We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boutique Hotel”
Review of Tradition Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tradition Hotel
Ranked #53 of 361 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Found this hotel through trip advisor. They arranged airport pickup (1500R).
Very nice small hotel, the only thing difference from a big hotel is that there is no bar/coffee area. Good free breakfast and good free wifi. Everything worked fine in the room. Very friendly reception, my only slight issue was the wifi doesn't work from the reception area. Apart from that it's perfect - 15 min walk to the metro so well located.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2011

I checked out this morning after staying three nights in the magnificent city of St Petersburg with my sister and brother in law.

It was quite cool outside but the temperature inside the hotel was just nice. Room was spotlessly clean and stocked up each morning. The design of the room was quite stylish and because I stayed in a Superior room, it was pretty spacious too. There wasn't a place to put my bag though so it had to stay on the floor. Not really too much bother though as the room was a decent size. Free wifi was offered which was very much appreciated. An iron and ironing board was available by asking reception.

Breakfast was pretty good. Coffee was nice, strong and hot and there was a good selection of food and teas to suit those from different cultures. Fruit salad was offered but I would have preferred a bowl of fresh fruit or something similar. This is a very minor quibble.

Staff spoke English pretty well and every request thrown their way was sorted out without any issue. They were happy to organise restaurant reservations, give recommendations and organise taxis (private cars) which were decently priced to the heart of the Nevsky Prospekt - approx 500 rubles.

The hotel is not in the city centre but the start of the Nevsky Prospekt is about 15 minutes walk. The Hermitage is closer still. The distance wasn't an issue to us as we were happy to walk over the bridges each morning and watch sheets of ice floating down the Neva river. For somebody not used to snow and ice, this was an occasion! There was construction happening across the road from the hotel but this stopped well before it got dark and noise wasn't an issue at night. I slept quite soundly each night.

Would I stay here again if coming back to St Petersburg? Probably would.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjbalfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2011

Thanks to Trip Advisor, I found this nice, clean and comfortable hotel. Staff is very friendly and helpful. They sent me all the papers to get the Russian visa. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pilatesfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2011

The rooms are excellently decorated and maintained to near perfection. The staff strive to meet your every wish and are impeccably polite. In terms of the quality of the rooms and the service this could easily be a five star hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John_J99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2011

The Tradition hotel is an absolute gem. Great location (just across the water from the Hermitage museum). Nice helpful staff and lovely rooms. We stayed in a superior room and it was perfect. good value for money. I wish all hotels could be like this!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank biginoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

Coming from a big hotel from Moscow without any humanistic service, we thought that it might be the way of Russian hospitality. To our surprise, our stay in Tradition Hotel changed our thought compelety. Check-in was fast and hotel staff was helpful in assisting anything we needed. Room was a bit tiny but cozy with comfortable beds. And coffee maker was provided!! bathroom was also tiny but spotlessly clean. Breakfast choices were limited (but this was a small boutique hotel) but we enjoyed our breakfast in this lovely breakfast room. Though it was not in central location but with 10 minutes walk you could reach the Metro. Also a walk outside hotel alongside the river was definitely scenic. So, no complaints for Tradition Hotel and we definitely will come back!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FaBanCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2011

It would be hard to find fault with this hotel. The service is great, the breakfast very good and the rooms are spacious. However it is not very close to the sights. Palace square is a good 20 minutes away. The hotel staff say it is 10 minutes but it's at least a fast 15 minutes. The other sights on Nevsky prospect are even farther away. This hotel is on vasilevsky island, 2 bridges away from the hermitage. In February it's made for a very picturesque albeit very slushy walk.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexxMixx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaAnton, General Manager at Tradition Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2011

Dear AlexxMixx, we would like to thank you for choosing the Tradition Hotel and for your very positive review. Our hotel is 1500 meters away from the Hermitage, so it should be not less than 15 minutes. Just not to confuse the other clients we would like to notice that the Tradition Hotel is situated on Petrogradsky island which is in neighborhood to Vasilyevsky island. Once again, thank you very much for your review, it really helps us to improve the quality of our services.

Sincerely yours,
Tradition Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Admiralteisky
Petr Hotel
Petr Hotel
#33 of 361 in St. Petersburg
201 reviews
Kolomna
Courtyard St. Petersburg Center West/Pushkin Hotel
Courtyard St. Petersburg Center ...
#40 of 361 in St. Petersburg
659 reviews
Petrogradsky
Piter Hotel
Piter Hotel
#319 of 361 in St. Petersburg
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Petrogradsky
Parklane Resort and Spa
Parklane Resort and Spa
#104 of 361 in St. Petersburg
63 reviews
Petrogradsky
Vedensky Hotel
Vedensky Hotel
#65 of 361 in St. Petersburg
375 reviews
Admiralteisky
Hotel Moyka 5
Hotel Moyka 5
#73 of 361 in St. Petersburg
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tradition Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradition Hotel

Address: Dobrolubova Ave 2, St. Petersburg 197198, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Petrogradsky
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 361 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range: £31 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tradition Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tradition Hotel, located in the very heart of the city, offers you a great experience of accommodation with a unique location, traditional interiors and modern equipment. It is surrounded by some of the world's greatest tourist attractions, including the Peter and Paul Fortress, Palace Bridge, the State Hermitage. All our 16 rooms are delicately decorated and non-smoking, equipped with electronic key system, individual climate control, LCD TV, safe and free tea station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tradition Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing