We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Good Price”
Review of M-Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
M-Hotel
Ranked #16 of 359 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Good clean modern hotel, in a great location. Not on a main street, but well signposted. WIFI not up to scratch 24 at best but often down to 11 or 1, sometimes possible to connect to nearby Metropole restaurant for speeds of 46. As I had work to do, cafe Artisan around the corner, great WIFI 150 speeds. Breakfast at hotel was OK. although boiled cauliflower seemed a bit random.
room was clean, good shower. would stay again next time

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkBReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M-h0tel, Front Office Manager at M-Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Dear MarkBReading,
Thank you for taking time to express your opinion. We are realy happy to know that you liked hotel location, room and breakfast. We hope that unstable wi-fi connection will not spoil your general impression about hotel and we will see you again here. We have made all neccessary actions to fix this problem as soon as possible.
Kind regards,
Front Office Manager,
Anastasia S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (476)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

131 - 137 of 476 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2012

We had very mixed feelings about this hotel. The M-Hotel was hard to find down a back alley off Sadovaya St but proved to be handy to the interchange of the Metro M2 and M3 lines at Gostiny Dvor and Nevsky Prospekt and close to Rossi’s “Perfect Street”. It was also within walking distance of the historic precinct.
At check-in we were allocated Room 408. We took one look and refused to enter. We were in St Petersburg, one of the most beautiful cities in the world and we had been given a room that was just appalling - very basic, small and cramped with a close view through the only window of industrial ducting. We were told there were no other rooms, but after insisting, were allocated room 410 – next door. It was a little bigger, with a nice view of a brick wall.
The room was no great improvement and it was a mistake accepting it. During the early evening the toilet wouldn’t flush. No plumber was available, so I dismantled the cistern and we were able to refill the cistern manually until it was fixed the next day. The next thing to go wrong was electrical. Switching on the main light as we entered the room caused a blackout. It took a while before a maintenance lady appeared and reset the safety switch. I fitted the replacement light bulb as she couldn’t reach!
What really annoyed us was that this was the meeting hotel for our small group tour and we’d booked 3 extra nights (for a stay of 5 nights). When other members of the tour group arrived for their 2 tour nights, they were given much better rooms!
On the upside, the included buffet breakfast was actually quite OK and the reception staff were mostly very friendly and spoke good English. Their ability to solve problems however, was questionable and as we found out, things happened very slowly. Overall, our experience at this hotel was a disappointing but not entirely unexpected, introduction to St Petersburg and Russia in general.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 408 & 410 and most rooms at the back of the hotel. The rooms at the front were much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beyondmetoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

Dear Beyondmetoo,
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion regarding your stay at «M-hotel".
We are glad to know that you liked our location, breakfast and Reception staff.
But on the other hand we are sorry to hear that you didn’t like your room. All room windows in our hotel overlook the yard as the hotel entrance not from the main streets. Most our guests like it just because we are in the very center but at the same it is very quite. We have rooms with the view to the back yard and some rooms to the façade yard where the main hotel entrance is situated. That is the only difference. The hotel was full for the period you stayed with us so we couldn’t change your room for the room with façade yard view. You have reserved standard room in our hotel, and you are right it is quite basic as it is not Superior or Suite. But even in Standard rooms we have all necessary equipment as flat-screen TV, phone, tea set (electric teapot, cups, tea, sugar), fridge and air conditioning. In the bathroom there are hair-dryer, towels and toilet-set.
As for the situation with toilet and light bulb – we are very sorry about that. Sometimes technical problems can appear in the room. As a rule all the problems that arise in any hotel room are being fixes as soon as possible. In your situation light bulb in the chandelier was replaced immediately, but the problem with toilet was solved only in the morning next day as it was already very late. We are sorry for that situation and ask you to accept our apologies.

Dear Beyondmetoo, thank you for your time to express your opinion. We are very sorry that your visit was disappointing. Please accept my apologies about this situation at the hotel and feel free to let me know if you would like to discuss your experience personally.

Best Regards,
Front Office Manager
Anastasia Sazonova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Hotel is located on a side street one block away from the middle section of Nevsky street. It is a very convenient location within walking distance to all major touristic sites. The room was fine, but is was a bit smaller than most of the other rooms we had booked for this trip The twin beds were also somewhat smaller than the beds we had in other hotels. However, the beds were comfortable. Breakfast was good, and the staff was helpful. There is a lift to reach the upper floors. We used their taxi service to transfer to out cruise boat. We found the taxi service to be very convenient, and we were charged a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taronger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M-h0tel, Front Office Manager at M-Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Dear Taronger1,
thank you for sharing your opinion about M-hotel. It is very kind of you to mention hotel convenient location, helpful staff, good breakfast and convenient taxi service with reasonable price. We appreciate your comments and wish you all the best.

Kind regards,
Front Office Manager
Anastasia S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

It's a very calm place in the centre of Saint-Petersburg. This is the main distinguishing feature. The staff isn't very quick but positive.
First day I was left lonely for undefined period of time in the room for laggage. The girl who opened me the door to that room disappeared and I had to search for her crying at the reception where nobody was that moment. After the girl came back she behaved herself as if nothing had happened.
Next days were perfect. All breakfasts were fresh and tasty. One may find there something for his taste but not any kind of fish. Plates and cups were clean. Staff was friendly and prompt in the dining room. Though they didn't have time to keep living rooms every day.
WiFi was OK every day time.
My apartment was close to the elevator and it made me to get up rather early with the most hungry people who hurried to have their breakfast the first. I heard the mashine and its doors working.
If I go this or next year to Saint Petersburg I hope to live in the very this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmp2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M-h0tel, Front Office Manager at M-Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Dear Mmp2003,
thank you very much for taking time to express your opinion about your stay at M-hotel. We are very glad to know that you loved being with us and liked hotel position, positive staff, breakfast and wi-fi signal. It is a pity to hear that reception girl has kept you waiting in a luggage room. Two girls working during the day in the reception, but in the evening one left the hotel and sometimes one girl on duty in the evening have to make many actions alone. We apologise for this situation and very happy that your general impression about the hotel was not spoiled and you are going to visit us again.
Best regards,
Front Office Manager
Anastasia S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Hotel was nice, reception staff was very friendly, nice and helpful. Rooms were ok, clean and everything worked fine. Buffet breakfast was good and enough to eat, included for example porridge, pan cakes and bread. Only short walk from the main road Nevski Prospekt, only very short walk, (about 200 meters?) to place where sightseeing hop-on-hop-off -buses leave on their tour.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ansku00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M-h0tel, Front Office Manager at M-Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Dear Ansku00,
Thank you for taking time to express your opinion. We are glad to find out that you liked hotel location, reception staff and breakfast. Hope to see you again,
Kind regards,
Front Office Manager,
Anastasia S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Me and my girlfriend stayed at this hotel for a full week and we loved it. It couldn't be better positioned, close to the main street in StPete, you can walk to any of the many things to see in the city, and you can use the metro which is just 2 minutes away.
The room was fine, cosy and calm, very clean. The breakfast is ok, nothing special but rich for this hotel class. And it is included in the price, which is a plus considering how expensive food is in the city. The staff was friendly and helped us whenever needed. They made our restaurant reservations, called our cabs and even put a bottle of champagne in our room the day of my gf's birthday.

All in all great value for money and perfect for a tourist visit to this amazing city.

We'd go back for sure!!!

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank solodinotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M-h0tel, Front Office Manager at M-Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Dear Solodinotte,
thank you very much for spending time to exspress your opinion about your stay at M-hotel. We are very glad to know that you loved being with us. We hope that we will be able to see you again.

Best regards,
Front Office Manager
Anastasia S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Besides being centrally located, quiet, roomy and clean, the M-Hotel is staffed by friendly, helpful, English-speaking people, who will go out of their way to accommodate guests.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vaiana2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M-h0tel, Front Office Manager at M-Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Dear Vaiana,
Thank you very much for your positive comments about your stay at M-hotel. We are really happy to know that you loved our hotel team and service and hope that you will visit St.-Petersburg again, and we will see you in M-hotel.

Best regards,
Front Office Manager
Anastasia S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Nevsky Contour Hotel
Nevsky Contour Hotel
#20 of 359 in St. Petersburg
590 reviews
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 359 in St. Petersburg
1,645 reviews
Nevskiy
Akyan St.Petersburg
Akyan St.Petersburg
#11 of 359 in St. Petersburg
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralteisky
3MostA Boutique Hotel
3MostA Boutique Hotel
#13 of 359 in St. Petersburg
867 reviews
Nevskiy
Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA
Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA
#22 of 359 in St. Petersburg
832 reviews
Admiralteisky
Comfort Hotel
Comfort Hotel
#15 of 359 in St. Petersburg
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to M-Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about M-Hotel

Address: Sadovaya St., 22/2 | Entrance from Krylova lane, St. Petersburg 191023, Russia
Phone Number:
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Nevskiy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#37 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#51 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: £31 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — M-Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
M-HOTEL — is a very convenient variant of inexpensive and comfortable staying in the heart of St.-Petersburg. Hotel is situated in the “Golden Triangle” of St. Petersburg in close vicinity to the world-famous museums such as the Hermitage, the Kazan Cathedral, the Church of the Savior on Blood, Russian museum and other tourist sights. Next to the hotel the guests will find a great variety of cafes and restaurants catering to different tastes, as well as plenty of boutiques, art galleries and antique shops. We will make your stay in Saint Petersburg, whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, as comfortable as possible so that you would like to come back to visit us again and again! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your M-Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
m Hotel Hotel St. Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing