We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From Russia with love” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Sonya Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Radisson Sonya Hotel
Ranked #56 of 331 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Spring Hill, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“From Russia with love”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

Modern hotel with compact but functional rooms. Clean. Excellent food and service in the Metamorfos Restaurant - waiting staff are both, professional and personable as they engaged in spontaneous but not intrusive chat with us during our many meals there. I cannot but highly praise the reception staff who were attentive and solutions orientated on every occasion, irrespective of who I was dealing with. Young gentleman by the name of Kirril in particular was a gem - we had a misfortune of being pick pocketed during our first day in St. Petersburg, which meant that the rest of the stay was somewhat disturbed. Hotel staff were very empathetic and Kirril took charge in facilitating contact with banks in Australia in order to cancel our credit cards, liaised with the local police in order to obtain a certificate of declaration in relation to the incident. He even helped organise our financial arrangements; as you would imagine, thinking clearly in time of distress was hard and Kirril helped with logical thinking, so that all things were happening in the correct order. My son and I are immensely greatful for all the assistance given. If you are staying at this hotel, we recommend you should book car/taxi transport from the airport with the hotel. The pick up service was well organised, trouble free, clean car, professional and friendly driver. The house keeping service is a bit of a hit and miss but in the context of all other good things this hotel has to offer, I would gladly stay here again. Thank you to all hotel staff for looking after us and making our stay comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Slaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonSonyaHotel, General Manager at Radisson Sonya Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Slaussie,

Thank you for taking your time to write a comment on our Hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoy your stay in Radisson Sonya Hotel. Your comments will be shared with the Front Management and Kirill personally. We are always glad to assist guests with any problems or requests.

We welcome you back to Radisson Sonya during your next trip to Saint Petersburg.

Warm regards,

Shirlynn Lim,
General Manager of Radisson Sonya Hotel, St. Petersburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    266
    105
    34
    14
See reviews for
70
187
46
250
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We recently stayed at the Radisson Sonya and found the staff to be terrific. When our privately booked guide cancelled a few days before we arrived in St Petersburg, I contacted the concierge who immediately sent some alternatives. They were very accommodating and the service level was great. The rooms are really small but otherwise I have no complaints.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Feezeeweezee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

I like the most that all systems (lighting, elevators, bathroom equipment, music, flooring etc.) are made from the expensive materials and are well designed.

The big minus is that mineral water at breakfast is Aqua Minerale which is not actually Natural mineral water(TU-0131...). For such a good level hotel it is not a big deal to offer real natural mineral water! I hope you can purchase it soon)

Also a small minus that you do not have clocks at the reception!

All the rest I like very much!


  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivanmanvelov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
57 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

At first I didn't know what to expect--visiting Russia for the first time. I booked this hotel based on the familiarisation with Radisson and...it did not disappointed me at all. The hotel experience was awesome. Why? Well....you expect those high Western standards but also, the concierge and her staff were great , friendly, their English was perfect, and above all the food was awesome--especially the Siberian Pyelmeni.

As well I would recommend anyone to stay in this hotel given its closeness to the center of Saint Petersburg since everything--well, almost--is from a walking distance.

If I go back to St. Petersburg, I shall definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drs88bbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Great country, great city and a very nice hotel...and all made so much easier by the kind staff and very helpful concierge (Elena) who never got tired of answering my questions and guiding me through beautiful St Petersburg...

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonSonyaHotel, General Manager at Radisson Sonya Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Patrick M,

Thank you for taking the time to review Radisson Sonya Hotel, Saint Petersburg.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay.
I will share your nice comment about concierge Elena with our staff members and herself.

We welcome you back to Radisson Sonya during your next trip to Saint Petersburg.

Kind regards,
Shirlynn Lim, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
390 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Set in a old "rich man's house" from the 19th century, this hotel is perfectly situated within walking distance from all the sights in the city as well as within walking distance (20 minutes) from the Finland railway station on the other side of Neva. The old inner yard has been turned into a spacious dining hall/restaurant with the ceiling reching several floors. The standard rooms where big enough and consisted of all you need for your trip; flat screen TV, minibar, safe, bathroom with all the acessories and fluffy towels. Both the room as well as the whole hotel is nicely and modernly decorated. The breakfast was just great and nothing was missing. The best part of the hotel was however the good service; smiles and "good day" wishes where ever you went, something you don't get too much of in Russia.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MosseTurku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed at the Radisson Blu Sonya Hotel for 2 nights.
Room- The rooms were good and clean and decent typical of Radisson Blue hotels.
Food- The food was decent as well. We didnt get to dine as we were a part of the tour but the breakfast spread was decent and the service was ok. Not everyoen at the hotel understands/speaks english but i guess thats throughout Russia.
Location- The location is a little away from the action. But if u take a cab its just 10 mins away
Service- Decent
Wifi - It had free wifi

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaurinD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonSonyaHotel, General Manager at Radisson Sonya Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear SaurinD,

Thank you for taking your time to write a comment on our Hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoy your stay in Radisson Sonya Hotel.
We welcome you back to Radisson Sonya during your next trip to Saint Petersburg.

Warm regards,

Shirlynn Lim,
General Manager of Radisson Sonya Hotel, St. Petersburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Radisson Royal Hotel, St.Petersb...
#45 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Demetra Art Hotel
#54 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Vladimir
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Ligovsky
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Li...
#17 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Liteyny
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tchaikovskogo
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tc...
#5 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Park Inn by Radisson Nevsky St. ...
#65 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Nevskiy
Novotel St. Petersburg Centre
Novotel St. Petersburg Centre
#48 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Sonya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Sonya Hotel

Property: Radisson Sonya Hotel
Address: Liteiny Ave., 5/19, St. Petersburg 191187, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Liteyny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 331 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Sonya Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Rezidor, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Radisson Sonya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing