We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value little place”
Review of Green Apple Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Green Apple Hotel
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good value little place”
Reviewed 11 October 2012

My partner and I stayed in a triple room (it was all they had available) for 5 nights in September. The room was small and quite narrow, but it was fine for us. The good things were the little common area where you could sit and have free teas of coffees and cookies; the location was good – it was possible to walk to quite a few of the sights, and if not the metro was only 10 mins walk away. When we arrived the guy at reception (Dmitri) spoke enough English to check us in, and helped us where he could. As we both had zero Russian, we thought this was really good.

The not so great things were that the room smelt quite musty, and the hot water was a little sporadic – my partner always got hot water, but I only managed about 50 per cent of the time. However, for the price, I thought it was a good place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeahAndTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    24
    18
    5
    4
See reviews for
15
19
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Russıans doesn't know yet how to manage mass tourism, after long decades of Communism, service sector walks their beginning steps now. Tour and sightseeing prices are huge ! So as hotel prices. It seems, earning the money as easy as Russian Oligarches is the main target.

Green Apple is a very small hotel located in a fabulous historical building, within 3 minutes walk from Chernishevskaya Subway Station and at an excellent value for money for today's Russia !

In such a country where multilingual staff are very rare, you can not expect them in an hotel of 12-13 rooms. Or else, you will accept to pay triple for a big chain. Hotel staff were extremely polite and cooperative. they try their best to serve you the breakfast in a very compact place. But more than that, the General Manager George Mikhailidi (he is probably the owner),fluent in English, is always everready to solve any issue, just in case.

With their friendly staff and at such a value for money, this hotel would be a good choice for 3-4 days St.Petrsburg visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Turkishfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coombs
Level Contributor
205 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

The room we had on the secon floor was tiny. Two twin beds and then a ladder up to a third that we didnt need. THank goodness there was a huge windowsill to put our luggage on. The bathroom was good and there was wifi.
The breakfast was the worse that we had, but not to our taste. Boiled wieners and canned peas, white bread and instant oatmeal.
It was clean though. We were facing an alley and the noise was bad from trucks unloading early in the morning. Bring earplugs.
The staff was very nice but did not speak English so could not help with questions.

The location was okay. It was a ways from the metro but we walked to the corner and caught the local bus to Nevsky Prospect which was easy and then transferred to the Hermatige etc.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelling55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Despite an English webiste, we arrived to find that not only did the desk personnel not speak English, but did not have a map in the Roman alphabet. English speakers who fared well at the hotel all seemed to have been accompanied by guides for their entire trip.
We prevailed, despite their reisistance to contact the one employee who did speak English who was in Finland for the weekend or we would have had no pertinent information.
We were discouraged from taking the Metro which is a very effective way to travel in a city where the traffic is legendary, and as it is the deepest in the world, is certainly worth a go.
No one knew whether or not the bridges would be closed on the Sunday when we needed to return to our boat and so we went much earlier than we otherwise would have. As well, because there was no one to impart information, we missed some celebrtaions which would have been enjoyable to have witnessed on Saturday night.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThrutheSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. Petersburg hotels

Leiden, Zuid-Holland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Really enjoyed our stay at the Green Apple Hotel. Comfortable rooms, nice, English speaking staff, and centrally located, Nevsky prospekt and Hermitage within walking distance!

The rooms were clean and nice. The breakfast was good; bread, boiled eggs, sausages, jam and cheesespread.

When our tickets for the ballet got lost (the theatre sent them to the wrong hotel), the staff went out of their way to get us the tickets in time. They also helped us out with the taxi, to make sure we didn't pay too much.

I certainly didn't expect the hotel to be this good, since we got the room insanely cheap. If ever I get the chance to visit this beautiful Russian city again, there is no question that I will book a room at this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stedentripsvansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

My Mom walks with cane but is otherwise quite mobile and energetic. We arrived in St. Petersburg via the St. Peter's cruise line out of Helsinki and took their free shuttle bus into the city center. That's when we made our first mistake and paid way to much for what should have been a 10 to 15 minute taxi ride to the Green Aple hotel. Later in our stay there, when the hotel manager called a taxi for us, he made sure the taxi driver and we both understood what a fair fare should be - something we were grateful for. So our experince with the staff was positive. The rooms are modest but clean and more than adequate for the budget traveller. The breakfast was also modest but again, good enough for us. I recommend the Green Apple for those budget travellers who want to stay within a long walk or ten minute taxi ride from the Hermitage.

Room Tip: Ask the hotel to provide dirextions and estimated taxi fees
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bhuddles09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Demetra Art Hotel
#50 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Arbat Nord Hotel
#98 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Liteyny
Art-Hotel Mokhovaya
Art-Hotel Mokhovaya
#108 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Russ Hotel
#252 of 335 in St. Petersburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Liteyny
Radisson Sonya Hotel
Radisson Sonya Hotel
#57 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Austrian Yard -Hotel
#163 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Apple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Apple Hotel

Property: Green Apple Hotel
Address: Liteyny Ave., 24 | Entrance from Korolenko St., 14, St. Petersburg 191028, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #471 of 1,575 Speciality Lodging in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Apple Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Green Apple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing