We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable price, decent food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mama Roma

Mama Roma
Ranked #865 of 10,182 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Vasilyevsky Island
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Reasonable price, decent food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Service was attentive, food OK, picture menu helped with language limitations. Nice break from Russian food but if you are looking for world-class fine Italian dining, this ain't it

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    30
    13
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“nice restaurant in Saint-Petersburg”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

nice homely and romantic atmosphere for a couples ?friends or just to get a bite!The service a ok and the prices also average not very expensive

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank boris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
350 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Friendly service and good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

We were not familiar with the Mama Roma chain but were staying at the Sokos Palace Bridge hotel from which this restaurant is an easy walk so decided to try it.

We asked for the non-smoking section and were offered a choice of two tables. It was fairly busy being Easter Saturday and a lovely sunny day. The outside seating area was full.

A waitress came and explained with a smile that she didn't speak much English. We said our Russian is only a few words so her English is bound to be better than that! The menu is long and in Russian and Italian but has lots of pictures so we just pointed to what we wanted and she seemed happy to serve us.

We were brought what was described as focaccia but was more like thin, crispy pitta pockets. My husband had the veal stew and rice which he enjoyed a lot and I had the pasta pockets stuffed with cream cheese served in a cream and ham sauce. There wasn't much of the pasta but it was tasty. For dessert we had a piece of cake each both of which were very nice. We didn't think it was expensive for St Petersburg and £6 for a Bellini seems par for the course.

We found the service pleasant and felt quite comfortable there.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank flowerlady64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
410 reviews
245 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Quite typical Mama Roma chain restauraunt”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

Nothing special here, same food like in any other Mama Roma restauraunts across Russia. OK food, ok service. A little bit expenesive thought.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GlobalTraveller81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pseudo Italian”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

Really avoid this place, the service was bad, the food was expensive for what it was and the wine was way out of price.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MdeGeofroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mama Roma also viewed

St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 

Been to Mama Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing