We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like paying extra for things, this is the hotel for you!”
Review of W St. Petersburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
W St. Petersburg
Ranked #19 of 359 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2014

The W is a trendy hotel in a great location. I found the design of the hotel really fun, and thought the rooms were top-notch.

Whilst WiFi is free in the lobby, you have to pay for it your own room. Readers will have their own views on whether a decent hotel should charge an additional fee for such a basic service, but I'd rather stay with one of the many hotels that offer complimentary internet for their guests.

The theme of getting overcharged continued to the swimming pool - this was the first hotel I've ever stayed that charged extra for hotel guests to us the pool. Finally I found breakfast was surprisingly expensive for a rather average offering.

Reading through the comments, I see that other guests have raised exactly the same points... How many more hints does the W need to re-think some of its charges?

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GazMan012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W_St_Petersburg, General Manager at W St. Petersburg, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear GazMan012,
Thank you for your comment on your recent stay at W St. Petersburg. I am happy to hear that you liked the hotel design and your room in particular. However, I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the charges for wifi and swimming pool. Let me kindly inform you, that WET area is bliss spa is complimentary for guests booking any treatment on that day and for Starwood Preferred Guest members WiFi in the room can be paid with points or even chosen as a complimentary benefit. I hope this information might be useful for your in future, so your next stay in our hotel will be impeccable.

Best regards,
Mario Habicher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

352 - 358 of 1,166 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014

I am not a huge fan of W hotels. That said, this one was very nice. The location was convenient and the staff was extremely friendly and knowledgeable. Very eager to please. The lobby area and the room were both much brighter than the typical W (I hate dark W hotels). I would go back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janedoe2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W_St_Petersburg, General Manager at W St. Petersburg, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear janedoe2008,
Thank you for the comment on your recent stay at W St. Petersburg and making an exception for us! We are glad to hear that you liked the friendliness of our staff and the design by famous architect Antonio Citterio.
We hope to see you soon for the White Nights season!

Best regards,
Mario Habicher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We spent a few evenings at the marvellous roof top bar. It offers a great scenic view of town, excellent drinks and good shisha/hooka for those wanting to get the most out of their visit. The live DJ plays great lounge music and it feels like a modern hideout from the busy tourist crowded streets around.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank CRNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W_St_Petersburg, General Manager at W St. Petersburg, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear CRNorway,
Thank you for your wonderful comment on miXup bar & Terrace on the rooftop. We hope you will come back to us and also enjoy miX in St. Petersburg restaurant by Alain Ducasse, which is perfect for the winter time.

Best regards,
Mario Habicher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

the first time in 7 years, I was asked to pay extra charge of circa 15 Dollar to use the swimming pool
the hotel room floor with hairs from customers before , a nightmare
WIFI in normal world is free , not in a Westin rooms
in an normal 5 star hotel in russia you feel real good, this here is simple strange
rooms are made, that you listen to your neighbours

Room Tip: go to other locations, it is not nic hear
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W_St_Petersburg, General Manager at W St. Petersburg, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear H H,
Thank you for your loyalty to Starwood Hotels Worldwide and the comment on your stay at W St. Petersburg. I am sorry to hear that you have experienced difficulties with wi-fi in our hotel. Let me assure you that our IT department is working on fixing it. We have free wi-fi area in the Living Room and SPG members can use wi-fi in the room for points. If you decide to come back to us, let us know in advance, so we allocate you in a quieter area of the hotel.

Best regards,
Mario Habicher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I loved a few things about this hotel. The interior architecture (yes, somewhat more than design) was truly cool and thoughtful. The design blended old world patterns and textures with modern lines and finishes. We were well connected by our concierge into restaurants and translation services. Breakfast rocked! Everything fish and pickled! Location: walking distance to SO many things: Mariinsky, Hermitage and Nevsky Prospekt.

Room Tip: There aren't actually views at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MK1Chicago_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W_St_Petersburg, General Manager at W St. Petersburg, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear MK1Chicago_IL,
Thank you so much for positive review of W St. Petersburg. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed our cuisine by Alain Ducasse's team in miX in St. Petersburg restaurant. as well the design of our hotel by Antonio Citterio. We hope next time you will be able to visit us in summer and enjoy our miXup Terrace on the rooftop during white nights.

Best regards,
Mario Habicher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I come to St Pete quite often (4-5 times / year or more). Every time the experience is simply wonderful starting from an amazingly caring and warm staff to the impecably kept property. Amazing location too which is super close a large number of things you want to do and see in St Pete!

Room Tip: Pretty much all rooms (even the basic ones) are great. Major difference is either looking out on to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank max k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W_St_Petersburg, General Manager at W St. Petersburg, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear Max k,
Thank you for your loyalty to W St. Petersburg. Our W insider Daria would be happy to tell you more about city attractions and hidden spots in St. Petersburg.
We hope to see you soon!

Best regards,
Mario Habicher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

The W is a fabolous hotel at a great location. However when we checked in we were told breakfast was 1,500 RUB. I noted that our confirmation said 900 RUB (still extremely expensive compared to breakfast places all over the neighborhood). They said they would check and get back with me. Never happened

Also the use of wi-fi was expensive. I will never give an excellent rating for a 5 star hotel that charges for internet.

There were always some men standing at the door. I am not sure if they were cab drivers or what but never said hello.

It was very cold in our room. Asked them to do something several times as our A/C did not heat. The best they could offer was shut it off. From time to time we left our door open to let some warmer air in from the corridor. It was a cold (18C) August for us

Despite the negativesm the hotel is so beautyful, comfortable and at great location

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miklos K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W_St_Petersburg, General Manager at W St. Petersburg, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Miklos K,
Thank you for the comment on your recent stay at W St. Petersburg. I am sorry to hear you did not get information on breakfast prices on time. Nevertheless, I hope you did enjoy buffet breakfast in miX in St. Petersburg by the legendary Chef Alain Ducasse. Every morning from 6 am till 10 am we have W Café breakfast in the Living Room with a complimentary coffee & tea to go. Let me kindly inform you that our engineers have fixed the issue with a/c. On the positive side I am happy to hear you liked the hotel overall and especially our perfect location in the heart of St. Petersburg.

I hope next time your stay in our hotel will be impeccable.

Best regards,
Mario Habicher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Admiralteisky
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace S...
#3 of 359 in St. Petersburg
835 reviews
Admiralteisky
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#8 of 359 in St. Petersburg
1,620 reviews
Nevskiy
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
#7 of 359 in St. Petersburg
1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
#17 of 359 in St. Petersburg
1,156 reviews
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 359 in St. Petersburg
1,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W St. Petersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W St. Petersburg

Address: Voznesenskiy Ave., 6, St. Petersburg 190000, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Admiralteisky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#9 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#16 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#17 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#20 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: £135 - £315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — W St. Petersburg 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern wonder romanced by Saint Petersburg's elegant traditions, where nostalgia meets cutting edge cool in Russia's historical capital of glamour, fashion, and music. Conceptualized by award-winning designers Antonio Citterio Patricia Viel and Partners, W St. Petersburg is located in the heart of the city next to St. Isaac's Cathedral, a stones throw from the lavish Winter Palace with the famed Hermitage Museum and a short stroll from the spectacular Neva River. Indulge in our Living Room, tune into the DJ beats on our panoramic terrace, check out our panoramic meeting space WOUNGE and unwind at bliss spa and WET swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your W St. Petersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w St. Petersburg Hotel St. Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing