We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect experience”
Review of W St. Petersburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
W St. Petersburg
Ranked #19 of 344 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Petersburg, Saint Petersburg City, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A perfect experience”
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Great hotel.
The athmosphere of style and comfort. The very and very helpfull stuff.
Situated in the very historic center and close to Metro.
The miX restaurant of Alain Ducasse was as great as I expected.Tasty food, good service. I recommend Kamchatka crab bisque, porquetta and the very special Ducasse's baba for the dessert.
Nice SPA with pool and gym.

Room Tip: Ask fot the room with the view on the St. Isaak. It is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W_St_Petersburg, General Manager at W St. Petersburg, responded to this review, 20 November 2012
Dear Elena M,
Thank you very much for your review about W St. Petersburg. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the atmosphere, helpful staff, our restaurant and spa.
Looking forward to see you soon,
Peter Katusak-Huzsvar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    718
    260
    82
    30
    14
See reviews for
149
367
70
263
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2012

This hotel experience was the best I have ever had! I felt like the most important guest on the hotel! ( I was definatley not...)
First of all, the hotel is situated next to all the most important tourist attractions in town. There is so much to see in St.Petersburg, so the location was very valuable for us!

The service was excellent, the staff was helpfull in all ways, good in room dining (excellent food), we got great tips on where to eat and the staff allways treated us like we were important to the hotel, without beeing to intrusive.
I will definatley stay there again!!

Room Tip: Me and my friend shared a standard double bed room. The room was spacious and the bathroom had a hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidrunoslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W_St_Petersburg, General Manager at W St. Petersburg, responded to this review, 20 November 2012
Dear Heidrunoslo,
Thanks very much for your review regarding your W St. Petersburg experience. I am pleased to hear that you had a great stay, and like any other, you are the most important guest at W St. Petersburg.
I am happy to hear that our central location allowed you to explore all major attractions, as well as you enjoyed your room and all other amenities.
I am looking forward to welcome you at W St. Petersburg again.
Best regards,
Peter Katusak-Huzsvar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Checking into W is very pleasurable experience - they make one feel like a prince. I stayed in a Marvellous room for 3 nights - quite spacious and luxurious. I personally had doubts about the slightly camp and rather modern decoration set up in the room, but it does not distract from the quality or comfort of the room. Iphone ready boom-box by the bed and massive top quality towels in the bathroom are little things which improve the experience even more.
Service is very good.
This hotel has a pretty good gym - all the stuff needed in terms of weights and aerobic machines, and it is all actually working and looked after.
There is no off street parking, but for most people who visit Petersburg this is probably not a problem.
This place makes you feel good!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craigmoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W_St_Petersburg, General Manager at W St. Petersburg, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Dear Craigmoto,
Thank you very much for your review regarding your recent stay at W St. Petersburg.
I am pleased to hear that you have enjoyed our service, room and decor, as well as our gym.
We are looking forward to welcome you again.
Best regards,
Peter Katusak-Huzsvar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We did recently have a very comfortable stay at the W in St Petersburg. The hotel was absolute fantastic! The service was outstanding; a warm welcome by the front desk, helpful staff at all levels, at all times, great food, quick service at in-room dining. Terrific king size soft bed!!

The hotel is perfectly located in the city; near to the Winterpalace and the shopping street. Great hotel for both business travellers, couples and friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 102012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W_St_Petersburg, General Manager at W St. Petersburg, responded to this review, 4 November 2012
Dear 102012,

Thank you very much for your review regarding your stay at W St. Petersburg. It's a pleasure to hear that you had a great experience during your visit.
I am glad you have enjoyed our service and location, as well as the signature W bed where waking up is absolutely wonderful.
I am looking welcome you at W St. Petersburg again.
Best regards,
Peter Katusak-Huzsvar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

I stayed at the W St. Petersburg in July 2012 while visiting Russia for the first time.

The excellent - the location is a great one. Close to the Hermitage Museum, St. Isaac's Cathedral, Nevsky Prospect main street, and most of the major historical sights and attractions, yet it's on a quieter street a few blocks away from the loud noise and traffic on Nevsky Prospect. Awesome view of St. Petersburg and St. Isaac's Cathedral from the rooftop terrace bar. Another excellent thing is that the hotel was very prompt in issuing me the invitation that is required when applying for a visa to visit Russia. They issued it within 24 hours of me making my reservation, which I found very impressive.

The good - the public areas and the rooms are very comfortable and clean. The service is very friendly and energetic, if a little disorganized sometimes. A number of the staff members struggle a bit with English, but they try very hard nonetheless.

The OK - the pool and the hot tub were OK, but the temps were a little chilly. The fitness center was OK, nothing special. The rooftop terrace bar had enthusiastic service, but it was a little disorganized, with long waits for drinks, even when it was not very crowded. Also, after being seated in the bar, I was asked by the wait staff to move two separate times in order to accommodate other guests - not a big deal nor an inconvenience - was happy to oblige but found this a little odd.

The bad - Internet access is very limited at this hotel, at least for many American news and commercial sites. Perhaps this is more of an issue of Russian government restrictions on the Internet for foreigners, and maybe not something the hotel imposed. But be warned that accessing even basic US news sites can be extremely limited. The hotel was also a little too trendy for my tastes. Yes, I knew going into my stay that this was a W, so I expected it to be trendy, but I don't think it's necessary to play the club music in the hallways everywhere you go. Also, breakfast is massively overpriced ($45 USD per person for the buffet), and the hotel itself is extremely expensive for virtually everything - room rates, drinks at the rooftop terrace bar, etc.

Overall, I give this hotel an average rating, because I think that while the location is excellent and the hotel is very clean and comfortable, the hotel could definitely use some improvement in its service and also be a better value.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank laker777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W_St_Petersburg, General Manager at W St. Petersburg, responded to this review, 4 November 2012
Dear grsurfer,
Thanks so much for sharing your detailed review regarding your W St. Petersburg experience. I am sorry to hear that we couldn't meet your expectations.
The internet connection in the hotel is 90 mbps, which is quite a good speed to surf websites, but I will review this with the IT and see if there is anything wrong from our end. Also will share with your other comments with the team to improve all areas and exceed your expectations on your next visit.
On a positive note, I am glad that you have enjoyed the location and our comfortable rooms.
Looking forward to see you at the W St. Petersburg again.
Best regards,
Peter Katusak-Huzsvar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
150 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

This W property is relatively new. Being a Platinum member, they upgraded me to a suite! (Love the way Starwood treats its Platinum members!) Needless to say, the W Suite is extremely lovely and comfortable, so much so that it was so difficult to step out of my comfortable room.

The W properties almost guarantee great service and excellent rooms (I've stayed at the ones in Bali and Hong Kong prior to this). And this hotel has an awesome location, situated just next to the St. Isaac's Cathedral, and 10 minutes walk to the Hermitage/Winter Palace, and near to numerous cute cafes and great restaurants. It is a mere 15 minutes drive to the Train Station too. Taxis are readily available at the entrance of the hotel, and the hotel staff helped us negotiate a good rate to take us to the train station (around 600 roubles), so it was effortless. We walked around everywhere in St. Petersburg, thanks to the hotel's awesomely convenient and centralized location.

I enjoyed my stay tremendously and would highly recommend this property to all travellers!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nemrac_coco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W_St_Petersburg, General Manager at W St. Petersburg, responded to this review, 4 November 2012
Dear nemrac_coco,

Thank you for sharing your review about W St. Petersburg. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your SPG platinum benefits at our hotel.
It's good to hear you liked the service, comfort of the room and our location. And thank you for recommending us to other travelers.
Hope to see you at W St. Petersburg soonest.
Best Regards,
Peter Katusak-Huzsvar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,066 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,130 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Many hotels have great rooms or great service, but the most important is a great location. Fortunatley the W has all three, location, service and rooms were all great.
We have never been to St Peterburg before and like many tourists we came to see the sights. The hotel is located in the Historic quarter where the vast majority of sights were located, and most were within walking distance. The Hermitage which is a must see is only 5 minutes away.

We went in May, and a number of comments on Tripadvisor at the time criticized the service at the hotel, we had no problems at all, if anything the service was better than most 5 star hotels we have stayed in Europe. As the hotel is quite new I suspect there may have been some teething problems in the early months but am pleased to report the hotel seems to have overcome these problems.
Rooms were great also, I liked the TV in my bathroom mirror and the rain forest shower was a nice touch. The bed was superb and very comfortable.
We like the ground floor bar with fireplace but were disappointed in the bar on the top floor which lacked atmosphere and was a little pokey. The bar on the roof had not opened but the staff let us have a quick look, it was impressive and with great views of the dome of St Isaacs Cathedral. The spa was a little small as was the pool.
All in all a great experience and we highly recommend the W and look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AvidTraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W_St_Petersburg, General Manager at W St. Petersburg, responded to this review, 4 November 2012
Dear AvidTraveler12,
Thank you very much for your review regarding your experience at W St. Petersburg.
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our service, rooms and the location, and looking forward to welcome you back in the future to W St. Petersburg.
Best Regards,
Peter Katusak-Huzsvar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Admiralteisky
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace S...
#3 of 344 in St. Petersburg
746 reviews
Admiralteisky
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#8 of 344 in St. Petersburg
1,511 reviews
Nevskiy
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
#7 of 344 in St. Petersburg
1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
#15 of 344 in St. Petersburg
1,095 reviews
Admiralteisky
Domina St.Petersburg
Domina St.Petersburg
#10 of 344 in St. Petersburg
1,128 reviews
The State Hermitage Museum Offic...
#4 of 344 in St. Petersburg
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W St. Petersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W St. Petersburg

Property: W St. Petersburg
Address: Voznesenskiy Ave., 6, St. Petersburg 190000, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Admiralteisky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#9 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#15 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#17 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#20 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — W St. Petersburg 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern wonder romanced by Saint Petersburg's elegant traditions, where nostalgia meets cutting edge cool in Russia's historical capital of glamour, fashion, and music. Conceptualized by award-winning designers Antonio Citterio Patricia Viel and Partners, W St. Petersburg is located in the heart of the city next to St. Isaac's Cathedral, a stones throw from the lavish Winter Palace with the famed Hermitage Museum and a short stroll from the spectacular Neva River. Indulge in our Living Room, tune into the DJ beats on our panoramic terrace, check out our panoramic meeting space WOUNGE and unwind at bliss spa and WET swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your W St. Petersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w St. Petersburg Hotel St. Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing