We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Easy to deal with.

We booked a 2 day tour that unfortunately had to be cancelled because the cruise was cancelled... read more

Reviewed 8 April 2021
HappyLolo2014
,
Coquitlam, Canada
Do not hesitate to book

This is an odd review as I did not go on MaxiBalt's tour, for almost a year we had planned our... read more

Reviewed 21 May 2020
kma4517
Read all 431 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (431)
Filter reviews
431 results
Traveller rating
397
22
6
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
397
22
6
4
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
369 - 374 of 431 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2013

The tour guide personnel are very informative, know their history, and take you to the main places of interest. This is a good tour for people who want to see the city while in an air conditioned car with buildings being pointed out. We got out a few times, only to hear that the tour does not include entering the church, castle, etc... and were disappointed by that. The city is an easy walking city, so if you are in decent shape and enjoy walking, you can do it on your own, enter all the places you want, and save a lot of money. Even the out of town excursions have many other ways of reaching them, without a car, and you can actually enter the buildings. We went to Peterhof Palace and Garden (Russia's version of Versaille) and the tour only covered the grounds, not the inside. We were disappointed to have driven an hour and not be able to enter. In all fairness, that was what the tour said in fine print, but not knowing much about where you are going to, it is easy to overlook and just see the main attraction's name.

We were told by many people that in Russia you MUST have a tour and I completely disagree with that, after having been there. The Russian people are very nice and helpful and many speak English.

Date of experience: June 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank SanDiegoSusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MBTSt_Petersburg, Owner at MaxiBaltTours, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Thank you very much for your candid review. Our guests' comments and feedback are always very important to us.

We do understand that we should try to approach our private tour planning with extra care and attention. This is also always a mutual work from both sides depending on needs and of course a budget. We are sorry if the result of our work may not fully meet your expectations.

Always at your service!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We were a little apprehensive booking the tour independently rather than through the Cruise company, but we need not have worried. We booked the 2 day Easy Tour, because of my partner's limited walking ability, & everything was superb. Alexei actually met us in the port arrivals after passport check (which, again was very quick & efficient). We had a mini-bus for 6 people in total (there was a Canadian & American couple on our tour & they were also really nice people & great company) - we found the mini-bus proved to be a far better option than a coach, everything was far more relaxed & the smaller vehicle meant drop-off & pick-up was far easier. Our tour guide, Elizabeth, was excellent, very friendly, informative & extremely organised. Igor, our driver, again complimented a great team, he was always there on time & his collection limited the amount of walking. St Petersburg was the highlight of our cruise & didn't disappoint - it really is a great city & the sights are amazing. Would thoroughly recommend MaxiBalt Tours without hesitation.

Joe & Kevin

Date of experience: June 2013
Thank 431Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We have just returned from a Baltic cruise on the Adventure of the Seas....fabulous. We booked a full two day tour of St. Petersberg with Maxibalt tours based in Russia prior to going through Alexei. Best thing we could have done, Alexei arranged everything in advance, no Visa needed, and he met us at the exact time specified. Our actual tour took in everything imaginable, wonderful churches, parks, the Hermatige and even the Metro with a hydrofoil and canal boat trip thrown in and two splendid Russian style lunches. We were in a party of only 9 our guide was a lovely young lady called Inna whose knowledge was first rate and even better got us through everywhere ahead of all the crowds. Our driver Andrie was also excellent weaving his way through very heavy traffic.
We would both recommend to anyone going to St. Petersberg to book their tours through Alexei via the Maxibalt website, it couldn't be bettered.

Date of experience: June 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank Barry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Just returned from a wonderful Baltic Cruise with three days in St Petersburg. Arranged our own tour before leaving home with MaxiBaltTours and it worked out perfectly - just my husband and myself - we were met at the cruise terminal by Alexie and his guide Natalya. We had a pre-arranged itinerary covering all the 'must see' sights, All tickets were prebooked and fast track so no queueing. It felt like being shown around by friends. Natalya was so knowledgeable. Lovely people who I would recommend to anyone and we were shown far more than we would have seen on a ships organised tour. They even managed to organise 3 wonderful warm sunny days. Much better value when compared with the prices charged by the tours from the cruise ship.

Thank you Alexie and Natalya

Date of experience: June 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank jo s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed the Tour. We recommend the white night tour of St. Peters-burg. Mr. Alexei personally came at night 11.45 & took around city. But Boat tour at night can be avoided as it was very chilled. Instead take only car tour. Night tour is spectacular & colorful. We also enjoyed must see Hermitage Museum & Catherine Palace. We had no problem for Visa all paper work done by Mr. Alexei was perfect. Even night 11.45 going out & coming back early morning 3.15 am. at Cruise, we had no problem at Immigration. It was very Smooth. Minimum 3-4 day require to see St. Peters-burg.
Umesh Patel

Date of experience: June 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank Umesh0210
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews