We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tradition Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Aston Hotel(St. Petersburg)
US$190
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Radisson Sonya Hotel(St. Petersburg)
US$183
US$160
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$165
US$113
Novotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
NasHotel(St. Petersburg)
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$143
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$173
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Repinskaya(Repino)
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
M-Hotel(St. Petersburg)(Great Value!)
US$114
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Galakt Hotel(St. Petersburg)(Great Value!)
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Pushkinskiy Domik(St. Petersburg)(Great Value!)
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (343)
Filter reviews
343 results
Traveller rating
236
95
10
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
236
95
10
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspeter paul fortressvery nice hotelpetersburgstlaundry
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 343 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Possibly because we secured the last room in the hotel (White Nights) we were struck by the Mini nature of the room, and especially the bathroom which needed the door to be closed in order to use the toilet! The mini extended to the breakfast room where, with more than 6 people, a delicate ballet was necessary to navigate around other people. These negatives aside (and we did peak into another room which was normal sized), the room was superbly appointed, well designed, excellent bed and good climate control. Breakfast was perfectly acceptable, the highlight for us was being able to make our own pot of tea with high quality leaf tea. Staff were helpful and efficient. The hotel utilised an excellent tour company, www.spbrounds.com which they will book for you, as well as restaurant and other bookings. The location is great, virtually next door to Peter & Paul Fortress, a 15 minute walk to the Hermitage.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SOJ_DOJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraditionHotel, General Manager at Tradition Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Dear SOJ_DOJ,

Thank you for staying with us and for your review full of usefull details. We hope this information will help other travellers to make a right choice.

Kind regards,
Anton Vasiliev
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

An Excellent Hotel with highly polite, friendly and professionally outstanding Staff
I stayed at Tradition Hotel Saint Petersburg, from 26 May to 30th May 2013. It was really a nice experience for me. I found this hotel highly neat and clean. Hotel offers excellent and very delicious breakfast. I found all the hotel staff with outstandingly cooperative behaviors.
Rooms are equipped with excellent furniture and other necessities. Location of hotel is also wonderful. I could not find any shortcoming in Tradition Hotel. I would recommend any of my acquaintance to choose Tradition Hotel for their stay at Saint Petersburg.

Room Tip: Check online reviews about the hotel you want to choose
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Muhammad U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraditionHotel, General Manager at Tradition Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Dear Muhammad U,

We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for your review. All our staff members were happy to read about your stay. Thank you once again.

Kind regards,
Anton Vasiliev
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Based on the great reviews in trip advisor, we booked rooms at Tradition Hotel during our trip to St. Petersburg. This small hotel was quiet and clean, nice but not luxurious. The staff were supremely helpful and courteous. It is just across the Neva River from the Hermitage and the Nevsky district, only about a 15-20 minute walk. BUT the primary bridge was closed for construction our first day there, which meant we had to pay for expensive taxis (20+ euros) to take us via longer routes to and from the other side of the river. The next day thankfully the bridge was open, though it closed late that evening ( along with virtually all the other bridges simultaneously) to allow large boats to pass. So we found ourselves stranded for an hour plus away from our hotel in the wee morning hours. If you stay here, make sure the bridge will be open. And pay attention to the schedules for the bridges before planning a late night out.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vladtheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaAnton, General Manager at Tradition Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

Dear vladtheman,

We would like to thank you for staying with us. We are very sorry to read that you were stuck at night because of the opened bridge. We hope you still have enjoyed your stay in St. Petersburg.

For all the valued readers of Tripadvisor we want to share the latest information about the bridges:

All the bridges crossing the Neva river draw every night during the period May-October because of the big ships passing by. The Palace bridge was completely closed for about two weeks during the mid May due to the reconstruction. Now it's opened again for transport and pedestrians during daytime and will be closed every night a bit earlier (22.30 pm - 06.00 am). Alternatively there is now a night train from the newest metro station “Admiralteyskaya” (closest to Palace Square) to “Sportivanaya” (10 minutes walk to the hotel) metro station. The train goes every 20 minutes and travel time is 5 minutes (during daytime trains go every 3-5 minutes).

We only can add that a huge cargo ship passing by the Hermitage is very beautiful and unusual picture and this is easy to see from both riversides. Welcome to Saint Petersburg!

Kind regards,
Anton Vasiliev
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Location just west of the Peter and Paul fortress. A short walk to the city centre, except this year because of bridge repair.
Very efficient and correct help with documents needed for visa application.
Efficient and helpful staff at the reception. Limited, but tasty breakfast in a room a little too small to accommodate all guests.
All in all highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SvenDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaAnton, General Manager at Tradition Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

Dear SvenDenmark,

Thank you for choosing Tradition Hotel. We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay.

For all the travellers looking for the accommodation in St. Petersburg we would like to say that the Palace bridge was completely closed for about two weeks during the mid May due to the reconstruction. Now it's opened again for transport and pedestrians during daytime and will be closed daily for the nightime (22.30 pm - 06.00 am). Alternatively there is now a night train from the newest metro station “Admiralteyskaya” (closest to Palace Square) to “Sportivanaya” (10 minutes walk to the hotel) metro station. The train goes every 20 minutes and travel time is 5 minutes (during daytime trains go every 3-5 minutes).

Kind regards,
Anton Vasiliev
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Arrived in St Petersburg at 8am on the overnight Red Arrow train from Moscow, booked the hotel transfer for 3 of us at 1500rubles (USD50). Finally reached the hotel about 930am and were told that the room was not ready yet, fair enough as it's a small establishment with only 16 rooms. Being so tired we lazed around the lobby and had the reception staff orientate us with reference to the nearest Metro stop (Sportinava - a good 10-15min walk) and the supermarket (another 8-10min walk).

Decided to go to a nearby cafe for breakfast while waiting to check-in, and realised that the hotel was literally a stone throw's away from the Neva, and the Peter and Paul Fortress. It was in a relatively quiet location with not much else around. When we went back after breakfast around 1145am, the room was ready, much to our relief.

Triple sharing, the hotel had to provide us with the biggest standard room available to accommodate the extra roll-away bed. It was still a tad too cramped, but they were fully booked so an extra room was only available for our 4th and 5th night stay. The interior was classic in a way, and furnishings were dated. I had a very springy bed that creaked at every movement.

Hotel provided tiny bottles of water everyday, but it could be finished in a gulp or two. They also replenished the instant tea and coffee, and a small piece of chocolate each. We had a problem with the sockets as they were located low, at the bottom of the night tables, and the 3rd socket on top of the fridge always gave problems with the charging.

We didn't have breakfast included in our booking so we can't say for sure how it is, but we met a few other people staying there who raved about it and said that we ought to try it. 800rubles per pax was a tad too steep for us, just for breakfast.

The really good thing for us about this hotel was that the staff spoke really good English and were very helpful with our questions.

There was a really good Georgian restaurant on the way to the Metro, at the Albira School ... called Gigiteria. Fantastic service and food, that seemed to be the only good thing we explored from this location. The Bolshoi Prospect is nothing compared to Nevsky Prospect, and I would probably recommend this hotel only to people who are looking for peace and quiet, away from the hustle and bustle of city life. The location is very suburban. After all, Peter & Paul can be completed in less than a day!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bizarrebeings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaAnton, General Manager at Tradition Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

Dear bizarrebeings,

We would like to thank you and your friends for choosing our hotel. And we really appreciate such an informative review you wrote about the hotel and the surrounding area. This will help other travellers to do their choice right.

Kind regards,
Anton Vasiliev
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews