We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Roof top at the W”
Review of W St. Petersburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
W St. Petersburg
Ranked #20 of 336 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
176 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Roof top at the W”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We spent a few evenings at the marvellous roof top bar. It offers a great scenic view of town, excellent drinks and good shisha/hooka for those wanting to get the most out of their visit. The live DJ plays great lounge music and it feels like a modern hideout from the busy tourist crowded streets around.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W_St_Petersburg, General Manager at W St. Petersburg, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear CRNorway,
Thank you for your wonderful comment on miXup bar & Terrace on the rooftop. We hope you will come back to us and also enjoy miX in St. Petersburg restaurant by Alain Ducasse, which is perfect for the winter time.

Best regards,
Mario Habicher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    712
    256
    81
    29
    14
See reviews for
149
358
70
262
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

the first time in 7 years, I was asked to pay extra charge of circa 15 Dollar to use the swimming pool
the hotel room floor with hairs from customers before , a nightmare
WIFI in normal world is free , not in a Westin rooms
in an normal 5 star hotel in russia you feel real good, this here is simple strange
rooms are made, that you listen to your neighbours

Room Tip: go to other locations, it is not nic hear
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W_St_Petersburg, General Manager at W St. Petersburg, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear H H,
Thank you for your loyalty to Starwood Hotels Worldwide and the comment on your stay at W St. Petersburg. I am sorry to hear that you have experienced difficulties with wi-fi in our hotel. Let me assure you that our IT department is working on fixing it. We have free wi-fi area in the Living Room and SPG members can use wi-fi in the room for points. If you decide to come back to us, let us know in advance, so we allocate you in a quieter area of the hotel.

Best regards,
Mario Habicher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I loved a few things about this hotel. The interior architecture (yes, somewhat more than design) was truly cool and thoughtful. The design blended old world patterns and textures with modern lines and finishes. We were well connected by our concierge into restaurants and translation services. Breakfast rocked! Everything fish and pickled! Location: walking distance to SO many things: Mariinsky, Hermitage and Nevsky Prospekt.

Room Tip: There aren't actually views at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MK1Chicago_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W_St_Petersburg, General Manager at W St. Petersburg, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear MK1Chicago_IL,
Thank you so much for positive review of W St. Petersburg. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed our cuisine by Alain Ducasse's team in miX in St. Petersburg restaurant. as well the design of our hotel by Antonio Citterio. We hope next time you will be able to visit us in summer and enjoy our miXup Terrace on the rooftop during white nights.

Best regards,
Mario Habicher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I come to St Pete quite often (4-5 times / year or more). Every time the experience is simply wonderful starting from an amazingly caring and warm staff to the impecably kept property. Amazing location too which is super close a large number of things you want to do and see in St Pete!

Room Tip: Pretty much all rooms (even the basic ones) are great. Major difference is either looking out on to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank max k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W_St_Petersburg, General Manager at W St. Petersburg, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Max k,
Thank you for your loyalty to W St. Petersburg. Our W insider Daria would be happy to tell you more about city attractions and hidden spots in St. Petersburg.
We hope to see you soon!

Best regards,
Mario Habicher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level Contributor
119 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

The W is a fabolous hotel at a great location. However when we checked in we were told breakfast was 1,500 RUB. I noted that our confirmation said 900 RUB (still extremely expensive compared to breakfast places all over the neighborhood). They said they would check and get back with me. Never happened

Also the use of wi-fi was expensive. I will never give an excellent rating for a 5 star hotel that charges for internet.

There were always some men standing at the door. I am not sure if they were cab drivers or what but never said hello.

It was very cold in our room. Asked them to do something several times as our A/C did not heat. The best they could offer was shut it off. From time to time we left our door open to let some warmer air in from the corridor. It was a cold (18C) August for us

Despite the negativesm the hotel is so beautyful, comfortable and at great location

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miklos K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W_St_Petersburg, General Manager at W St. Petersburg, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Miklos K,
Thank you for the comment on your recent stay at W St. Petersburg. I am sorry to hear you did not get information on breakfast prices on time. Nevertheless, I hope you did enjoy buffet breakfast in miX in St. Petersburg by the legendary Chef Alain Ducasse. Every morning from 6 am till 10 am we have W Café breakfast in the Living Room with a complimentary coffee & tea to go. Let me kindly inform you that our engineers have fixed the issue with a/c. On the positive side I am happy to hear you liked the hotel overall and especially our perfect location in the heart of St. Petersburg.

I hope next time your stay in our hotel will be impeccable.

Best regards,
Mario Habicher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Great central location. Stunning and comfy rooms and bathroom. Feels really special. Lovely bar rasas great for cocktails.
Helpful staff who had a room available for us when we arrived very early
Free wi fi in room should be standard in such a hotel
Only let down was when we were waiting to leave for a flight there was a long delay as reception had not registered our visas. Not acceptable when you had to pay for this service. Also despite asking for a city cab they got us the hotel taxi which costs considerable more.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnieL79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W_St_Petersburg, General Manager at W St. Petersburg, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear AnnieL79,
Thank you very much for your review on your recent stay in W St.Petersburg. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Therefore, I am sad that your departure had encountered the above-stated issues. We will hike you on your preferred taxi whenever you decide to come back for a lovely bath or amazing cocktails in our panoramic miXup bar and terrace.

Best regards,
Mario Habicher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We visited the hotel for 3 nights over New Year. The hotel is in an excellent location close to lots of famous sites. Over all we enjoyed our stay, rooms clean, modern and not a bad size for a city hotel. Staff where helpful etc etc. Our only negatives where if you wanted internet in your room it was not free. (Free internet in the lobby) This is the 1st time I have had to pay for internet in a hotel in over a year and I travel a lot. Also breakfast seemed very short of waiters/waitresses, if it was busy you had to wait ages for tea coffee, and for them to top up the juice food etc. that said I would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W_St_Petersburg, General Manager at W St. Petersburg, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Kirsty L.,
I would like to thank you for your comment on your recent stay in W St.Petersburg. I am happy to hear that you have highly appreciated our spacious rooms and central location. However, I am sorry to hear that your breakfast came out to be longer than expected. We will fix you a quick coffee and deliver the necessary faster than you open your morning newspaper next time you stay in W St.Petersburg.

Best regards,
Mario Habicher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Admiralteisky
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace S...
#3 of 336 in St. Petersburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Nevskiy
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
#6 of 336 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,544 reviews
Nevskiy
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
#14 of 336 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The State Hermitage Museum Offic...
#4 of 336 in St. Petersburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Admiralteisky
Domina St.Petersburg
Domina St.Petersburg
#10 of 336 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Admiralteisky
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#8 of 336 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W St. Petersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W St. Petersburg

Property: W St. Petersburg
Address: Voznesenskiy Ave., 6, St. Petersburg 190000, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Admiralteisky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#9 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#16 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#17 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#20 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — W St. Petersburg 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern wonder romanced by Saint Petersburg's elegant traditions, where nostalgia meets cutting edge cool in Russia's historical capital of glamour, fashion, and music. Conceptualized by award-winning designers Antonio Citterio Patricia Viel and Partners, W St. Petersburg is located in the heart of the city next to St. Isaac's Cathedral, a stones throw from the lavish Winter Palace with the famed Hermitage Museum and a short stroll from the spectacular Neva River. Indulge in our Living Room, tune into the DJ beats on our panoramic terrace, check out our panoramic meeting space WOUNGE and unwind at bliss spa and WET swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your W St. Petersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w St. Petersburg Hotel St. Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing