We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected more”

W St. Petersburg restaurant
Ranked #1,024 of 10,445 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Admiralteisky
Minot, North Dakota, United States
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Expected more”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

For the prices in this restaurant, we expected more. We stayed a week and enjoyed many great meals at various free-standing restaurants and hotel restaurants that we preferred over miX. Menu fairly limited. Their breakfast buffet was good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    35
    25
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Great bar services”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

This place is nice thou cold at night they offer heaters and blankets but after some great drinks so forget hoe cold it is the food is great best place I went to that remember me of LA they don't take American money so take your debt card or rubles ill price but expect tourist dress business casuals locals go all out well dress so no t shirts dark jeans ok dress shoes but I will recommend you try it

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Javier G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food, lack of character”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We booked miX for a treat whilst visiting the city. The restaurant itself is well located in the centre of the Historic District near to the State Hermitage and St. Isaacs and opposite the new Four Seasons hotel (where we were staying, so very convenient). miX is located in the foyer of the W Hotel and, as such, couldn't be called exactly characterful - especially in such a stunning city.

Although we had a bit of a mix up (no pun intended) on the dates, the manager managed to find us a table at the front part of the restaurant overlooking the road and hotel - not a great view - but a good sized table with comfortable chairs.

We all ordered the Discovery Menu - 6 courses with a couple of bottles of wine recommended by the sommelier and a good choice. The food, as you would expect, was beautiful to look at and taste. Each course was delicious - the standout was the Rabbit cookpot which was amazing and seems to be one of the few courses that seems to still be on the discovery menu as the others seem to change regularly. The total cost is pretty much in line with what you would expect - around £150 GBP / $250 USD per person for the tasting menu, 2 bottles of wine and a round of cocktails.

My only wish is that the restaurant had some character, You could be sitting in any restaurant anywhere in the world - it's a real shame given the amazing architecture and history of the city it is in.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb hospitality and cuisine at "miX" St. Petersburg”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Visited St. Petersburg, Russia to celebrate my girlfriend's 30th birthday.

Booked this Michelin Award rated restaurant in advance - lived up to my expectations and beyond!
Leading up to meal, the staff at the restaurant - headed up by maitre d' Gladilin Andrey - were communicative and friendly. I asked if they would be willing to offer any complimentary gifts for my girlfriend to make the meal that little bit more special - they exceeded my expectations.

On our arrival, we were greeted with 2 free glasses of champagne and the standard amuse bouche treats. Obviously the menu will change over time, but the highlight of the meal for me was the fillet mignon, and first my girlfriend her starter, which was an amazing fusion of tomato dishes which she still raves about to this day!

After our main course, the entire staff of the restaurant (including the head chef!) sang Happy Birthday to my girlfriend, and presented her with a card, chocolate cheesecake with "Happy Birthday" written on it, and a tour guide book "Top 10 St. Petersburg", which became our travel bible!

At all times, the staff were professional, friendly and unobtrusive. The meal itself was fantastic, (what you'd expect from a Michelin Award winning chef outlet), the ambiance engaging but not over-top-top, and the final bill for 2 people enjoying a 3 course meal with wine was approx. £150.
*** HIGHLY RECOMMEND.***

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W_St_Petersburg, Manager at W St. Petersburg restaurant, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear PaulF1983,
Thank you very much for your detailed review. I am very happy to hear you have enjoyed your dining experience in miX in St. Petersburg by Alain Ducasse and that our team has gone over the top and created a special moment for the celebration of your girlfriend’s birthday.
We hope to see you again and thank you for recommending us!

Best regards,
Selim Olmez
Director of Marketing
W St. Petersburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food and Service”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The staff was really nice and friendly, we all felt really comfortable and welcomed at the restaurant. The food was fantastic for everyone, no body had any complaints.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W_St_Petersburg, Manager at W St. Petersburg restaurant, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Jaime M,
Thank you for your feedback. I am very glad that you have enjoyed not only signature Alain Ducasse’s cuisine, but also a friendly atmosphere created by our team.
We hope to see you again.

Best regards,
Selim Olmez
Director of Marketing
W St. Petersburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed W St. Petersburg restaurant also viewed

St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 

Been to W St. Petersburg restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing