We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Easy to deal with.

We booked a 2 day tour that unfortunately had to be cancelled because the cruise was cancelled... read more

Reviewed 8 April 2021
HappyLolo2014
,
Coquitlam, Canada
Do not hesitate to book

This is an odd review as I did not go on MaxiBalt's tour, for almost a year we had planned our... read more

Reviewed 21 May 2020
kma4517
Read all 431 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (431)
Filter reviews
431 results
Traveller rating
397
22
6
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
397
22
6
4
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
403 - 408 of 431 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2011

My wife and I spent two wonderful days in St. Petersburg , Russia this past June,2011. on the Costa Pacifica cruise ship. As professional travel agents in Chicago for many years, we were fully aware of the importance in arranging our own private shore excursion. Our main concern however, was selecting an experienced tour company that specializes in serving cruise passengers that would provide safety, dependability, comfort, and expertise, all within a pleasant environment. We believe that we made an excellent choice by choosing MaxiBalt Tours. Under the direction of the general manager Alexi Volkov, we were treated to two full days of carefully selected sightseeing of some of St. Petersburg's finest museums , parks, and palaces. The beauty of working with MaxiBalt is that although sample itineraries are suggested on their website, www.maxibalttours.com, Alexi will be more than happy to alter any portion of the tour to your liking.
As far as the tour itself is concerned, we were picked up in a modern air conditioned vehicle just outside of the ship, immediatey after we cleared immigration. MaxiBalt had taken care of all the necessary paper work , and emailed the required visas to us ahead of time. All the required steps and procedures are explained on their website. The result was a quick exit off the ship and through immigration.
We were fortunate in having an excellent tour guide and safe and courteous driver to take us to our selected parks and museums. We found them both to be extremely knowledgeable of Russian arts and culture. and very articulate. Their command of the English language was superb. Without hesitation, I would recommend MaxiBalt Tours to anyone looking for a superior tour experience, all at a very competitive price.

Date of experience: June 2011
3  Thank Michael-TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MBTSt_Petersburg, Owner at MaxiBaltTours, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2011

Thank you Michael for your kind words! It has been a pleasure for us to serve you and your wife. You are always welcome back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

I read reviews from others before I contacted MaxibaltTours for my group of 40 people for the St Petersburg tour..Our Baltic cruise stops at St Petersburg port for 2 days. Alexei greeted our group at port terminal and arranged great 2-day tour with very knowledgeable tour guide... We all had great time in St Petersburg. Not only they offered good package with good price... they have the personal touch and very friendly staff. We will go with them again. Great company to do business with.

Marilyn from Sacramento California

Date of experience: May 2011
Thank 40yr_College_Reunion
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 May 2011

On May 11, 2011, our group (6 persons) had a great time at ST. Petersburg. MaxiBaltTours arranged a perfect tour to visit the most important sightseeing in the city.
We took a 7-day Cruise at North Europe, and had a stop at St. Petersburg. When we searched on Internet to prepare the trip, we had two key questions in our mind. 1) How could we visit the most important sightseeing at St. Petersburg in one day (about 10 hours)? 2) How could we find a trustable tour company who could complete a tour as write down on the website? After read all the information about tour companies at St. Petersburg, we finally selected MaxiBaltTours Company, and signed a contract. However, our questions were not answered until we arrived at St. Petersburg.

When we walked out the Russia Custom at about 8:00 am, the General Manager Alexei Volkov, as shown his picture on Internet, already waited there. He arranged a 10 persons van with a driver and a tour guide. The guide Arina was a very nice young lady with plentiful historic and artistic knowledge. She first led us to visit a few import locations, such as old St. Petersburg port, St. Issac’s Cathedral, and then to the three most famous buildings: The Catherine’s Palace, the Peterhof, and the Hermitage Museum. The guide showed us hundreds of precious treasures, and explained the beauty and value of the exhibitions. We regretted that we did not bring a pocket recorder. When we went out of the Hermitage Museum’s door, it was almost 6:00 pm. We had a wonderful tour and got our conclusion: in a limited period, we visited the most impressed sightseeing, and saw the most valued treasures. The money we spent was worth. MaxiBaltTours Company can be trusted.

Date of experience: May 2011
1  Thank Tianm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 August 2010

A group of us (8 in all) have just returned on 13 August from a cruise to Scandinavia & Russia on Royal Caribbean's Jewel of the Seas. We all had a wonderful time but the highlight of the whole trip was in St Petersburg. The excursions advertised by Royal Caribbean were really expensive and as we had only 2 days there we wanted to do as much as possible but not have to pay a fortune. I came across Maxibalttours, a local, private tour operator on the web. At first, we were a bit apprehensive but Alexei, the manager was very prompt in replying to emails and he was also very reassuring if we had any queries or questions. We were provided with a comfortable, air-conditioned vehicle, together with a guide, Oksana, who is a friendly, warm, and knowledgeable, English-speaking lady.  We were not herded like cattle with the rest of the people in a big coach.  No queuing with the rest of the crowd to any of the attractions therefore enabling us to have more time for sightseeing.

For the 2 days there:-
Day 1 - St Catherine's Palace is absolutely magnificent. It's huge, awesome, 2-hours was just not enough. Words cannot express how beautiful it is.  Then, Oksana, took us to a real Russian little cafe where they serve mouth-watering pies with all sorts of fillings and very cheap.  Then we went to the Hermitage Museum. OMG!!!! The amount of art work in there!!!! The mind boggles!!! Then we went on a relaxing canal tour before returning to the ship. All the other people were crammed into a canal boat, whereas the 8 of us had the whole boat - talk about VIP service!

Day 2 – Did a quick city tour. Then took the hydrofoil to the gardens of Peterhof which had loads of beautiful fountains.  Then we did a tour of 2 of their metro stations which had huge, grand, magnificently carved tall pillars .  One had marble pillars, the other with beautifully carved glass. They also had impressive, elegant chandeliers in their tall ceilings.  Then after lunch we went to visit the beautifully recreated interiors of Yusupoff Palace where Rasputin was killed.

Alexei and Oksana have given us a fantastic time and we will always have wonderful memories of St Petersburg.  We would have no hesitation in recommending them to anyone visiting St Petersburg. 

2  Thank Yukping
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 February 2020
Google Translation

Date of experience: July 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 18 February 2020
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews