We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make sure the bridge is open, and wear good walking shoes”
Review of Tradition Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tradition Hotel
Ranked #54 of 361 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Based on the great reviews in trip advisor, we booked rooms at Tradition Hotel during our trip to St. Petersburg. This small hotel was quiet and clean, nice but not luxurious. The staff were supremely helpful and courteous. It is just across the Neva River from the Hermitage and the Nevsky district, only about a 15-20 minute walk. BUT the primary bridge was closed for construction our first day there, which meant we had to pay for expensive taxis (20+ euros) to take us via longer routes to and from the other side of the river. The next day thankfully the bridge was open, though it closed late that evening ( along with virtually all the other bridges simultaneously) to allow large boats to pass. So we found ourselves stranded for an hour plus away from our hotel in the wee morning hours. If you stay here, make sure the bridge will be open. And pay attention to the schedules for the bridges before planning a late night out.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vladtheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaAnton, General Manager at Tradition Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

Dear vladtheman,

We would like to thank you for staying with us. We are very sorry to read that you were stuck at night because of the opened bridge. We hope you still have enjoyed your stay in St. Petersburg.

For all the valued readers of Tripadvisor we want to share the latest information about the bridges:

All the bridges crossing the Neva river draw every night during the period May-October because of the big ships passing by. The Palace bridge was completely closed for about two weeks during the mid May due to the reconstruction. Now it's opened again for transport and pedestrians during daytime and will be closed every night a bit earlier (22.30 pm - 06.00 am). Alternatively there is now a night train from the newest metro station “Admiralteyskaya” (closest to Palace Square) to “Sportivanaya” (10 minutes walk to the hotel) metro station. The train goes every 20 minutes and travel time is 5 minutes (during daytime trains go every 3-5 minutes).

We only can add that a huge cargo ship passing by the Hermitage is very beautiful and unusual picture and this is easy to see from both riversides. Welcome to Saint Petersburg!

Kind regards,
Anton Vasiliev
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2013

Location just west of the Peter and Paul fortress. A short walk to the city centre, except this year because of bridge repair.
Very efficient and correct help with documents needed for visa application.
Efficient and helpful staff at the reception. Limited, but tasty breakfast in a room a little too small to accommodate all guests.
All in all highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SvenDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaAnton, General Manager at Tradition Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

Dear SvenDenmark,

Thank you for choosing Tradition Hotel. We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay.

For all the travellers looking for the accommodation in St. Petersburg we would like to say that the Palace bridge was completely closed for about two weeks during the mid May due to the reconstruction. Now it's opened again for transport and pedestrians during daytime and will be closed daily for the nightime (22.30 pm - 06.00 am). Alternatively there is now a night train from the newest metro station “Admiralteyskaya” (closest to Palace Square) to “Sportivanaya” (10 minutes walk to the hotel) metro station. The train goes every 20 minutes and travel time is 5 minutes (during daytime trains go every 3-5 minutes).

Kind regards,
Anton Vasiliev
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Arrived in St Petersburg at 8am on the overnight Red Arrow train from Moscow, booked the hotel transfer for 3 of us at 1500rubles (USD50). Finally reached the hotel about 930am and were told that the room was not ready yet, fair enough as it's a small establishment with only 16 rooms. Being so tired we lazed around the lobby and had the reception staff orientate us with reference to the nearest Metro stop (Sportinava - a good 10-15min walk) and the supermarket (another 8-10min walk).

Decided to go to a nearby cafe for breakfast while waiting to check-in, and realised that the hotel was literally a stone throw's away from the Neva, and the Peter and Paul Fortress. It was in a relatively quiet location with not much else around. When we went back after breakfast around 1145am, the room was ready, much to our relief.

Triple sharing, the hotel had to provide us with the biggest standard room available to accommodate the extra roll-away bed. It was still a tad too cramped, but they were fully booked so an extra room was only available for our 4th and 5th night stay. The interior was classic in a way, and furnishings were dated. I had a very springy bed that creaked at every movement.

Hotel provided tiny bottles of water everyday, but it could be finished in a gulp or two. They also replenished the instant tea and coffee, and a small piece of chocolate each. We had a problem with the sockets as they were located low, at the bottom of the night tables, and the 3rd socket on top of the fridge always gave problems with the charging.

We didn't have breakfast included in our booking so we can't say for sure how it is, but we met a few other people staying there who raved about it and said that we ought to try it. 800rubles per pax was a tad too steep for us, just for breakfast.

The really good thing for us about this hotel was that the staff spoke really good English and were very helpful with our questions.

There was a really good Georgian restaurant on the way to the Metro, at the Albira School ... called Gigiteria. Fantastic service and food, that seemed to be the only good thing we explored from this location. The Bolshoi Prospect is nothing compared to Nevsky Prospect, and I would probably recommend this hotel only to people who are looking for peace and quiet, away from the hustle and bustle of city life. The location is very suburban. After all, Peter & Paul can be completed in less than a day!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bizarrebeings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaAnton, General Manager at Tradition Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

Dear bizarrebeings,

We would like to thank you and your friends for choosing our hotel. And we really appreciate such an informative review you wrote about the hotel and the surrounding area. This will help other travellers to do their choice right.

Kind regards,
Anton Vasiliev
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Very clean rooms, friendly staff. Great location on the Neva River. Wifi worked very well, but cable TV worked only for the Russian language channels so could not watch the English channels although I could see that they were there but the signal was blocked most of the time. Other than that, very good hotel with a nice breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side are noisy, while those on the inside are very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daejin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraditionHotel, General Manager at Tradition Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Dear Daejin,

We would like thank you for choosing our hotel and are happy to inform you and other travellers that all international tv channels are available again. We had a roof reconstruction and this disturbed the signal for our satellite antenna for 5 days but now everything is fine. Our guests are able again to choose between 10 international tv channels in different languages.

Kind regards,
Anton Vasiliev
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013 via mobile

Very cozy and clean rooms, nice design of hotel, tasty breakfast!
Hotel is situated near to the city center and subway, very nice view outside of hotel and morning silence because of windows overlooking to backyard

Thank Vitalii L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TraditionHotel, General Manager at Tradition Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

Dear QiHe,

Thank you for choosing Tradiiton Hotel and for your warm words. We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay so much.

Kind regads,
Anton Vasiliev
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We booked to stay here after seeing good reviews and were not disappointed. Hotel is situated in quit area on the banks of the Neva river. Very convenient for main city locations including Peter and Paul Fortress, Hermitage, Nevsky Prospect etc. Rooms are clean and spacious. Staff were extremely helpful and spoke excellent English.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraditionHotel, General Manager at Tradition Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

Dear Tanya M,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for your positive review. Your high rating of our staff is very important for us as this is the main key of our guest relation policy.

Kind regards,
Anton Vasiliev
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

My experience in the hotel was great and I would like to repeat again my estance in the hotel. The rooms were perfectly clean and very confortable with great attention to the little deails. All the staff was friendly and very polite. The breakfast was outstanding.
I would recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Admiralteisky
Petr Hotel
Petr Hotel
#34 of 361 in St. Petersburg
199 reviews
Kolomna
Courtyard St. Petersburg Center West/Pushkin Hotel
Courtyard St. Petersburg Center ...
#39 of 361 in St. Petersburg
659 reviews
Petrogradsky
Piter Hotel
Piter Hotel
#319 of 361 in St. Petersburg
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Petrogradsky
Parklane Resort and Spa
Parklane Resort and Spa
#102 of 361 in St. Petersburg
63 reviews
Petrogradsky
Vedensky Hotel
Vedensky Hotel
#67 of 361 in St. Petersburg
375 reviews
Admiralteisky
Hotel Moyka 5
Hotel Moyka 5
#71 of 361 in St. Petersburg
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tradition Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradition Hotel

Address: Dobrolubova Ave 2, St. Petersburg 197198, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Petrogradsky
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 361 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range: £31 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tradition Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tradition Hotel, located in the very heart of the city, offers you a great experience of accommodation with a unique location, traditional interiors and modern equipment. It is surrounded by some of the world's greatest tourist attractions, including the Peter and Paul Fortress, Palace Bridge, the State Hermitage. All our 16 rooms are delicately decorated and non-smoking, equipped with electronic key system, individual climate control, LCD TV, safe and free tea station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tradition Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing