We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific choice!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Altburg On Nevskiy 53

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Altburg On Nevskiy 53
Ranked #195 of 330 Hotels in St. Petersburg
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrific choice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

I've been doing some traveling in Europe in December to see few places - got a tip from my NYC friends who get around a bit. I got to St. Petersburg after staying a few days in Prague. St. Petersburg is an awesome city! I wish I had more than 5 days here. I didn't know much about the place (...usual stuff - tips from friends and a lonely planet).

It was a shocker to find out that you cannot afford much of accommodation for less than a grand with the main hotel chains. I tried couple of places and gave up. Then I found Altburg - that was an awesome discovery! The place is small and cozy, it is directly on the main street (Nevsky), but is hidden away from the noise by a small yard. Service was very good (not much English though). My room was excellent and the location you cannot beat. If ever again in St. Pete, will stay with you guys.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank newyorker76_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    12
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
12
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

Fun, fun, fun! Great time with friends in San Petersburgo! We lived in ALTBURG on Nevskiy avenue. Life, fun, restaurants, bars, shops. Great hotel! Rooms, furniture, people who serve, design, everything. Greetings from Buenos Aires to ALTBURG hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudolfo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

A small hotel on the second floor of a residential building accesse directly from the main street but at the same time quiet.

There was no shortage of restaurants and shops near to the hotel - though my interest is primarily in sightseeing. i was therefore drawn to the nearby canal bridges and builings that make for good motives in winter light.

The room was quite spacious and the ladies in the reception were friendly. I would be happy to come back.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat, Oman
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

My friend told me about Altburg hotels, told me he staid with them and it was very good. I went to Russia for business in september. Booked Altburg on Nevskiy prospect - their main street. It was very excellent! Service very good, rooms very good, location very good. I thanked my friend when came back to Muscat.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr_Ahmed_bin_Saeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
187 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

This hotel is situated on the main street of SPb, and really close to Moscow railway station. There is a lot of cafes, fastfoods and places to visit, and the subway stations are close too. You wouldn't spend a lot of time on the way to any sightseeing and this is very important that you shouldn't afraid that risen bridges will separate you and your hotel. Rooms are nice, with TV, shower and air conditioner that is very important during summer period, they deserve fair 3 stars, breakfast is continental (2 sausages or plate of cereal, 1 boiled egg, 1 muffin, bread, butter, yoghurt, coffee with cream or tea and 1 portion melted cheese per person) and served right in the room. There is one common thing that you must know when you stay at mini-hotel in SPb - they all are former communal flats situated in regular living houses. They are great inside, but porch in old house in SPb let you see our soviet past (watch photos and notice that there is also smell of old house and a bit of propane. Don't afraid, it's safe and maybe romantically, just notice about it.

Room Tip: Notice that odd rooms look into the yard, and every thing said by people in the yard are well heard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rambus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2010

If you're planning to stay in St.Petersburg - this is the hotel you're looking for!! Extremely friendly staff (very helpful, not like the average Russian). My warmest regards to Lana, Olja and Ulga. The rooms are small but that's what you pay for. A truly 5* experience in a 3* hotel! Will definitely recommend. We stayed from 18 to 25 September 2010 and it feels like we left family behind. A memory we will cherries always.
Johan & Karen Veldsman

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johanVeldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Hotel Polikoff
Hotel Polikoff
#197 of 330 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Liteyny
Octaviana Hotel
Octaviana Hotel
#162 of 330 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Vladimir
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#185 of 330 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vladimir
Nevskiy Dvor
Nevskiy Dvor
#123 of 330 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Nevskiy
Nevskiy Central Hotel
Nevskiy Central Hotel
#134 of 330 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Hotel Krisha
#172 of 330 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altburg On Nevskiy 53? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altburg On Nevskiy 53

Property: Altburg On Nevskiy 53
Address: Nevskiy Ave., 53, St. Petersburg 191025, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #195 of 330 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Altburg On Nevskiy 53 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ALTBURG on Nevsky 53 is located in the most luxurious part of Nevsky Prospekt and is occupying a third floor of the 19th century historical building. The hotel was opened in 2007. The windows of mini-hotel are facing quite charming yard, therefore you will not be disturbed by the noise of Nevsky prospect. The hotel is located in the very city center close to all major sights, 300m away from Moscow railway station and main transport lines connecting it to any part of St. Petersburg. Modern interiors, tastefully decorated rooms with all amenities make the hotel attractive for tourists and business travelers alike. Few-minute walk will take you to Nevsky Prospekt, Russian Museum, Church of the Savior on Spilled Blood, Mikhailovky castle, Summer Garden, embankments of Neva and Fontanka. A pleasant stroll along Nevsky Prospekt will bring you to the Palace Square and the Hermitage. The breakfast is included and served to your room at any time of the day to your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Altburg On Nevskiy 53 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing