We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Sonya Hotel
Ranked #57 of 335 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
419 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Cozy hotel”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Set in a old "rich man's house" from the 19th century, this hotel is perfectly situated within walking distance from all the sights in the city as well as within walking distance (20 minutes) from the Finland railway station on the other side of Neva. The old inner yard has been turned into a spacious dining hall/restaurant with the ceiling reching several floors. The standard rooms where big enough and consisted of all you need for your trip; flat screen TV, minibar, safe, bathroom with all the acessories and fluffy towels. Both the room as well as the whole hotel is nicely and modernly decorated. The breakfast was just great and nothing was missing. The best part of the hotel was however the good service; smiles and "good day" wishes where ever you went, something you don't get too much of in Russia.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MosseTurku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    271
    110
    35
    14
See reviews for
74
191
47
253
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed at the Radisson Blu Sonya Hotel for 2 nights.
Room- The rooms were good and clean and decent typical of Radisson Blue hotels.
Food- The food was decent as well. We didnt get to dine as we were a part of the tour but the breakfast spread was decent and the service was ok. Not everyoen at the hotel understands/speaks english but i guess thats throughout Russia.
Location- The location is a little away from the action. But if u take a cab its just 10 mins away
Service- Decent
Wifi - It had free wifi

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaurinD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonSonyaHotel, General Manager at Radisson Sonya Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear SaurinD,

Thank you for taking your time to write a comment on our Hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoy your stay in Radisson Sonya Hotel.
We welcome you back to Radisson Sonya during your next trip to Saint Petersburg.

Warm regards,

Shirlynn Lim,
General Manager of Radisson Sonya Hotel, St. Petersburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The hotel was nicely decorated and very neat & clean. Room and inside facility was cool. Staff at the reception was very helpful. We tried to get there by the metro and found a bit tricky to find it. Morning breakfast was a bit expensive than expected but Other facilities were good. Over all a good hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jobair a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonSonyaHotel, General Manager at Radisson Sonya Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear jobair a,

Thank you for taking the time to review Radisson Sonya Hotel, Saint Petersburg.
I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay.
I look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the area.

Kind regards,
Shirlynn Lim, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The hotels is good and rooms are of decent size, with necessary amenities and tastefully decorated. The staff was a bit unconcerned at the reception. We reached earlier in the morning about 9AM and the check-in time was around 3PM. We requested if they can help us with one room so that we could freshen up, we had booking for 3 rooms. They said they will try for that and asked us to wait..and wait..and wait..we waited for about 2 hours!!! They kept on saying, its almost done, just 5 more minutes!!! We were very annoyed!! However, they made up by getting all the 3 rooms ready!! Barring this initial glitch, everything was perfect in the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelogger_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonSonyaHotel, General Manager at Radisson Sonya Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear travelogger_12,

We are glad you enjoyed your overall stay with us and thank you for the feedback regarding your experience with the early check-in. The details have been shared with the Front Office Manager and his team and we take on board your comments on how the situation could have been handled differently. Our apologies again for the delay and thank you for your patience that morning.

We look forward to another opportunity in the future to host you again at the Radisson Sonya, Saint Petersburg.

Warm regards,
Shirlynn Lim,
General Manager of Radisson Sonya Hotel, St. Petersburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

How great is Saint Petersburg?

I am embarrassed to admit that I didn't know much about the city before going there recently on business, but I will certainly be back. For wonderful buildings, palaces and period 18th century architecture it knocks spots off anything in Europe. And it's so BIG. No piecemeal "Old Town" here, the whole city is historic. Even some of the stations on the Metro are wonderful for their period detail and scale.

Which is why staying in the Radisson Sonya is not really ideal. It's a fair old walk from the best streets and the nearest metro station is a 15 to 20 minute trek. Having said that, it's a perfectly nice hotel, good value I guess, and OK if you want to be in and out on business. There's a pleasant bar there and the Russian lager on draught is well worth a go. Room was comfortable, if a little on the small side, with good internet access. Breakfast from the buffet was OK, but the hot food was, well, not hot. The staff on reception generally spoke good English and were keen to help. They don't however exchange dollars to roubles, you have to find a local bank for that.

The taxi drivers will rip you off so watch out for this. They are generally a surly lot, too. Find out from a local or someone at the hotel what the ride should cost and negotiate before you go. And organize a hotel pick up on arrival - the charge will be less than what the taxi drivers will try to get out of you...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeremy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Great atmosphere, disappointing morning buffet. Good rooms, business club rooms were great - nice comfy bed and themed room added to experience of the stay. Desk to work at free internet and a Nespresso machine. Bar is great to hang out for a quick one.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderer731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonSonyaHotel, General Manager at Radisson Sonya Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Zirka R,

Thank you for your comment.

If you have a moment, we would like to find out details of your morning buffet experience. If you could email me directly to my attention at shirlynn.lim@radisson.ru, I would greatly appreciate it. We are always open for ways to improve our services.

We welcome you back to Radisson Sonya during your next trip to Saint Petersburg.

Warm regards,

Shirlynn Lim,
General Manager of Radisson Sonya Hotel, St. Petersburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My latest stay there was in the middle of August for 6 days.
Great recognition for the Club Carlson Gold status members and very speedy reception process
with lots of smiles ( Thanks Natalie and Valerie -- you were EXTREMELY nice).
Room was nicely sized, good amenities, great bathroom.
Bedding was comfortable, plenty of channels on the LED TV.
Breakfast was plentiful, lots of choices, friendly staff. Make sure that you order omelet (free of charge)made to order - it is available, but not on the buffet.
Overall, the staff went all the way to make this stay very enjoyable.
Good luck to the newly appointed General Manager Shirlynn Lim in her efforts to make this hotel an even better place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eli C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonSonyaHotel, General Manager at Radisson Sonya Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear EChaussky,

Thank you for taking the time to review Radisson Sonya Hotel, Saint Petersburg.
I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. I would put through the information about our Receptionists to our Reception Manager.
I look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the area.

Yours sincerely,

Shirlynn Lim, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Vladimir
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Ligovsky
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Li...
#16 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Demetra Art Hotel
#50 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Radisson Royal Hotel, St.Petersb...
#122 of 335 in St. Petersburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Liteyny
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tchaikovskogo
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tc...
#5 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Nevskiy
Novotel St. Petersburg Centre
Novotel St. Petersburg Centre
#46 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
Liteyny
DOM Boutique Hotel
DOM Boutique Hotel
#41 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Sonya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Sonya Hotel

Property: Radisson Sonya Hotel
Address: Liteiny Ave., 5/19, St. Petersburg 191187, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Liteyny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 335 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Sonya Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Rezidor, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Sonya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing