We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“big disappointmet!”
Review of Columb Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Columb Hotel
Ranked #293 of 359 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Reviewed 29 May 2012

After reading most of the recommendations' we decided to book this hotel. The location was good for our purposes, but what a disappointment!
the hotel is located on the first floor of a building. terrible noise! if you have sleeping problem, it will ruin your stay!!(there are 0nly 2 rooms on the other side, but they were full)
the breakfast is really embarrasing! every night they ask you: what time do you want your meal? this is because there are 6 rooms in this hotel, and one receptionist also prepares your breakfast... its really insulting and embarrasing! I want to eat whenever I want! of course in the hours the hotel lets you eat, and not only this, they phone you about 10 minutes before to remind you!! Haloo!! we did not ask for wake up meal call! we are not children!
the breakfast itself is very poor. since we dont eat any meat or any milkware or cooked food they gave, practically we had almost nothig to eat , only bread and butter! and we had to ask every time to have some more bread. Lucky for us, there are many small supermarkets near, so we could buy vegetables. and of course, if they phone you 10 minutes before, when you are on time, the coffee is already cold, and its not very pleasant to ask again and again!
only 2 of 4 receptionists we met spoke english,and were very polite. one did not understand us at all. again, this is a hotel (or so they call themselves ), you must have people who speaks a foreign language!
well for the good things!: the location is very good, within 20-30 minutes walking you can get to: kazan cathedral. st. izak cathedral, the marinsky theatre, to nevsky prospect (the main street) and more.
the metro is not very close, and anyhow the metro here is not as comfortable as in moscow. you have many supermarkets nearby.
the room was big and clean.
no minibar, not any writing facilities.
free WIFI, but when we stayed, 3 out of 6 days it did not work, and we needed it.
I must mention, that I asked every night for hot and cold water and they gave it without any problem.
but again, I will nor recommend this hotel, there are many in this area and almost on the same budget.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank liebe54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2011

Was content with the less than friendly staff and stingy service given the price and location. But our last breakfast nearly killed us--food poisoning (and we were ultra vigilant to the point we even brushed our teeth with bottled water). 2 out of 3 of us vomited. It was so bad it required medical intervention on the plane flight home to the USA. Only healthy member of our group had thankfully chosen the blini, the other 2 ate the regularly scheduled sausage. We will never stay there again.

English--only spoken by 1 or 2 of the front desk staff. They couldn't/didn't recommend any family friendly places to eat (we eventually found just a few just up the street).

Service was stingy--nickel/dimed for everything (like an extra slice of bread). Argued with us when we asked for juice instead of hot tea for our 6 yr. old. They asked to take away some of our towels mid week when we didn't seem to be using them (seriously?!). Don't request a bed/sheet change after the laundry date, you'll get charged extra for that as well.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the inside courtyard. Rooms on the other side of the hallway are adjacent to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eastblock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

It is a small hotel, but well situated, you can go walking to all the atractions in the city. 5 minutes walking to St Isaac Cathedral. The only problem is that the metro it is not very close.
The hotel is very clean, and the room is really big and very quite. The breakfast it is not varied but enought.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rubentxin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

I was initially reluctant to book a mini-hotel in Russia--not knowing the area or what we would get. I booked online and kept in touch with the hotel through email. They arranged a car to pick us up ($45) from the airport. The room was very spacious, clean and breakfast was good--yoghurt, blinis, cheese, bread, coffe/tea and water. We were very close to St. isaacs, the Moika canal and a wonderful restaurant around the corner --1913-- Great service at this restaurant and good food. Wonderful ambiance. The girls at the front desk also arranged for a car to take us to our River Cruise boat at the port. All in all, a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alora4kira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Arrived on an early morning flight, the hotel driver picked us up, really nice man very informative and gave us some tips on the area. Close to the Hermitage and all the sites.
Breakfast was adequate, room very clean.
Had dinner at the 1913 restuarant around the corner from the hotel.
It really is a bed and breakfast however this is what we prefer.
Booked this hotel through Moscow Hotels as they sent our supporting visa documents electronically and no extra cost, also booked the Izmailovo Vega in Moscow at the same time

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank jockeygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2010

THAT photo, as it appears on this site, is NOT the Columb Hotel!

We had arranged for transportation from (and to) the airport. The Columb is located inside a court-yard type residential square. The steps into the lobby aren't the hotel entrance we had expected and didn't know, no cared, about the size of the "hotel".

It is really not a hotel, I would classify it a B&B. Its 6 rooms are large, very clean, quiet, nicely decorated, and air-conditioned. There is internet access in the tiny lobby. The only very minor drawback was the breakfast room - breakfast is included in the price - it has no windows or air conditioning. But you don't spend your day in the breakfast room, and the food selection changes daily. Personnel speaks English quite well, is friendly, and very helpful.

The Columb is located just 10 minutes walking distance from the Hermitage, canal tours, city tours, St. Nicholas Square, and the Astoria Hotel. (All of the city's cash machine commands seemed to be in cyrillic writing, so the service at the Astoria was quite handy! They also change currency, and we found free maps of St. Petersburg at the reception desk.)

We discovered a fabulous and quite inexpensive restaurant nearby, the "1913." When you step out of the Columb, turn right, go to the next traffic light, turn right again, and it is about a block down on the left side.

Over live dinner music, we enjoyed great food and drank bottles of champagne. Their chanterelles with potatoes appetizer, though possibly a seasonal dish, was to die for. Bottles or champagne were cheaper than wine by the glass, and much better.

Great city, great little hotel, great adventure.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dagpel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank bianca1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Hostel Life
Hostel Life
#194 of 1,736 in St. Petersburg
110 reviews
Galakt Hotel
#158 of 359 in St. Petersburg
84 reviews
Apart Hotel Nevsky 150
#9 of 1,736 in St. Petersburg
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel 365 Spb
#68 of 1,736 in St. Petersburg
139 reviews
Nevskiy
Baby Lemonade Hostel
Baby Lemonade Hostel
#3 of 1,736 in St. Petersburg
254 reviews
Hotel Nouvelle Europe
#149 of 359 in St. Petersburg
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columb Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columb Hotel

Address: Kazanskaya St., 41, St. Petersburg 190000, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #293 of 359 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range: £34 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Columb Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our comfortable and spacious (25 sq.m.; 270 sq.ft) guest rooms are elegantly furnished in modern style and well-maintained. All rooms are equipped with TV, telephone, air-conditioning, Internet (WI-FI) free of charge, full-bath and hair-dryer. They can accommodate up to 3 guests. There are smoke detectors, sprinklers and fire alarms in all rooms and in public areas. Rooms for non-smokers are available. English speaking reception service is available 24-hours ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Columb Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing