We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unbeatable view, excellent food and coffee” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Singer Cafe

Singer Cafe
Ranked #3 of 82 Dessert in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$26
Cuisines: Cafe, European, Russian, Soups, Eastern European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Nevskiy
Description: In the heart of St. Petersburg, in the house of the company Zinger, who is known to many as the "House of Books", on the second floor is located the cafe Singer. Huge panoramic Windows overlooking the Kazan Cathedral and the Nevsky Prospekt, spacious rooms with classic interior design and soft light will make you plunge into the atmosphere of the early twentieth century. What could be better than to start your day with a delicious Cup of coffee and freshly baked cakes, watching through the haze of the morning mist on awaking city? In the menu of cafe Singer You will find a large selection of delicious German desserts, omelets and snacks to start the day. After a light or hearty Breakfast, you can explore the famous places of scenic St. Petersburg. Convenient location cafe Singer allows easy access to the nearby historical monuments such as the Church on the spilled Blood, arts Square, Russian Museum, the Great and Small halls of the Philharmonic, St. Isaac's Cathedral, the Hermitage and many others. Getting pleasure from what you see, You can visit the cafe Singer to relax between sightseeing trips and share impressions with each other. We are happy to offer you lunch menu and traditional Russian dishes: borsch with meat, meat Solyanka, Golubcy - minced meat wrapped in cabbage, dumplings with potato, dumplings with veal and pancakes with different fillings. Along with Russian dishes in the menu of cafe provides a large and diverse choice of European dishes as well as drinks for any taste. In the evening, tired after an active day, You can complete your cultural program for a Cup of hot mulled wine or tea with fresh sea-buckthorn, honey and apple, watching the lights of St. Petersburg from the cafe Singer. And let your impressions about us leaving only the brightest and best. We are always glad to see You again!
Washington DC
Level Contributor
133 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Unbeatable view, excellent food and coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

It's a bit expensive and our server was hard to wrangle but I didn't care... I was having an experience. :) High quality food and drink and a beautiful airy space overlooking Nevsky Prospect provides much to see. Sat there for hours!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank iStefPayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    518
    530
    180
    60
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
222 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Lovely beef soup with a great view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

The huge picture windows frame a great view of the cathedral over the road-- very relaxing away from the hustle and bustle. The Russian beef soup was really tasty, and the Caesar Salad one of the better I've had. A couple of really nice touches--with your beer you get some great wasabi coated nuts, and with a glass of wine three quality chocolate truffles. Overall, a very pleasant break on a day of sightseeing. Go into the cathedral over the road too--it's quite dramatic-- not as highly decorated as St Isaac, but still very much worth a look. The devout line up to pray at the altar

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Frans_12255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The right place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

A tradition of St Petersburg : old traditional dishes with a reliable cuisine. We 've bene there 4 times and the food was always excellent. Kind personnel, very qualified. Extremely good cakes. A place to visit, definitely

Helpful?
Thank Marozia8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
131 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Perfect setting for coffee and a cake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

This place is located on the 1st floor of a book store but it is housed in a wonderful old building on St Petersburg's main street. So get yourself a table by the window and not only can you "people watch" to your heart's content but also you get a stunning view of the Cathedral just across the road. The coffee and cakes are great (as is all the food) and the service is excellent. Not cheap but good value given everything on offer. This is an ideal place to recover from a visit to the famous Church of the Spilt Blood which is just around the corner.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gommers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanklin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Better than most other options for snacks in St Petersburg”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Situated within a bookstore and opposite the Kazan Cathedral on Nevsky Prospekt this was a real gem if a find. Beautiful setting, and really relaxing. No hussle or bustle here. The cafe is advertised in the bookstore window, which is how we came across it, and we were delighted by it. Fresh food and gorgeous pastries/cakes are standard. We were fortunate enough to get a window view of the Cathedral which added to our visit. Latte was superb, and tea served in beautiful plain white china. Total contrast to what our experience had been to date of Russian cuisine and hospitality. We shared a sandwich and were offered a second sharing plate without request. Staff were courteous and friendly, which again was in contrast to what we experienced elsewhere in Russia. Prices were no different to UK for a good quality establishment. This in contrast to Moscow which whose prices are stratospheric (£8 for an orange juice/£6.50 for half a lager). Would definitely recommend this cafe and would return without hesitation if ever I find myself in this city again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tea-Cee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Singer Cafe also viewed

St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 

Been to Singer Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing