We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location but very hot rooms and ended up with lots of bug bites.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Austrian Yard -Hotel
Ranked #171 of 334 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great location but very hot rooms and ended up with lots of bug bites.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2010

We recently stayed at the Austrian Yard 2 during a weekend trip to St. Petersburg. While the location was excellent (with two outstanding restaurants just down the street) the hotel was anything but excellent.

While the check-in process was good as was our initial impression of the room the overall experience only declined. This particular weekend in St. Petersburg was quite hot and the rooms (or at least ours, number 12) are not air conditioned, which is not normally a problem for us. Typically we would just open the windows and let the air circulate; however, one of the windows did not have a screen and thus opening this window would have allowed in even more mosquitoes than were already in the room. Accordingly, our first night was VERY hot and we still ended up with a few bug bites.

On the second night things cooled down but the room got only slightly cooler despite us opening both windows (even knowing what that would bring) but we felt we had no choice. That was a huge mistake as we ended up with even more bug bites some of which no longer seemed like mosquito bites but rather bed bug bites (smal little red bumps). This was less than ideal.

The third night was no better as the heat returned and we did not dare open the second window. However, this did not prevent more bug bites (both mosquito and bed bug).

All in all three bad nights.

Normally an experience like this would result in a "terrible"; however, the location was excellent and the service was good partially offsetting the other problems.

At the end of the day I cannot say I would recommend this place as a result of our poor experience. I would have this up with the hotel at the time of check out but the girl working the desk did not have a good enough knowledge of English to understand out problem.

Happy to answer any further questions.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scalba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    27
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
28
30
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2010

Located in a quiet neighborhood within a few minutes walk from the metro (Nevsky Prospekt is only two stops away), this mini-hotel deserves far more attention and consideration than it currently has on here. The staff were really helpful, their English is very good and it provides a welcome retreat from the hustle and bustle of the more tourist oriented parts of the city. Our room was tastefully furnished and the large double bed was really comfortable. It doesn't have a restaurant/dining area but a Continental breakfast is supplied to your room and you get a good selection of items to choose from. There are several bars, restaurants and shops nearby. If you want somewhere to stay that is right in the middle of things, don't stay here. But if you want a dreamy escape from the pace of St Petersburg that is good value, then this comes highly recommended. We loved it.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PG64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
's-Hertogenbosch, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2010

Allthough it was very cold outside, inside it was warm. Not inly the tempature but also the service. The hotel is located on a very good place in the city just out of the bussy city but only a few minutes away from it. The Metro is close and there are some good restaurants in the neigbourhood. When we will go back to saint Petersburg will will go bach to this hotel for sure!!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bvwanrooij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latham, NY
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2010

The hotel is located conveniently within a short walk from a metro station and only one or two stations away from the center of the city. The rooms are not large but very clean and each has a bathroom and small kitchen. Staff was very courteous and informative. Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lkats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2009

We were among the first customers in the hotel. A very nice mini-hotel, friendly service, beautiful rooms. Beautiful location in the diplomat area of the city, at a boulevard. A metro station near by.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarjaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2009

We've stayed at Austrian Yard 2 (Austrian yard 1 is at a different location).

It is situated near a metro station on a quiet street. The American ambassade (or consulate ?) is situated on the opposite side of the street, so it's quite a "classy" residential neighborhood.

The room was one of the largest I've ever stayed, it has a small hallway and a bathroom with floor heating. Everything was new, with IKEA (or similar) furniture.

Impressive was their attention to details:
- in the first day we've filled the small provided garbage basket, the next day a new and bigger one appeared.
-i've bought a large roze for my fiancee and she left it in the room in a glass > the next day they changed the glass with a vase !
- there is an electric teapot and a box with forks, knives, spoons, dishes ...
- cleaning each day was done more than thoroughly. Especially the shower cabin always looked like never used.

We had free wired high speed internet (they'll provide the utp cable), tv with lots of channels (everything is doubled in russian :) ) and breakfast in the room. The small fridge from the room was empty ! Not the usual 4* hotel fridge that has 3/4 of it's space filled with overpriced drinks and sweets.

The stuff's knowledge of english varied, one of them had to search on google some phone numbers to call us a taxi, but everything else was so smooth to be bothered by that.

We had an excelent week in St Petersburg, and one of the reasons for that was this room were we rested after the our long city trips.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank curious_traveller09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Vasilyevsky Island
Hostel Peter and the Wolf
Hostel Peter and the Wolf
#151 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Petrogradsky
Mark Inn Hotel
Mark Inn Hotel
#131 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
Seven Cabins
Seven Cabins
#199 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Galakt Hotel
#152 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Hotel Nouvelle Europe
#136 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Hotel Vera
#30 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austrian Yard -Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austrian Yard -Hotel

Property: Austrian Yard -Hotel
Address: Furshtatskaya St., 16, St. Petersburg 191028, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 334 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Austrian Yard -Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The «Austrian Yard -Hotel» offers you comfortable accomodation in the historical center of St.Petersburg.The hotel’s interior was completely rebuilt in 2009. This is a new hotel, offering spacious rooms in a relaxing, contemporary style. The hotel comprises a three story building, situated in light, airy courtyard, comfortably protected from routine street noise. All the windows face the courtyard.The hotel has a beautiful inner-yard(patio) with flowers all around, furnished with wooden benches and tables. A special glazed roof shelters the tables and protects guests from the weather. There is also a barbecue pit in the inner yard, where guests can cook or entertain friends or clients. We have a coffee machine in the reception hall, and coffee is free of charge. A stroll around the neighborhood will take you past the beautiful facades of this historic street and to important architectural monuments from the 18th and 19th centuries. Tavrichesky Palace, Smolny Cathedral, and the Peter and Paul Fortress, Nevsky avenue are all minutes away.The Austrian Yard- Hotel is situated in the heart of St. Petersburg’s prestigious "diplomatic quarter,” surrounded by consulates of the USA, Spain, Germany, and Finland.Regardless of which room you choose, you'll have a TV, a fridge, a phone, an electric kettle, crockery, and tea and coffee. A microwave can be provided at your request. In the bathrooms there are shower cabins, heated floors, slippers and bathrobes. There is free internet access in each room. In addition, the hotel offers non-smoking rooms and a room equipped for those who are left-handed. Our guests may use the parking area directly outside the hotel, located inside the courtyard.Be certain that if you decide to stay with us, you will find a hospitable and friendly staff, beautiful interior design, comfort, and safety. Our staff is on duty around the clock. We are looking forward to seeing you at the "Austrian Yard - Hotel." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Austrian Yard -Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing