We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“'Friendly staff - very clean hotel'” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tradition Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Tradition Hotel
Ranked #35 of 330 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
North Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“'Friendly staff - very clean hotel'”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

The staff were excellent, being both helpful and friendly. Their English was very good - it is their second language, so I'm not sure why anyone would expect there not to be some problems with some translations.

If you don't like a walking (at all), then stay in the centre of town. The walk across the two bridges to town is only 15 minutes, so no problems with that. Also, like others have commented, take the Metro, especially the red line, and admire the design work underground.

I would have given the hotel 5/5 but for the traffic noise. If you are a light sleeper, get a room at the back of the hotel away from the street. There is a large intersection outside, where everyone thinks they are in Grand Theft Auto after 9pm! I see a past comment about a rumbling noise - it is the tram going around the 90 degree corner fairly fast after 10pm when they don't have to wait for traffic.

To all the staff, thank you for making our stay in SP very enjoyable, especially Olga.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raglanveiws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraditionHotel, Управляющий at Tradition Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Raglanveiws,

Thank you so much for your informative review with so funny details about russian driving manners (I'd agree!). Half of our rooms faces the quiet yard, second half faces the street. If we have such possibility (based on our occupancy) we always change rooms upon request for light sleepers or due to other circumstances. You are always welcome to St. Petersburg!

Kind regards,
Anton Vasiliev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    93
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
72
129
29
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

A good base for exploring St. Petersburg. The hotel is fine - we stayed in a standard room which sadly didn't have a view of the river (just a view of the buildings behind). Breakfast was fine but nothing spectacular (usual buffet breakfast with cereals etc but not much in the way of hot food). The staff were nice and most spoke a degree of English (which we gather is pretty good for Russia... Between us we speak 4 european languages, but found that in general most Russians only speak Russian so communication was sometimes difficult, especially with most things written in cyrillic - sorry for the minor side track!). I agree with what other people have written about the lack of eateries nearby, although there is a really nice (but fairly pricey) italian that has opened recently just around the corner on zoologicheskaya. There are loads of places to eat on and around Nevsky Prospekt over the river. The hotel is right next the Peter and Paul fortress, which is a really pretty area just to walk around with great views of the city. Walking to the Hermitage side takes about 15-20 minutes. Another aside - the metro is worth going to see (very cool soviet era architecture and the escalators have drivers! (they sit in a tiny booth at the bottom with 2 buttons on a control panel - felt sorry for them - talk about a menial task!), but it is really designed for commuters to get into the city centre and not really ideal for getting around town. Back to the hotel - Overall a decent place to stay in a great location. Oh.. A transfer from/to the airport organised through the hotel costs exactly twice as much as the standard taxi fare (we discovered later), so I'd consider just getting a normal taxi next time. However, at least it's a known quantity and you don't have to worry about getting (even more) scammed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraditionHotel, Управляющий at Tradition Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Carl800,

We'd like to thank you for choosing our hotel. Your review is very informative and it really helps other travellers to make a right choice. As for the tranfer policy: hotel's transfer (made by Mercedes E or Ford Galaxy) cost around 2000 Rub, taxi ride from airport costs 1000 Rub (fixed official price), but sometimes the tourists choose a guy standing near the taxi kiosk and then they are charged for 3000-5000 Rub. So we advice to order taxi at the airport only at the kiosk with published rates and then there will be no problem. Thank you once again for sharing your experience with Tripadvisor society!

Kind regards,
Anton Vasiliev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Good Points:
- Lovely charming hotel with nice traditional style/features
- Helpful staff
- Good breakfast
- Quiet location by the river, located in largely residential area with local shop selling bread & fresh veg close by
- 20 to 25mins walk to Winter Palace

Points to Note:
- 12 mins walk to the nearest tube station, hence we walked to Winter Palace rather than taking the metro
- Not many restaurants around the hotel, tried 1 pizza fast chain place which is no good, I suggest eat dinner elsewhere before returning to the hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraditionHotel, Управляющий at Tradition Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Tina L,

Thank you for being our guest! We appreciate your detailed review. We hope you had a memorable stay in St. Petersburg and you are always welcome to our city!

Kind regards,
Anton Vasiliev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed in the standard room with an extra bed for one week and had a great stay here! The extra bed is as expected, sort of like a camp bed but was fairly comfortable. Small boutique style hotel and the heated bathroom floor was a big plus! Reception were always very friendly and gave some good tips. Like others have mentioned, the hotel is about a 15 minute walk across the river to The Hermitage but what a stunning view you have. We decided not to have breakfast there as we thought it was a bit much just for breakfast and preferred to eat out instead. A great solid stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurentia91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraditionHotel, Управляющий at Tradition Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Laurentia91,

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your informative and positive review with useful information about our extra beds. You are always welcome at Tradition Hotel!

Kind regards,
Anton Vasiliev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Small but very cute hotel with amazing location at the historical heart of Saint-Petersburg. Superb view on Peter and Paul fortress from apartment's windows. You have to see it. Cosy and clean room. Very responsible staff.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexey198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraditionHotel, General Manager at Tradition Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Alexey198,

Thank you for choosing our property. It's great to read that your stay was awesome. I'd like to mention that only one apartment suite and lobby windows have this spectacular view over the Peter and Paul Fortress but it's always possible to enjoy this area by walking only 5 minutes from the hotel's door. Thank you for beeing our guest!

Kind regards,
Anton Vasiliev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twyford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Good hotel for a 2 day stay with our 2 children, but did not take kindly to the far from clear pricing quoted. I had e-mailed for a price for 2 rooms. The price quoted and paid turned out to just be for the smaller room so was only 40% of that due which was a shock.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Childlead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraditionHotel, General Manager at Tradition Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Childlead,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel. It's very pity for us to read that misunderstanding of our price policy turned out to such an unpleasant surprise. We hope that your experience will help future guets to have a better understanding of our offers.

Nevertheless I'd like to clarify the story: there were two separate reservations made for double room each with three minutes interval; one of the reservations for a smaller room was booked by a non-refundable rate and we have charged the card at the same time, the second larger room with refundable rate was also confirmed but without charging the card in advance so the payment was expected upon arrival. I suppose that this moment caused the misunderstanding of our pricing. But I'd like to note that all total cost with all taxes and fees is stated in every confirmation as well as cancellation policy.

Kind regards,
Anton Vasiliev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Ours was a family trip to visit our daughter who was studying in St. Petersburg. I have to say that the Tradition Hotel served our purposes admirably. The staff were helpful and friendly and the rooms were spotless. Due to a booking muddle-up - not the hotel's fault - we didn't eat there so can't comment on the catering. Our only slight reservation might be the location: the hotel is 20 minutes walk from town which, if the weather is bad, can seem like a very long way, and it is not particularly handy either for the Metro or other forms of public transport.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotiaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraditionHotel, General Manager at Tradition Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear ScotiaTraveller,

Thank you for choosing Tradition Hotel. It's always great when family members are together. I agree that the walk over the bridges might be cold during wintermonths and the best solution would be to use the bus #191 with the stop 200 meters away from the hotel, direction to Nevsky pr. We hope you review will help other travellers to understand our location.

Kind regards,
Anton vasiliev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Demetra Art Hotel
#51 of 330 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilyevsky
Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilyevsky
#26 of 330 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Vladimir
The Brothers Karamazov Hotel
The Brothers Karamazov Hotel
#57 of 330 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Petrogradsky
Vedensky Hotel
Vedensky Hotel
#75 of 330 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
NasHotel
NasHotel
#6 of 330 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Nevskiy
Golden Triangle Hotel
Golden Triangle Hotel
#19 of 330 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tradition Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradition Hotel

Property: Tradition Hotel
Address: Dobrolubova Ave 2, St. Petersburg 197198, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Petrogradsky
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 330 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tradition Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tradition Hotel, located in the very heart of the city, offers you a great experience of accommodation with a unique location, traditional interiors and modern equipment. It is surrounded by some of the world's greatest tourist attractions, including the Peter and Paul Fortress, Palace Bridge, the State Hermitage. All our 16 rooms are delicately decorated and non-smoking, equipped with electronic key system, individual climate control, LCD TV, safe and free tea station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Tradition Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing