We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of M-Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
M-Hotel
Ranked #15 of 344 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This hotel is in a courtyard at the back of the famous Metropol restaurant on Sadovaya St but the address is no. 2 Krylova. However access to reception is bettter if you go to the archway at no.22 Krylova. Despite being just off Nevsky Prospeck, it is very quiet.

The reception staff are very welcoming and speak excellent English. There is a free water bubbler on the ground floor to fill your water bottles. There is a bar and a restaurant where the breakfast buffet is located - good selection: salad, cheese, cold meat, hot dishes that change daily, various pancakes and blini, cereal, yoghurt, fruit, good coffee machine.

Our room had a kettle and tea bags, TV with BBC world, great shower (with bath). Drainage a bit slow as it is an old building. Free wifi.

The location is excellent, - we could walk everywhere but there is a metro (Gostinyy Dvor) round the corner. There are also various travel agency kiosks on the main street where you can book tours to Pushkin etc.

Room Tip: As we were there for four days, I booked a superior room which as huge. Thing the ordinary rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheAndosAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnastasiaSaz, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at M-Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest (TheAndosAustralia),
Thank you for being with us during your visit to Saint-Petersburg.
We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with M-Hotel. I was glad to learn that you have enjoyed our location, your room and other services provided at the Hotel.
We are looking forward to welcome you again at M-Hotel,
Kind regards, manager Anastasia S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    136
    26
    5
    4
See reviews for
84
144
43
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

The many great reviews says it all really, the M Hotel is in a great location in a side street adding peace & quiet from a noisy high street (Nevsky Prospect, similar to Oxford Street) Our room was clean, comfortable and with features I appreciated like a desk, a hair drier and a fridge (no milk though for the tea provided - bring your own!), hooks and plentiful wardrobe space.
All the help desk staff were extremely pleasant, particularly Maria, especially after a fraught mis-guided walk from Leningradsky Train Station.
We would highly recommend this hotel and wouldn't think twice about re-booking.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Viv C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnastasiaSaz, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at M-Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Viv C,
I would like to thank you for choosing M-HOTEL during your visit to Saint-Petersburg.
We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and gave a high rating as to the Hotel services. It’s pleasant to know that you found our Team Members attentive and helpful. We constantly strive to go beyond our Guests' expectations and it is always nice to hear that these efforts are paid off.
Thank you for your recommendations; will be waiting for you again,
Sincerely, manager Anastasia S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Like many others, I booked this hotel because of the great reviews.

Pros:
* check-in was fast and efficient with a super-friendly and helpful front desk staff (shout out to Maria, I believe)
* filtered water on each floor made it so that we could fill up a few water bottles on our way out and avoid spending 100 rubles (the same cost of a beer!) at a restaurant
* breakfast was delicious
* A/C worked well
* quiet location / easy to find

Cons:

This could have been a user error, but I booked a double-room with 2 beds. My assumption was that there would in fact be two separate beds and I would not need to specify anything else. However, upon arrival, the 2 beds were merged into 1 with a common mattress and sheets. We had to call housekeeping to get it adjusted, and there was definitely some attitude from the housekeeper on making this change. "You're not from around here are you ... ?Because most people know to make the request for the beds to be separated... this is super annoying for us ... " and more along those lines. She was super-friendly but made us feel guilty for requesting this change. So, it would be great if this were made more clear upon reservation (or the hotel could specifically ask beforehand).

Also, the pillows were ridiculous. I understand that some people might like HUGE pillows, but we found them extremely uncomfortable. My brother had trouble sleeping because of it. I would recommend to the hotel to stock a variety of pillow types, and to picky travelers, bring a pillow if you are particular about the firmness.

The handheld showerhead was broken (water sprayed out from the side) and it was hard to get it to stay on the holder.

We asked for restaurant recommendations and were given the name "Yolki-Palki". We Googled, walked around the building where it was supposed to be a few times, and just couldn't find it. We finally started asking around and it turns out it was renamed to Trin-Trava some time ago. I tried filing this report on TripAdvisor but not sure if it went through. This is more of a heads up to the staff at M-Hotel.

The negatives are minor and easily fixable, but it made for a sub-optimal hotel experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katherine Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnastasiaSaz, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at M-Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Katherine Z,
Thank you for your feedback about your stay with us, and specifically about our front desk staff.
According to your reservation you booked Double bed, that means 1 Double bed for 2 persons. But when guests request upon arrival about wishing 2 separate beds,- it is not a problem for us to adjust them and make it comfortable to sleep separately. We are sorry about your feeling not nice attitude from the housekeeper; definitely it is not our standard.
As for the pillows: people have their own taste about them, some people like big ones, another small. And if guests ask us to change pillows we have a possibility to change them on smaller or bigger but unfortunately we don't have pillow-menu as we are only 3 star hotel.
The handheld shower head in your room was checked and fixed, - thank you for mentioning that.
Thank you again for your post and we hope that your travels bring you back to Sait-Petersburg and our hotel soon.
With kind regards, Manager Anastasia S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
165 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Because of previous reviews we booked the M Hotel way in advance. They helped us with our tourist visa, with taxis to and from the Finland Station, and in many other ways, big and small, during our recent 3 night stay. The hotel is right next to a Metro stop and the Catherine II park, in an alley off a small street parallel to Nevsky Prospekt. The rooms were small but very comfortable, and the bed was very good. The free breakfast was quite good, with hot and cold options at tables next to a small garden. The price was quite moderate for all of these features. We would recommend it to anyone in the 99 percent going to St. Pete.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet, and none has a view. Right now there is construction during the day next d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadtrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnastasiaSaz, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at M-Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest (roadtrekker),

I would like to thank you for choosing M-Hotel during your last visit to Saint-Petersburg and for having taken the time to share your experience.

I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and gave a high rating as to the Hotel services.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel,

Sincerely,
Manager Anastasia S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. Airport transfer made it simple to find and avoided us getting ripped off on the taxi fare. The rooms were pleasant with air conditioning to keep us cool. Free high speed wifi was helpful to plan activities each day. I liked that there was filtered water available on each level. Breakfast was adequate and there was plenty of food to choose from. Staff spoke English well and were helpful- they helped me navigate the city to find a store I was searching for. This would have been much more difficult without their help. The hotel was within walking distance of everything we visited - you couldn't be in a better location.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jake G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnastasiaSaz, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at M-Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Jake G,
Thank you so much for taking time to share your experience with other travellers on TripAdvisor website. I was glad to learn that you have enjoyed our location, hotel staff, your room and other services provided at the M-Hotel.
We are looking forward to welcome you again,

Sincerely,
Manager Anastasia S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The hotel is a hidden gem. It's location is excellent, right near the Nevsky Prospect and most sights, such as the Church on Spilled Blood, the Hermitage and St. Isaacs Cathedral are within walking distance. I was there with my mother and we stayed in the SPA suite. The hotel itself is clean and the breakfast was very good. However, it was the outstanding service and willingness of the staff to accommodate our wishes all the time that really stand out. Would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting St. Petersburg!

Room Tip: We stayed in the SPA suite which is excellent, has a jacuzzi and sauna. It is not that more expensiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaKristjans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnastasiaSaz, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at M-Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Maria Kristjans,
we thank you for your review of our hotel and your recommendations. We are really glad you liked hotel location and thank you for positive mentioning hotel staff. We do hope to see you again,
Kind regards, Manager Anastasia S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schenectady
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

location is great...slightly intimidating as you walk through an arch into a quiet, but not terribly inviting courtyard. But the hotel is very welcoming inside. Staff very helpful and attentive. We had some problems with paperwork (not their fault), which caused us some panic, but they helped us out. No fuss. quiet and comfortable. we slept great. easy place to return to, to take breaks from sightseeing -- a big benefit in the endless days of mid-summer. good, varied breakfast.

Room Tip: We stayed in the suite. was more expensive but spacious and fun. Big jacuzzi tub, in which we soak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MooselipsSchenectady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnastasiaSaz, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at M-Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear MooselipsSchenectady,
we thank you for your review of our hotel, particularly regarding the personnel. We are so glad that you felt comfortable with us. Hope to see you again,
Kind regards, Manager Anastasia S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Nevsky Hotel Grand
Nevsky Hotel Grand
#70 of 344 in St. Petersburg
833 reviews
Nevskiy
Akyan St.Petersburg
Akyan St.Petersburg
#11 of 344 in St. Petersburg
494 reviews
Admiralteisky
Comfort Hotel
Comfort Hotel
#12 of 344 in St. Petersburg
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vasilyevsky Island
NasHotel
NasHotel
#9 of 344 in St. Petersburg
631 reviews
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 344 in St. Petersburg
1,535 reviews
Admiralteisky
Petro Palace Hotel
Petro Palace Hotel
#26 of 344 in St. Petersburg
1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to M-Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about M-Hotel

Property: M-Hotel
Address: Sadovaya St., 22/2 | Entrance from Krylova lane, St. Petersburg 191023, Russia
Phone Number:
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Nevskiy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#37 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#51 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — M-Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
M-HOTEL — is a very convenient variant of inexpensive and comfortable staying in the heart of St.-Petersburg. Hotel is situated in the “Golden Triangle” of St. Petersburg in close vicinity to the world-famous museums such as the Hermitage, the Kazan Cathedral, the Church of the Savior on Blood, Russian museum and other tourist sights. Next to the hotel the guests will find a great variety of cafes and restaurants catering to different tastes, as well as plenty of boutiques, art galleries and antique shops. We will make your stay in Saint Petersburg, whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, as comfortable as possible so that you would like to come back to visit us again and again! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your M-Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
m Hotel Hotel St. Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing