We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip”

W St. Petersburg restaurant
Ranked #1,342 of 10,953 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Admiralteisky
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Nice spot on the rooftop for view and decor. You can see beautiful landmarks right from your table and all seats are window seats.

Drink menu is extensive and the service was great, very attentive, however we were 2 of 4 guests on a snowy night. I will say the service, even though there were so few guests, is reminiscent of amazing service in the US. The staff was all smiles, fast with the drinks, and popped out of nowhere when we were finished offering refills.

Price was moderate but you are at the W Hotel. I would go back

Thank Denneyorama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 44 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2013

Ducasse is well known for his Michelin starred restaurants around the world. We had the "discovery menu" and reckon it was a "one hat meal" with minor criticisms. The courses were large and one course of salmon was overcooked. The sommelier wasn't prepared to match wines and suggested the easy way out with a bottle of burgundy. We wondered if the might be a regional approach to food and wine, given the price of imported wine in Russia. The wine list is expensive! We were surprised that the restaurant was only a third full even though it was mid week.

Having said all this, we had a good night and really enjoyed Ducasse's food in Russia.

Thank francophilestwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W_St_Petersburg, Manager at W St. Petersburg restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Dear francophilestwo,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are so proud of having you as a guest who highly appreciates Alain Ducasse’s food art. I am sorry to hear the wine offer was not up to your expectations, I hope that the wine paring was complementing the Discovery menu itself.

Looking forward to see you again,

Lyubov Bogdanova
Assistant Manager, miX in St. Petersburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

Everything is perfect. Start with soup and tell them you wanna try everything in the menu. There is also a tasting menu which brings you starters, soup, main course and a desert.

1  Thank kamil_istanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W_St_Petersburg, General Manager at W St. Petersburg restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

Dear Kamil_istanbul!
First of all we would like to thank you for the feedback!
And inform you that soon you can see new items on menu of our restaurant. We are waiting your visit to try more and new!
Best Regards,
Peter Katusak-Huzsvar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

I had lunch here in October and for me, it slightly missed the mark. The food was nice and good value but the restaurant did not deliver much imagination, edge, grandeur or glamour you may imagine. All in all, it was a nice lunch in a slightly stiff restaurant with a table facing onto the street. There were some complications with the booking and the service in dealing with this was a little disappointing and would put me off staying at the hotel. I completed feedback at the time and note that this was never acknowledged. Perhaps for dinner, it is completely different but personally I expected more.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank andrew_2587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W_St_Petersburg, General Manager at W St. Petersburg restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

Dear andrew_2587!
Thank you for staying with us and thank you very much for your feedback!
We would like to do our best to improve it and your comments would help us a lot for further development.
We look forward to seeing you soon for dinner or some other special events in miX in St Petersburg to change your vision!
Best Regards,
Peter Katusak-Huzsvar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

I think in summary we choose the wrong restaurant. There were 10 of us looking a fun night out with great food and drink. We are prepared to pay for great food, so that wasn't an issue, but the restaurant was too formal for us. Service was too slow for a group (particuarly the wine service) and we ate better on the 2 other nights @ Telpo and Meat Feast. The Manager did apologise and gave us all free puddings, but it was all a bit late.
It just felt part of a very chic hotel - not different enough.
So don't be put off if you are in a couple or small group, but if not go elsewhwere

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W_St_Petersburg, Manager at W St. Petersburg restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Dear Nicola W,

We are very pleased you have had a chance to taste some traditional Russian food, and a discovery of gelid St. Petersburg went with joy.
It is very disappointing to hear that we could not successfully anticipate your needs at that moment. We are looking forward to welcoming you back, and sincerely hope you would reevaluate your experience at the miX if a more private, fine-dining ambience of a gourmet restaurant is desired.

Best regards,

Lyubov Bogdanova
Assistant Manager, miX in St. Petersburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed W St. Petersburg restaurant also viewed

St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 

Been to W St. Petersburg restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing