We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good and quit Hotel....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nevsky Contour Hotel
Ranked #21 of 334 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good and quit Hotel....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

A nice hotel with a good service. Good breakfast The hotel is convenient to the Metro. The location is very good. Very friendly staff.....and they all speaking English. When I ever return to St Petersburg, I will chose this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Nevsky88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natacontour, Администратор at Nevsky Contour Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank You very much for your nice review. We will be glad to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    194
    38
    10
    1
See reviews for
112
178
56
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
147 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

We booked the hotel and a taxi from Ottawa before our trip. We reached St-Pettsburg in the afternoon of the 12thof August. A person was waiting at the airport with a private old car to drive us to the hotel. When we first booked for the taxi we were aware of the fare of the “taxis” and that the hotel fare was a little bit more expensive than the regular taxi fares but we did it to save the hustle of finding a taxi at the airport. I think we did well because with the traffic jam it took us over two hours to reach the hotel.

The hotel is located on Nevsky street the main area of St-Petersburg. The hotel is on the 3rd floor of a five stories very old building recently renovated (in the last ten years) from the inside to be a 10 rooms hotel. We checked in on August 12th and checked out very early on August 15th.
The hostess at the reception at our arrival, I forgot her name, provided with an excellent service. For a couple, the hotel provides a single half liter of mineral water for the complete stay.
Our room, the Pushkin room, was very small but the space was very well managed with a comfortable queen size bed, a small table and a flat screen TV. The bathroom was also very small (1.5 m x 3.0 m) very well managed by a shower, a toilet and a sink. The room was very clean on our arrival and very tastefully decorated.

The doors of the rooms are soundproof. Once inside you cannot hear the noise inside the hotel. There is no air-conditioning in the room but a ceiling fan. In the evening, if you keep the window open you will clearly hear any conversation or any noise going on the street. It is better to close the window and to put the fan. There is a variety of TV channels but all are in Russian. No single channel is in English.

The bed are prepared by the maid every day. The towels are not replaced and the floor is not cleaned. We asked the reception of two bathrobes. They are provided for no additional costs for the duration of the stay.

Breakfast is provided between 8:30 am and 10:30 am in a very small space besides of the reception. You can have tea or coffee. For the food there is a choice between corn flakes, broiled egg, salami, marmalade and pate de foie or pate de poulet. You can also choose between brown or white bread and have access to a toaster.

The front desk reception hostess of the second day was Nataly. Nataly also was an excellent hostess with a very kind service. The front desk hostess of the third day was Paulina. So, on the third day, I was at the reception at 10:40 am. Paulina was somehow aggressive. She did not like to see a late client for breakfast. She removed the toaster in front of my eyes and yelled that I am late and breakfast is now over and I should learn not to be late. I apologized of being late and ask at least for a coffee. Coffee and tea are supposed to be served 24 hours in this hotel. She shut off the coffee machine in front of my eyes and told me that the coffee machine is now broken and there is no coffee as well. I did not appreciate her temperament representing this hotel. I requested to put some toast aside for the breakfast telling her that my wife is following. She yield for the third time that breakfast is over. At the very moment my wife reached the dinning room. I explained my wife the situation and my wife talked to Paulina in Russian. Paulina was more friendly speaking to a Russian guest than me to an English speaking guest. Two measures, two levels. Nevertheless, we were allowed to have breakfast but punished of being late and did not had any coffee/ Still she did not put back the toaster and we were allowed to some untoasted bread with whatever Paulina left in the dinning room. We went back to our room disappointed of Paulina’s attitude. Half an hour later, my wife went back at the reception desk. Nataly and Paulina were there. My wife asked Paulina if the coffee machine is till broken from where we can buy coffee in the nearby. Then my wife came back to the room. At this moment, Paulina called our room to mention that the coffee machine is now working. I would say thanks to Nataly that who told Paulina that her manner to treat guest is unacceptable.

I assume that after Paulina has been told to behave, she changed 180 degree to become a very helpful hostess to go out of her way to help but still without a single apology for the incident of the morning. She was now willing with booking of our departure taxi and explaining the way of how to get to a concert we booked on the evening of the third day. The morning of the fourth day we were leaving a 5:45 am. Paulina was awake early and prepared the usual breakfast, served us coffee and was very kind. She became the ideal hostess a guest would like to see.

Overall all, quality price the hotel is very clean, very well located and a very good option. We stayed last year in a somehow mini hotel but the quality was not as good as in this hotel. Despite the mini incident with Paulina, I will happily come back to this hotel next year. I will recommend the management to add one or two tv channel in English providing no Russian speaking guest to enjoy tv as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabriel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natacontour, Администратор at Nevsky Contour Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank you very much for your review. Paulina expressed her apologies towards your unpleasant experience. We hope that it was just a little misunderstanding. Hope to see you again to have a chance to improve your expression from our Hotel:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Petersburg
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Nice,friendly hotel. Very good service. Clean, they helped my son to find and buy a ballaleika. Very good location, on Nevky Prospect, close to the metrostation.
When we ever return tot St Petersburg, we wil chose this hotel again.



  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Petra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natacontour, Администратор at Nevsky Contour Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank you very much for your nice review. We hope that your son enjoyes his new balalaika:) We will be glad to welcome you in our Hotel again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

It's true, Nevsky Contour is hard to find but not impossible and definitely worth the effort. After a very difficult process to acquire visas it was just as well we enjoyed our time in St Petersburg as much as we did. The Nevsky contour was a delight; comfortable, clean and convenient to Metro and reasonably priced and atmospheric restaurants with home-style cooking. But the most memorable feature of the hotel was the truly excellent service from the staff especially Olga. Nothing was too much trouble for her; she explained all the hotel features in a refreshingly friendly manner and volunteered to phone our restaurant to see if they took credit cards as well as offering more eating venues. Next morning there she was multi-tasking in the cute breakfast room making coffee and organising the other staff members. Booking online was easy because of the fluent and helpful way the process was managed. Our Nevsky Contour experience made it into second place on the St Petersburg highlights - Hermitage was a stand out number one! Thanks, Olga!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natacontour, Администратор at Nevsky Contour Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thanks a lot for your warm review! It is so nice to learn that you enjoyed staying in our Hotel. Thanks a lot for the kind words about our staff and Olga. She is very pleased with your warm compliments:) We will be very glad to welcome you in our Hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
351 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

When I made the reservation I knew I was booking a room on the lower budget. I had actually read all the reviews from the Annabelle hotel but that costs more and I figured how bad can Contour be if in the same building.
I paid for a car to pick us up at the airport. Our driver was there waiting for us. We were nervous that the currency exchange office was closed and we didn't have any russian money on us. This must have been the first time the driver did a pickup for the hotel as he had a hard time finding the place even though I saw him pass up the hotel once. There was no way of telling him because he didn't speak english. He finally called someone and got us there. Luckily, the driver was previously paid and we didn't have to deal with it.
Everything went smoothly with check in. The front desk girls speak english so that makes things much nicer.
When I first walked in the room I thought, "OMG, I should have just paid a little more for the Annabelle" but I was tired from our long day and thought I would look at everything in the morning with fresh eyes. Next day I was fine with the room. The bathroom was clean and everything worked fine. The only downside about the hotel is that there isn't air condition. We did have a large window and a ceiling fan and nice cool air came in the room but we had to leave the curtains open for the air to flow through. The problem with leaving the curtain open is the twilight. We are from the US where we don't have twilight so it gets pretty hard to get used to that. The bed was comfortable. The hot water was plentiful and water pressure was good. There was plenty of space to put things. I felt the hotel was safe and we didnt have to worry about anybody stealing anything. The front door to the hotel is securely locked and no one can come in wondering from off the street. There's also a safe in the room in case you need it.
Breakfast was the same everyday but it's nice to have it to start your day. I would definitely stay here again if ever in St P and I strongly suggest you have the driver pick up service. There are so many crooks in St P that you really cant trust anyone.
Warning: We walked out of the hotel and got a half block from the hotel when some guy approached my husband and said, "Passport Control" The guy was in plain clothes. My husband just pretended not to hear and waved him off but he noticed that the guy was working with two women. These people work in groups so you really have to watch your surroundings.

Room Tip: Perhaps pick a room that is on the side of the kitchen and not facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m2347m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natacontour, Администратор at Nevsky Contour Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear Guest, thank You very much for your nice review! We are very glad to all in all you enjoyed staying in our hotel and we will be happy to welcome you in our Hotel again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Hotel is great, located in the center, everything is attainable by feet. Staff is also great, everybody speaks English. Breakfast is not so poor, and advantage is that you can get coffee for free any time. To some up the experience was great.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariasheulova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natacontour, Администратор at Nevsky Contour Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thank You very much for your words. Hope to see you again in St Petersburg and in Nevsky Contour Hotel:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winterthur
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

This hotel is very nice, our room was quiet and bright, the bathroom very nice and clean. We were in St. Petersburg when it was very hot and the room staid cool thanks to the ceiling fan.
Breakfast in the small lobby was a bit cramped.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Steffi g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natacontour, Администратор at Nevsky Contour Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thank you. We have recently opened new colourfull Comfort Rooms so our hotel became twice bigger. To next season we are planning to expand our lobby space. We really like when our guests enjoy with their stay and we try to do our best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Akyan Saint Petersburg
Akyan Saint Petersburg
#12 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Vladimir
Ligotel
Ligotel
#19 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Nevskiy
M-Hotel
M-Hotel
#16 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralteisky
Comfort Hotel
Comfort Hotel
#11 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
NasHotel
NasHotel
#9 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Admiralteisky
3MostA Boutique Hotel
3MostA Boutique Hotel
#13 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nevsky Contour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nevsky Contour Hotel

Property: Nevsky Contour Hotel
Address: Nevskiy Ave., 88 - 72, St. Petersburg 191025, Russia
Phone Number:
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Nevskiy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 334 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Nevsky Contour Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quiet courtyard on the elegant Nevsky Prospekt, this hotel offers affordable accommodations and friendly staff in the heart of town. Wi-Fi and guarded parking are free. Nevsky Contour Hotel offers Standard and Comfort Rooms for accommodation. Cozy Standard Rooms of Nevsky Contour Hotel provide guests with a flat screen TV and DVD player. Guests can benefit from the heated floor of the bathrooms. New designer Comfort Rooms are extra soundproof, all rooms have their own theme and equipped with 3D SMART TV (42 inch), ceiling fan and air-conditioner. The area around the property is bustling with a variety of cafes and restaurants, while free tea and coffee are available in-house throughout the day. There are also handy faxing, copying and scanning facilities. Nevsky Contour Hotel is a 3-minute walk from the Mayakovskaya metro station and 10 minutes from Moskovskiy train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nevsky Contour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing