We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exellent hotel, great location and friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of W St. Petersburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
W St. Petersburg
Ranked #20 of 331 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exellent hotel, great location and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

We stayed at W St Petersburg in October 2011 for a long weekend. Overall we were very impressed by this hotel. The location could not have been better, with both the Hermitage and the Isaac Cathedral a 3 minute walk away. There are also several good restaurants close by, as well as bars and shopping malls.

The rooms were quite spacious and nicely decorated (we stayed in the smallest room) and as the hotel is quite new it felt airy and fresh. The hair dryer did not work when we arrived, but it was replaced within ten minutes. The minibar was ok and there was an espressomachine in the room.

We did try the Mix restaurant by Alain Ducasse for dinner - and it was as you might expect - amazing. Excellent food, and fairly priced considering the quality. The lobby bar was sleek with a nice crowd and the drinks were good. The music was fantastic with a live dj. There is also a roof top bar open in the summer.

The Norwegian food and bev manager Andreas provided excellent service and really went above and beyond to make out stay better. The rest of the staff were also very friendly and the concierge was very helpul in making reservations and giving recommendations. We have stayed at many W hotels in Europe and the US, and this hotel has been the best for service so far.

We had a great stay at W St.Petersburg and would happily recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scanditraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W_St_Petersburg, General Manager at W St. Petersburg, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Dear Scanditraveler,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at W St. Petersburg. It is great to hear that you had such a good experience with us on your long weekend.

I am extremely pleased to hear that our service is up to your expectation and you loved the design and I hope we have the opportunity to match these expectations again on a future visit.

Best Regards,
Peter Katusak-Huzsvar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    700
    250
    79
    29
    16
See reviews for
145
355
70
256
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

Location is great (next to St Isaac Cathedral; and within walking distance of Hermitage). But what makes W an amazing stay are the rooms, which have the typical W chic e.g. white flatscreen TVs; Bliss toiletries; and the service, which is friendlier than the usual Russian hotel by a mile.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elijah00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W_St_Petersburg, General Manager at W St. Petersburg, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Dear Eloi76,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback, I am pleased to hear that you liked our central location.

It is great to know that you have enjoyed the room design and set up, and more important the friendliness of our talent, which has created a difference.

Looking forward to welcome you back at the W St. Petersburg.

Best Regards,
Peter Katusak-Huzsvar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

The check-in was smooth and staffs are well-trained and very welcoming. My room ("the Wonderful Room") was comfortable with excellent in-room amenities, though I would love to have a bath tub to soak my soaring feet after a long day. I wasn't too happy with the shower because the power was weak. My friends were upgraded to the "Spectacular Room" or the "Fabulous Room" and it was HUGE with a nice big bath and apparently they didn't have any problem with the shower.

It is definitely worth to pay the extras for the superb breakfast (despite the slow service). We had dinner at their miX restaurant and it's a very satisfying experience. While the hotel is tucked in a quiet neighbourhood, it is only about 10-min walk to the Hermitage and Nevsky Prospekt is round the corner. It posed no problem for us to walk around at night after dinner from the busy Nevsky Prospekt.

The Bliss Spa disappointed us. First of all, the receptionists at the Spa couldn't really speak English and we had difficulty in communication. I believe there are only couple masseuses and the spa are always fully booked from 5pm till late, so we couldn't book any slot where all of us can have treatments together. I had a Spa-Sibo massage but didn't find my experience to be that amazing afterall -- I won't recommend others to try out.

Last but not least, I think the hotel should provide free in-room wifi rather than limited to the lobby area.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScourerLoBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W_St_Petersburg, General Manager at W St. Petersburg, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Dear ScourerLoBo,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at the W St. Petersburg.

Please accept my apologies about your experience at the bliss spa, please make sure that we are taking the necessary actions to improve the communication level of out talent, and looking after the option to accommodate more bookings.

On a positive note, it is great to know that you had a great Alain Ducasse experience in our miX in St. Petersburg restaurant.

Best regards,
Peter Katusak-Huzsvar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

My husband and I spent 4 nights here. The lounge area in the lobby is great. They were playing great music (trendy but not top 40) and had a dj spinning every night. It was relaxed. Open fire. Great drinks on offer.

The staff were lovely and helpful.

On the 8th floor is the MixBar where you can get bites to eat and have a great view of St Isaacs Cathedral.

Room was very clean. Very quiet. LOVED every moment of our stay.

The only slight minus point is how HOT they keep the rooms. Had to have windows open most times.

Room Tip: Ask to be on 6th floor as far from elevators as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KerryNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W_St_Petersburg, General Manager at W St. Petersburg, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Dear KerryNetherlands,

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us, I am happy to hear that you loved your experience at W St. Petersburg.

We are looking after the room temperature issue with our engineers and making the necessary set up in the system.

And it is great that you have enjoyed our Living Room, with the great live DJ sets and fireplace.

It would be my pleasure to welcome you again soon.

Best regards,
Peter Katusak-Huzsvar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

I booked this hotel as a birthday treat for my partner in November 2011. We were a bit nervous about travelling to Russia and the visa process wasn't the easiest but it was all worth it to stay in this fabulous hotel in beautiful St Petersburg.

The hotel has that real wow factor from the moment you arrive. In fact we booked the Porsche transfers to and from the hotel which were great and made the experience really hassle free.

The reception staff were exceptional and nothing was too much trouble. Marina and her collegues spoke perfect english and as we spoke no russian that was useful. The living room area was very funky and stylish.

Our room was a spectaulor room and was exactly that. Big bed, luxurious pillows and quilt, massive bathroom, safe, hairdryer, tv, cd player etc.

We dined in the restaurant for my partners birthday and it was out of this world. They made the night really special for us both and while we were down at dinner they put a bottle of sparkling wine and a chocolate cake in the room with a birthday card. Speaking of which if you like chocolate and have a sweet tooth try the candy bar for desert it was amazing.

Excellent location close to all the main attractions all within walking distance. We found a small grocery store in the road behind the hotel and bought water and soft drinks from here. There was also a lovely cafe in town where we had breakfast each day.

The city was wonderful and we felt very safe there. Having walked most of it over the four days we were there this was important.

We saw several pop stars staying at the hotel while we were there which was exciting.

The hotel however made this trip one to remember. I cannot state enough how great the hotel, reception staff, housekeeping, restaurant staff, chef, bar staff and drivers were. If you go to st Petersburg you have to stay here.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mellie7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W_St_Petersburg, General Manager at W St. Petersburg, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Dear Mellie7777,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at W St. Petersburg, I am really happy to hear that you had a great stay.

It is great to know that you have experienced the difference of W, including miX in St. Petersburg restaurant by Alain Ducasse, where our kitchen team is creating the Russian inspired dishes with local products with the French know how.

Looking forward to see you again at W St. Petersburg.

Best wishes,
Peter Katusak-Huzsvar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
152 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

We stayed at this hotel in a weekend in december. The hotel is realy great and the staf very service minded and helpfull. we enjoyed our stay and the staf and the hotel made out total experience in st petersburg very good.

BUT.....WARNING!!!!!!! do not eat in the hotel resturant. It is rediciously over priced. Me and my boyfriend travel the world and dine at fancy and exprencive resturant and we do not mind to pay if what you pay for is close to what you get.....this was a joke!!!! trust me on this or you will have a total disappointment in every way!!!!!!

the hotel staff however will give you great advice on fantastic resturant.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W_St_Petersburg, General Manager at W St. Petersburg, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Dear lindafe,

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your stay at W St. Petersburg, it is great to hear that you had a great stay with us.

I am sorry to hear that your dining experience was not up to your expectations, please contact me directly if you would like to discuss it in details.

Best regards,
Peter Katusak-Huzsvar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

This is an excellent hotel by anyone's standards. Service is excellent at every point (though we did not use the gym so cannot comment on that), the place looks amazing and decor is interesting, quirky and stylish. Staff are welcoming and extremely helpful and kind. Our room was super comfortable, I liked the Bliss products provided in the bathrooms and everything felt new and very clean. The only extremely minor point I would address is that the moroon-colored W "wish" pillow is kind of tacky - this was in our room and I think this should be removed. Location-wise, this place is extremely well-positioned - we walked everywhere we needed to go. We ordered late night room service and this was really fantastic even though we only ordered omelettes and icecream! The food was delicious and reasonably priced for top-end hotel room service.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W_St_Petersburg, General Manager at W St. Petersburg, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Dear William M,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback regarding your stay at W St. Petersburg, I am pleased to hear that you have enjoyed our location, design and most important the service.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back at W St. Petersburg soon.

Best regards,
Peter Katusak-Huzsvar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Admiralteisky
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace S...
#3 of 331 in St. Petersburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Nevskiy
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
#7 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
Nevskiy
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
#14 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The State Hermitage Museum Offic...
#4 of 331 in St. Petersburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Admiralteisky
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#9 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
Admiralteisky
Domina Prestige St.Petersburg
Domina Prestige St.Petersburg
#10 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W St. Petersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W St. Petersburg

Property: W St. Petersburg
Address: Voznesenskiy Ave., 6, St. Petersburg 190000, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Admiralteisky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#9 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#16 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#17 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#20 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — W St. Petersburg 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern wonder romanced by Saint Petersburg's elegant traditions, where nostalgia meets cutting edge cool in Russia's historical capital of glamour, fashion, and music. Conceptualized by award-winning designers Antonio Citterio Patricia Viel and Partners, W St. Petersburg is located in the heart of the city next to St. Isaac's Cathedral, a stones throw from the lavish Winter Palace with the famed Hermitage Museum and a short stroll from the spectacular Neva River. Indulge in our Living Room, tune into the DJ beats on our panoramic terrace, check out our panoramic meeting space WOUNGE and unwind at bliss spa and WET swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TravelUp and Ebookers so you can book your W St. Petersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w St. Petersburg Hotel St. Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing