We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings”
Review of Maribelle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Maribelle
Ranked #194 of 974 St. Petersburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The entrance is scaring. If I was traveling with a girl, I would turn around at the exact moment I arrived. The door is a massive piece of metal and to find the hotel is not so easy, since are other doors with the same adress. The impression is that you are entering in a bunker and if something happen to you nobody will never discover. Some steps to reach the reception, and the girl tell you that you have to pay in advance (it's not specified when you make the reservation). Then she explains that government requires a registration of the guests and it costs 150 rublos (around US$ 4). I pay it (later on I discover that registration is required, but the fee is fake and this is the first scam). The lift seems be commissioned by Peter, the Great, since it is extremely old and damaged. To access the rooms, another bunker door. At this moment I was sure that I was in a mousetrap. After arrive at the room, the impression change a little bit. Room is spacious, bathroom is new and works quite well (but the shower doesn't have a good pressure), good bed. The walls are very thin, so you can listen everything from the other rooms, but the guests behave after 11 pm (at least I was lucky). Wi-fi is good, breakfast is basic, but ok, location is excelent: very close to tourist attractions, shops, ATMs, banks (for exchange) and restaurants. Street is very quiet, so I could sleep very well. Price is high if compared with a similar accomodation in US or even in Europe, but Russia is very expensive and the "white nights" are the high season in St. Petersburg. I asked the reception to book a taxi for me and comparing how much I payed from the airport and the distance of it to the hotel and how much I payed for train station and its distance from hotel, of course there is a scam among hotel and taxi driver. Anyway, I recomend for backpackers, people with small luggage and men travelling without women. Ok, there were many guests women, but for some reason, I didn't feel completely safe.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Averbuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

The hotel is in a good location and isnt bad at all but my experience was ruined by the staff.
I stayed there for 3 nights. On the last night I went to a near by bar. I stupidly tried to keep up with a group of Russian people at drinking. This was a terrible mistake.
As you will imagine, I was in a good state in following morning. As I tried to sleep off this incredible hangover I recieved a call at 10:30am to inform me that I needed to check out at midday. After the call I tried to go back to sleep, as I tossed and turned regretting my descions from the night before I recieved another call telling me I needed to check out at midday.
I managed to maybe get 25 mins more sleep. Only to get another call explaining I needed to check out at midday! At this point I slumped to my shower and tried to get everything packed up. As the clock stuck midday I was finally packed and ready to go, I decided to use the toilet before I exitted the room, as the time got to 12:03 i recieved a call telling me to get out of the room!
I was not happy. I was been kicked out of the hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dazwilkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

As others have said, don't be put off by the outside of Maribelle Hotel. We found our large, clean bedroom and bath to be very comfortable, the best sleep we'd had in a while. The staff was helpful and their English was better than my Russian. Breakfast was the usual cold cuts, granola, bread, tea, cucumbers, fruit, etc.--filling and a good start to the day--and other guests really enjoyed the espresso machine. The breakfast room can become quite crowded at certain times.

Our room was on the first floor and did not appear to have air-conditioning. Only one of the two windows (new windows, by the way) had screens, so I don't know what the heat of summer would be like with the mosquitoes. At the end of May/first of June, we were comfortable and the area was reasonably quiet. Having free WiFi in our room was great.

The hotel is just a couple of blocks from Kazanskaya Cathedral, Nevsky Prospekt and the Metro, really an excellent location. You're close to Church of Our Savior on Spilled Blood and Gostiny Dvor shopping mall, just to give you an idea.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JustATravelerWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Troptraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Very good surprise. Don't be afraid of the external look (from the street). Push the doors and you will be nicely welcomed in a tiny corridor. The bedrooms are the best places in the building.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Francois H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

The Maribelle mini-hotel is extremely well located! The rooms are clean, large and well equipped (including WiFi). The buffet breakfast is good. Communication with staff is somewhat difficult. You can find nice coffeehouses/restaurants nearby where they have menus in English and service is excellent. Staying at Maribelle is a surprising but interesting experience: The hotel occupies 3 floors within a 'communist' building. This street door is of steel (notice the bullet holes in the glass above the door!), the entrance hall and the elevator date from the 1950's, the staircase is in dire need of repairs, the neighbors' apartments look original 1950. But once inside the hotel zone, everything is fine. We would return any time!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Bertrand48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

A perfect small hotel in the centre of St. Petersburg with very good service.
The cost-benefit ratio is also very good for this place. The rooms in the 5th floor are very big with a nice bathroom and air conditioning system and was very good prepared. So I enjoyed the time in this hotel and will be back very soon.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank torsten186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
ReMarka Hotel on Stolyarny
#115 of 359 in St. Petersburg
137 reviews
Nevskiy
Roses Hotel
Roses Hotel
#71 of 359 in St. Petersburg
323 reviews
Hotel Nouvelle Europe
#164 of 359 in St. Petersburg
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Galakt Hotel
#150 of 359 in St. Petersburg
84 reviews
Nevskiy
Club Hotel Agni
Club Hotel Agni
#96 of 359 in St. Petersburg
213 reviews
Station Hotel Z12
#53 of 359 in St. Petersburg
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maribelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maribelle

Address: Kazanskaya St., 12, St. Petersburg 191186, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Nevskiy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #194 of 974 B&Bs / Inns in St. Petersburg
Price Range: £26 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Maribelle 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maribelle Hostel is located in the Tsentralny neighborhood in Saint Petersburg, half a kilometer from Palace Square and 1 km from Hermitage Museum. All rooms are equipped with a shared bathroom. There is a 24-hour front desk at the property. Tsentralny is a great choice for travelers interested in city walks, ambiance and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maribelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing