’re in St. Petersburg.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Carolina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Fabulous Bravo Magnificent”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This theatre is a masterpiece of architecture, the building wraps itself around you and envelopes you in it's warm embrace. The design resembling a violin in shape is a really brilliant curvy mixture of material, the ply block forms that cover the balcony fronts could be a relief of sound in shape, the upper levels and background a kind of basket weave that mixes well with the whole in a kind of organic way.

You have to see it to experience a genuine theatre lovers delight, the orchestra plays from the pit but they feel to be next to you, whether that is the clever acoustic I don't know but it's warmth and tone comes to you from all sides.

From the moment you step into the buildings auditorium you feel cared for, the cloakroom, the bar, everyone is there to help and they look out for you to ensure you get as much out of your visit as possible. Watching everyone arrive is also a treat, they look around, disrobe and assemble into groups with adults and children looking equally excited.

Everything works well the seats and legroom are excellent, we managed to get a central position facing the stage and were very impressed with the staging of Carmen, great music and great dancing from very expressive people. It was a midday concert which is unusual to me but it felt right even with the bright sunlight outside, the theatre took you over and expertly directed your senses to what it would.

Carmen and fate were magical, they outshone the rest for me, but then why should they not?

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Beautiful Experience”
Reviewed 2 March 2013

the original theater, not the contemporary new auditorium, is beautiful. You walk in and immediately are transported back to a time when monarchy ruled and the theater was the place to be seen. The auditorium is heavily decorated and adorned in the Baroque style with 3 levels of balconies. If you look at the back center of the auditorium you will see the Imperial box where the royals used to sit.

We attended the first performance of the season and it was Romeo & Juliet. It was clear we were experiencing something special. The acoustics are great. All the performers, including orchestra, are so accomplished. The maestro was a trip to watch get all worked up guiding the musicians in their music. The crowd was excited to be there.

We sat on the floor 7th row back dead center. It was difficult to see being an old theater the seats are not staggered to be in the middle of 2 in front of you. This resulted in a lot of straining and leaning around the woman's hairdo in front of me. The seats are also very uncomfortable for a 1hr performance let alone our 3hrs during Romeo & Juliet. Theres little padding and again with the leaning it left me yearning for the staggered chairs of Lincoln center.

There were 2 intermissions during the show: 1st was 1hr into the performance and lasted 40min; the 2nd was 30min after the 1st performance and lasted another 45min! Our experience didn't need to last 3.5hrs but with these breaks it did. I assumed something was going on because after 30min of the first intermission the audience grew restless and started cheering for the play to continue. You would think with all this time bathroom lines wouldn't be bad for ladies let alone men but they were the usual log jam. Not enough stalls for women, tiny wet counter space, and the smells of perfumed urine greeting you at the entrance.

My husband waited in line for coffee at the little cafe but was rudely told "no coffee" and then the attendant moved on without giving him a chance to order something else.

Everything in Russia that involves a big crowd will also involve lots of traffic. We rushed after the second bow from the cast to get our coats and get to our driver. Cars will park in up to 5 rows parallel outside the front door. Its convenient if your driver gets there early enough but if he's stuck on the inside rows there is no system to get out. You're stuck until other guests find their cars and move on.

Overall it was a great experience and Im so glad we saw the ballet in Russia especially in this theater but if we went again I think Id try to get balcony seats so I wouldn't have to strain to see and could shift to find the most comfortable position.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Denneyorama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mariinsky Theatre Concert Hall also viewed

St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 

Been to Mariinsky Theatre Concert Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing