We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and positive experience”
Review of Tradition Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tradition Hotel
Ranked #39 of 344 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
84 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great value and positive experience”
Reviewed 10 June 2011

We just spent a week in St. Petersburg for the White Nights Festival. Tripadvisor served us well in choosing this hotel. The location is ideal--a walk for good walkers, quick water taxi ride, or short regular taxi ride from the heart of the city just across the river, but in an area much quieter due to that. The staff couldn't be more pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was very good, and there is unlimited bottled water, though one would assume that would be provided everywhere in St. Petersburg, where giardia is endemic.

Even though we overlooked the street, the occasional motorcycle was muffled thanks to modern, well-insulated windows. The river side would be the quieter of the two even though there's a street there as well, but we wanted the larger room available on the front side, and were not disturbed while sleeping. The rooms are impeccably clean and modernized; the beds and shower are great, and the high speed internet lives up to its claim.

It is probably the best value in the city, without compromising anything important.
If you stay there, please check out my review of a restaurant steps away called Le Menu.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiggerflute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    93
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
73
130
30
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

We were on a trip to Russia and Scandanavia. Arrived via Sapsan fast train from Moscow and took a cab to this hotel. It was situated about as central as one can be, directly across the canal from the Hermitage but no special views from the windows. Modern, upgraded rooms in an old building. The night we were there it was light till after 11:00 and the city was celebrating its 306th birthday with fireworks along the canal. We joined the festive people. Nice breakfast included as well as Internet.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BG_Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

I expect the lower price reflects the location, which is not central to the majority of tourists attractions, but is not that far away if you like a good walk. It is 15 min to the Hermitage, we did this walk night and day and the area is consistently busy enough that we felt perfectly safe at all hours. As already noted by other reviewers, the hotel staff were wonderful and friendly, the rooms were spotless with the most comfortable beds we have encountered so far and Internet access was easy and consistent. We also really liked the breakfast with a good variety of hot and cold choices. Definitely let the hotel reception help you organize taxis, taxi drivers (when we hired them ourselves) were the only sour point to our otherwise fantastically enjoyable time in St Petersburg.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dink72and66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

I was pretty suprised to see this hotel ranking number 1 in St. Petersburg, where many other nice hotels are worth visiting. Anyway I decided to stay here for one night.
The reception was good and pleasant. The room is also clean and good. However there was no view outside, just on the parking lot.
Breakfast was OK, good choice, but breakfast room is too small.
Overall good impression, but the price I paid (about $300) is too high.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicolasAlnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

My husband and I went to Russia for the first time now in May. First city we visited was St Petersburg and we were a little worried because of the language and cyrilic alphabet.
We stayed at the Tradition Hotel and it was a very good experience. Staff were very helpful and gave us a lot of information that made us much more confident . The hotel is not luxurious , but it is nice, confortable , with large room and new bathroom. Breakfast was very good. It is 15 minutes walking to the Hermitage , and there are a few good restaurants around. Overall , we were very happy to have stayed at the Tradition.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beatrizantonini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

We came to St. Petersburg for both business and pleasure and were very satisfied with Tradition Hotel, especially from pleasure/tourist point of view.
The hotel is new and is beautifully decorated. Rooms are very clean, beds very comfortable. No noise from outside came to our room. The only thing why I didn’t mark 5 is because of no view to the river – only a street or inner part of the court.

Location for tourism is just great - the hotel is in front of the Hermitage, connected to it with the beautiful Palace bridge. It’s just 10 minutes walking over the bridge and you are in the heart of the city. And in the night we watched how the bridge was opened – very beautiful too. Unfortunately for business needs we couldn’t walk (hair, high hills, papers, guests, etc.) and had to travel by car. It took from 30 to 45 min. each time to cross any of 2 possible bridges due to hard traffic.

Breakfast was very good. Personnel were very nice, polite and intelligent. They gave many good advices and plenty of support. Special thanks to Ekaterina and Daria.

Transfers with Vyacheslav were just great. He was very professional and a nice person. We only disliked our last transfer to the airport with another driver and car at May 21st (he was late, parked his car far from the hotel, didn’t help with bags and was going to leave us far from the airport entrance).
The overall impression is very good. We are definitely satisfied with the hotel and also with the price. Will definitely recommend our friends.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy_Wife_of_Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

We could not have asked for a friendlier place to stay. All the staff were charming and could not have been more helpful. Location necessitated walking across the bridges over the Neva many times which was lovely; when we became footsore we resorted to the very efficient underground system. In the summer months a ferry across the river will make this an even easier trip. The only room for improvement would be in the breakfasts; for the health conscience it was a pity the muesli ran out and more fresh fruit would have been enjoyable. On the whole though we would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aedavies101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Golden Triangle Hotel
Golden Triangle Hotel
#22 of 344 in St. Petersburg
675 reviews
Arkadia Hotel
#49 of 344 in St. Petersburg
305 reviews
Liteyny
DOM Boutique Hotel
DOM Boutique Hotel
#42 of 344 in St. Petersburg
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Demetra Art Hotel
#53 of 344 in St. Petersburg
330 reviews
Admiralteisky
Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel
Renaissance St. Petersburg Balti...
#28 of 344 in St. Petersburg
609 reviews
Petrogradsky
Vedensky Hotel
Vedensky Hotel
#75 of 344 in St. Petersburg
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tradition Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradition Hotel

Property: Tradition Hotel
Address: Dobrolubova Ave 2, St. Petersburg 197198, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Petrogradsky
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 344 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tradition Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tradition Hotel, located in the very heart of the city, offers you a great experience of accommodation with a unique location, traditional interiors and modern equipment. It is surrounded by some of the world's greatest tourist attractions, including the Peter and Paul Fortress, Palace Bridge, the State Hermitage. All our 16 rooms are delicately decorated and non-smoking, equipped with electronic key system, individual climate control, LCD TV, safe and free tea station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tradition Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing