We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Location”
Review of Aston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aston Hotel
Ranked #21 of 335 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
626 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 403 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
Reviewed 23 August 2012

I stayed here recently for three nights and chose the hotel for it's convenient location just off Nevesky Prospect, one of the main central roads.
The rooms are small, not ideal for a couple other than a short visit although it was clean with a good modern bathroom and excellent free wifi. Breakfast was fine, the staff pleasant and the Receptionists charming and very helpful. My street view room was not at all noisy and offered a better view than of the courtyard. The hotel provided a first class taxi driver.
The city is stunning with a beautifully preserved central area replete with fine Neo Classical architecture, opulent former palaces, extravagant churches all criss crossed by canals and magnificent sea views. Many excellent restaurants within walking distance, food prices about 30% less than London equivalents.
The locals were courteous but somewhat reserved and at the tourist attractions occasionally overwhelmed by the thousands of visitors so expect long queues.

Room Tip: Choose street view as opposed to courtyard view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PutneySW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    106
    36
    15
    8
See reviews for
78
144
41
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Visited a hotel during a business trip in may 2012, been staying for 2 nights.

Perfectly situated - right around the corner from Nevsky avenue which is a general street of the whole city. The hotel is a great choise for unmounted trip lovers. There's a lot of cafes and restraunts on Nevsky, also some places of interest are situated down the avenue.

I had a room on the top floor with windows faced on Vladimirsky. The room was little but cosy with a nice big bed. The bathroom was also neat and tidy - with a lot of towels and shower tools but without a bathrobe. Wi-Fi is free (or included in room price).

Breakfasts were fine, though nothing special: porridge, juice, ham with cheese, eggs for demand.

The Aston hotel is a very affordable place in the heart of the city to spend a couple of nights. I can recommend it for everyone for a short stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Serge_Rush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We have been recently in this Hotel that is considered a 4 stars hotel. This is by far not a four stars hotel in spite that the price is similar to better hotels in the city. It is really quite well localized but there is not any lobby (Important if you need to stay wailing for your late flight). The rooms are very very small with not so good linen, the doors need to be closed by force in order to close them properly, the room cleaning service is less than basic and when we come back to our room at 5 PM for some rest the room was still not cleaned. The breakfast is very simple with no fresh bread and whitout enough choosen products, the restorant staff doesn't speek english at all and didn't undertand what we wan't. In the reservation there are specifications like Cookeware, dishes and utensills but they are not there.
If you are looking for a cheap hotel, then you can choose it but the city for sure can offer better ones.
Just one positive comment: The reception desk staff try harder to give good service but it is not enough. All the three reception desk speaks good english (Yes there are only three rotating about 12 hours duty each one).

Room Tip: Rooms on the central courtyeard have noisy garbage collection early in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ariel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

I was very disappointed by my stay at Aston hotel. Unfortunately all the negative points mentioned in earlier reviews were still not corrected by the hotel, and combined with other issues, this made if for me a very unpleasant 10 days experience.

The main issues that I encountered:

- bed sheets are dirty. No matter that you clearly ask to the reception "please put clean sheets", no, there are always stains. Some even looked like blood.

- if your neighbors smoke, then invite them to your room, as it won't make a difference. Smoke goes to the ventilation ducts and ends up in your room.

- breakfast is very poor, nothing seems to be fresh, coffee that is served there is barely flavored water (and when you ask for a real coffee they will charge you for it).

- standard rooms are extremely small. You can barely walk around the bed.

- Bathroom is not equipped with air extraction, so expect smell of humidity (and occasionally of dirty pipes).

- As said in earlier reviews, they don't have in house laundry. So they bring your clothes to another hotel. This takes 2 days. And you won't get your shirts ironed! That would be too much service for the client. Instead of this, your clean clothes are rolled into a plastic bag and handed over to you. If you ask why it isn't ironed, they send you an iron and board to your room. How thoughtful!

- I could feel all the springs of my mattress. Didn't have a single good night sleep during all my stay.

- Except for one guy, the staff was everything but helpful, and often even rude.
And all this for a 125 euros a night hotel... I won't go again!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EnergizeMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

The best thing about this hotel is the location. It is just off Nevsky Prospekt and within walking distance (20 minutes) of the Hermitage, Church of Spilled Blood and other visitor attractions. The buses on Nevsky Prospekt were cheap and easy to use.
The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was small, but comfortable and very clean. Choice at breakfast was good. The attached restaurant was also good.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hillfieldjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
173 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

The exterior & entry were very nice. A little strange that the check in desk is built in under the staircase. Smallest elevator I have been in & the smallest hotel room I have ever stayed in. Couldn't get the suitcase past the bed. They do charge for extra towels & bedcovers. No face cloth is provided. There is a charge for it. Our room was at the back so no noise from the busy road. The hotel is new so it is clean & updated but the fixtures and furniture are very cheap. Thought the price was reasonable. I would not rule it out for future trips but would like something a little further up Nevisky Prospekt closer to the sight seeing attractions.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrsomalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2011

Hey all, I've been in this hotel just recently and we with my mum were very upset by one particular thing. They don't have the bed quilt/blanket for each person in the room.
I mean we've booked the double room king size bed for two and it's logical that they have to provide two blankets, but they just had one for both of us.
It was kinda freezing in the room, so we called the reception and asked for the additional one. They warned us that we have to pay for blanket cover or we can have blanket without any case. It's just stupid and I don't understand this kind of system.
I've been to so many places all over the World and never experience this kind of service.
It's not about money. We had to pay only 150 RUB(5$) and of course, it's nothing. I just hate the fact that expensive hotel doesn't provide it.

BTW room is so much smaller than on the website's pictures, so don't expect a lot of space in the room.

It was very clean and the towels very changed every day no matter what.

ALSO they have Wifi in all the rooms that was very good!

They don't have safety chain on the door, so I felt a little bit unsafe..
Also it was noisy because of the door and wind, so we had the feeling at night that somebody breaking in our room because of the door swaying from the air/wind.

The breakfast was so-so..I found it a bit poor for the Italian restaurant.
They offer you to order scrambled eggs,oatmeal or omelet, also they have a little buffet that offers breads, cheese, muesli, corn flakes and yogurt.
The scrambled eggs was very good, but I in general expected a bit more from the breakfast.

There are so many places to have good coffee and cheap breakfast in the close proximity to hotel, so I would definitely go without breakfast, to tell the truth.( BTW I really liked the coffee shop close by "Idealnaya Chasha- Ideal cup". They have non expensive breakfasts. lunches, coffees and everything is yummy.)

The good thing about this hotel is location-it's close to Nevskiy, 20 minutes by bus to Mariinskiy theater. Also there are many restaurants around hotel, so you never go hungry.
( We really enjoyed asian restaurant "Dve Palochki"- it works 24/7 and always have customers, coz food there really good!)

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank maybetomorrowwecan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Bristol Hotel
#31 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Nevsky Forum Hotel
#14 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Vladimir
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Ligovsky
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Li...
#16 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA
Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA
#26 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
NasHotel
NasHotel
#9 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Nevskiy
Golden Triangle Hotel
Golden Triangle Hotel
#23 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Hotel

Property: Aston Hotel
Address: Vladimirskiy Ave., 5, St. Petersburg 191005, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 335 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aston Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
N: Aston - a new Italian hotel located in a palace built in the early XIX century. Located three minutes walk from Nevsky Prospect, close to metro stations Vladimirskaya and Dostoevsky. The interiors are designed in Venetian style, the best Italian craftsmen, is striking in its beauty. In the reconstruction of the palace managed to keep the ladder in 1834. The hotel has 40 rooms of the highest class with a cozy interior at affordable prices, which are divided into five categories (standard + 17M2, 17M2 Classic, Superior twinm 24m2, 24m2 double superior, premium 36m2). Each room has a desk, LCD TV, telephone, air conditioning, free Wi-Fi, safe, mini-bar, private bathroom with hairdryer and a set of bath cosmetics. The bathroom is equipped fixtures imported. Provides fire protection system, rooms for smokers and nonsmokers.Italian restaurant <>. Every morning from 7.30 Am to 11.00 Am you can enjoy a real home-made breakfast, "buffet" included in the price. You will be offered porridge, omelets, light salads, pastries, traditional Russian pancakes, cheese cakes, yogurts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing