We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small cosy hotel in centre of the city”
Review of Tradition Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tradition Hotel
Ranked #45 of 349 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Oxted, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Small cosy hotel in centre of the city”
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Ideally placed for walking throughout the city. Only 16 rooms and very friendly staff.

Room Tip: Rooms are well insulated so even though we faced the road did not hear the trams and cars
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SurreyConnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    93
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
73
130
30
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We booked a week independently, choosing hotel from reviews and price. Lived up to our expectations and perfect position for us ( those who do not like to walk may find it too far away from many sights )
Bedroom view was of the car park but we did not find this a problem as we were out each day and evening.
Receptionists booked us ballet tickets and were very helpful. Breakfast was very good despite an earlier review that said to the contrary.
We found 3 excellent restaurants nearby ( our favourite on the Peter and Paul Fortress Island with views across the river.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyPatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesaH
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Small rooms, but very nicely decorated and after a long day with sore feet, very much appreciated.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights the second week of August. The hotel is a great value, and definitely worth consideration if you're looking for a nice, clean, accommodating, smaller hotel. The rooms are excellent, we stayed in a ground level room that faced the street, we heard absolutely no noise. AC worked very well, bathrooms are everything that us Westerner's need, and the beds are very comfortable. The room, although not necessarily decorated in my taste, was very impressive, very ample room. We stayed in 5 hotels for our trip to Europe, and this was the largest room. Service was great, our hair dryer stopped working the first day, and within 5 minutes the manager was there to give us a new one. The staff at the front desk was very helpful with directions, and dinner recommendations. It's location is very close to the fortress, it is a tiny bit of a walk over the bridges to get to the Winter Palace, but the walk is very enjoyable, and you really get to see that side of the city. It's close to a couple of convenience stores (ask the front desk) and a nice souvenir shop.

St Petersburg itself is a very large, and impressive city with many amazing sights, we walked to quite a few of them from the hotel. One recommendation is taking one of the boats to Peterhof, the boats leave from the river side of the Winter Palace. Very impressive grounds, all together the trip is not all that cheap for a sight seeing excursion, but worth every penny.

If you're near St Issac's, the restaurant Teplo (you can read the reviews) is very good, with excellent service, and the staff is very well versed in English, they actually gave the impression that they enjoyed speaking it, which you'll find is not a normal occurrence.

Our only regret is not purchasing a few things, like a couple of their specialty vodkas while in the shops in St Petersburg. We were hoping to find them in Duty Free, but the Duty free at the airport leaves much to be desired.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seeruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merida Mx
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Small very friendly hotel, excellent service and very good bresksfast. Highly recommended. It's accross the river overlooking the Hermitage, so getting there implies a 30 min walk but with the beautiful views of St. Petersburg is not a problem on the contrary, my friend and I enjoyed very much walking back and forth everyday.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaleSolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto, canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We have just returned from St. Petersburg and loved the hotel and the city. The rooms were exceptionally clean and the staff was very helpful. They recommended two fantastic restaurants on the side of the river we were on. One was Mesto and the other was a rooftop patio about a 5 minute walk from the hotel. The hotel was about a 15 minute walk over the bridge from the Hermitage and across the road from the Peter and Paul Fortress and the Russian Artillery Museum (interesting place but it helps if you know Russian). We were able to watch the bridges rise from the hotel. We walked all over St. Petersburg and did not find the location to be troublesome at all. They also arranged our taxi to the ferry dock and ensured that we were given the correct rate. We would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank betsyto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

This is a lovely hotel in a good location. The rooms are very clean and very comfortable and the breakfast is excellent. It is about 20 mins walk over the bridge to the Winter Palace but the hotel is near lots of other sights so is in a very good location. The staff were friendly and helpful and we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelBug2609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Arkadia Hotel
#49 of 349 in St. Petersburg
308 reviews
Admiralteisky
Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel
Renaissance St. Petersburg Balti...
#37 of 349 in St. Petersburg
616 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Vasilievsky
Courtyard by Marriott St. Peters...
#52 of 349 in St. Petersburg
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vasilyevsky Island
NasHotel
NasHotel
#9 of 349 in St. Petersburg
643 reviews
Vladimir
Helvetia Deluxe Hotel
Helvetia Deluxe Hotel
#6 of 349 in St. Petersburg
710 reviews
Admiralteisky
3MostA Boutique Hotel
3MostA Boutique Hotel
#15 of 349 in St. Petersburg
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tradition Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradition Hotel

Property: Tradition Hotel
Address: Dobrolubova Ave 2, St. Petersburg 197198, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Petrogradsky
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 349 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tradition Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tradition Hotel, located in the very heart of the city, offers you a great experience of accommodation with a unique location, traditional interiors and modern equipment. It is surrounded by some of the world's greatest tourist attractions, including the Peter and Paul Fortress, Palace Bridge, the State Hermitage. All our 16 rooms are delicately decorated and non-smoking, equipped with electronic key system, individual climate control, LCD TV, safe and free tea station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tradition Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing