We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a city with absolutely no soul or friendly faces”
Review of W St. Petersburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
W St. Petersburg
Ranked #19 of 349 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a city with absolutely no soul or friendly faces”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Surprised my partner with a trip to St Petersburg as a 50th birthday present. We initially booked into the "Rossi boutique hotel" as we wanted something with some local character however changed hotel after the first night as there was nothing boutique about the hotel.

We booked into the W we had stayed in the W in Barcelona and Paris. The hotel looks great and is in a perfect location (as are all W's) so we can't really fault the hotel (though my only comment is that they tend to place things on every single surface in the room, leaving little place to put down your personal belongs). The roof terrace is great. The only serious problem is the city itself. As beautiful as it architecture might be, it the only place I have even been to where it feels very depressing and completely soulless on the streets. I have been to other ex communist countries and always enjoyed those places and their character, yet in this city all that is completely lacking. You feel wonderful whilst in the hotel but that warm feeling disappears within minutes of leaving it. Lovely architecture but the locals are mostly unpleasant, unfriendly and unhelpful. I know this is a big statement but we have travelled a lot all over the world and this is the first time were we have ever felt as if the place was lacking a soul. The whole city was so disappointing that we actaully paid £ 500.- to come home earlier and stayed 3 nights instead of 5. It was all the more disappointing as this was a surprise trip.

Would I ever go back to this hotel or city? absolutely not, there are so many other cities with just as much interesting museums and architected that are much nicer, interesting and welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrevorRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W_St_Petersburg, Guest Relations Manager at W St. Petersburg, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear TrevorRoy,
Thank you for you comment on your recent stay at W St. Petersburg and your loyalty to W Hotels Worldwide.
I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the city and didn't feel the soul of St. Petersburg. On the positive note I am glad that you have enjoyed W St. Petersburg, especially miXup Terrace on the rooftop and our central location.
If you decide to give St. Petersburg another chance, let us know in advance, so our Concierge will prepare a customized plan for you to explore a friendly side of the city.

Best regards,
Gaiane Khachikian
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    726
    264
    84
    30
    14
See reviews for
153
375
70
264
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Worth the price. Welcoming receptionists, best service providers, nice location, good quality breakfast and overall - "w quality at its best". Best recommendaions.
The only minus I found is the keys that were sometimes not working properly in the elevator. However, this should be fixed easily.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ekaterina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W_St_Petersburg, Guest Relations Manager at W St. Petersburg, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Ekaterina L,
Thank you for your positive review of W St. Petersburg. I am happy to hear you appreciated exclusive tips from our W Insiders and the warm approach from our staff in general.
We hope to host you again soon.

Best regards,
Gaiane Khachikian
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Hip hotel in perfect location. Room had some nice features. Good coffee maker. TV in mirror. Rainfall shower. Good gym. Not so good Keys were Sporadic in working. No free internet. room cleaning was at odd times. Would stay again if on sale.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank czrooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BA
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

it is eeexcelent hotel. starting with TATJANA at the front desk /I have never met such a pro-guest-, thinking person, we god much more then we ever have expected, thank you Tatjana/. we have got a lot of mineral water to our room every day. breakfast had reasonable choices, nothing opulent but fresh, tasteful with smily staff always around.
we went also for a dinner twice. unfortunately the mix restaurant was closed because of reconstruction so we anyhow very enjoyed it in mixUP bar where we got also excelent service and food.
the room is also very good, new, big / in Paris this size use to be called presidential suit/, good smell. I appreciate there a duvets like a hell. so soft you can enjoy every touch.
the W hotel is veery close to Ermitaz /350m/, st. Issac's catedral /168,45m/ and Nevskyj prospekt 252,23m/. the very next hotel is Four Seasons, just across the street, 17 meters, the same adress but W is less then half price.

Room Tip: each and every should be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank podolro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The staff were very welcoming on checkin. And a few days later, after I mentioned some things that were not going well, I got a handwritten letter, a bottle of wine and some cookies. But in between, something was lacking.

Go to the Four Seasons or the Astoria, both right next to the W ,and there will be staff outside to open the doors, help with luggage, get taxis for guests. Go to the W and there may be someone at the door, or maybe not. And he may or may not be paying attention. Anyone could walk in off the street, and they may not even notice.

Go to the front desk and ask for a taxi and be told, "You can ask the concierge." Yes, however the concierge was on the phone and any hotel employee anywhere in the world should be able to handle a request for a taxi, even more so at a W hotel.

Dial 0 to try to take advantage of their whatever / wherever service, and on at least two occasions no one answers. That happens in those mega hotels in Las Vegas where they have so many guests that they can't possibly keep up, but it shouldn't happen here.

Ask how you can shut off the heat in your room and be told that it cannot be turned off or else , "you wouldn't be able to breath." Ask why the person who was supposed to come look at it didn't come and be told the do not disturb sign was up. Absolutely untrue.

Use the wifi and you have to sign in and agree to their terms and conditions every time. And it is still slow. Go to any cafe in the city and wifi is free, you sign in once and it works perfectly.

True, these are small issues. But this is a luxury hotel, where everything is supposed to be perfect and you are supposed to be pampered from checkin to checkout. I regret to say that doesn't happen here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trebex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W_St_Petersburg, Public Relations Manager at W St. Petersburg, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Trebex,
Thank you for a detailed and constructive comment on your recent stay at W St. Petersburg. I am very sorry to hear that you have experienced a lack of whatever/whenever service from our side. I absolutely agree that small details matter, therefore we are working hard to improve wi-fi and telephone connection.
On a positive side I’m glad you valued our location in the historic center of St. Petersburg. If you could kindly share what else can be improved please contact me directly to this email: Gaiane.khachikian@whotels.com.
I really hope that your next stay at W St. Petersburg will be impeccable.

Best regards,
Gaiane Khachikian
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This hotel is amazing, first of all for its location, but most of all for the people. Throughout the hotel we were met with friendly but professional & smiley hotel team-members always ready to assist us in anyway that they saw possible. Amongst many I especially would like to point out Margarita from the concierge team, she was simply amazing providing us with the warmest & kindest service that we ever experienced & even arranged with last minute Opera tickets - amazing seats at a very good price - so thank you Margarita we will always remember your wonderful & attentive service :-)

The hotel features an Alain Ducasse restaurant, with superbe food. It is a mystery why this restaurant was not full every single night of our stay, because the food is simply to die for, reasonably priced and very attentive service, Anna the restaurant hostess always remembered our names and seating preferences- very professional & friendly. Maria from the welcome office also provided a very professional and efficient checkout.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IaInIdIrIeIaIsI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W_St_Petersburg, Public Relations Manager at W St. Petersburg, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Andreas L.,
Thank you for your positive review of W St. Petersburg. I am very happy to hear you have enjoyed our whatever/whenever service and managed to get Opera tickets last minute through our Concierge.
miX in St. Petersburg is the only restaurant in Russia by world-known Chef Alain Ducasse, therefore we have very high standards for our food & service. We are glad you have liked it so much!
We hope to see you again at W St. Petersburg.

Best,
Gaiane Khachikian
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Almost one year after my first visit to W St Petersburg I am glad to finally be back. After a very professional & warm welcome led on by Marina & Michael from welcome office who efficiantly & friendly checked us in we where thrilled when entering a most elegant and spacious room (#614)

Lunch at miX i St. Petersburg was an excellent experience like it was last time! The best of food and an outstanding service by Nadia. Most overwhelming and personally greeted by Chef Stephane Gortina!

This is only the first day of our experience, but a most promising one!!

Room Tip: 614 a spacious twin bed room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacobspointofview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W_St_Petersburg, Public Relations Manager at W St. Petersburg, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Jacob L.,
Thank you for a very nice comment on your stay and your loyalty to W St. Petersburg. I am very happy to hear that you have enjoyed the upgrade to a spacious Fabulous room and received a warm welcome from our staff.
Please let us know in advance, if you decide to come back to St. Petersburg, so we can prepare even more Insider Tips for you.

Best regards,
Gaiane Khachikian
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Admiralteisky
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace S...
#3 of 349 in St. Petersburg
772 reviews
Admiralteisky
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#7 of 349 in St. Petersburg
1,531 reviews
Nevskiy
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
#8 of 349 in St. Petersburg
1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
#16 of 349 in St. Petersburg
1,108 reviews
Admiralteisky
Domina St.Petersburg
Domina St.Petersburg
#10 of 349 in St. Petersburg
1,140 reviews
The State Hermitage Museum Offic...
#5 of 349 in St. Petersburg
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W St. Petersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W St. Petersburg

Property: W St. Petersburg
Address: Voznesenskiy Ave., 6, St. Petersburg 190000, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Admiralteisky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#9 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#15 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#17 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#20 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — W St. Petersburg 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern wonder romanced by Saint Petersburg's elegant traditions, where nostalgia meets cutting edge cool in Russia's historical capital of glamour, fashion, and music. Conceptualized by award-winning designers Antonio Citterio Patricia Viel and Partners, W St. Petersburg is located in the heart of the city next to St. Isaac's Cathedral, a stones throw from the lavish Winter Palace with the famed Hermitage Museum and a short stroll from the spectacular Neva River. Indulge in our Living Room, tune into the DJ beats on our panoramic terrace, check out our panoramic meeting space WOUNGE and unwind at bliss spa and WET swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your W St. Petersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w St. Petersburg Hotel St. Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing