We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Staff; Nice, Newer Hotel; Depressing Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Ligovsky
Ranked #13 of 357 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2012

I can't say enough about the staff at this hotel. They get 5 stars. They made this hotel a memorable and enjoyable experience. (The hotel itself gets 3 to 3.5 stars, so I factored in the people who work here and gave it 4 stars overall). They were the most conscientious people I've ever encountered when traveling. From the front desk check-in women to the female concierge... everyone was extremely (!) nice, friendly and stunningly efficient. (I’m sure the guys were good, too… we just never encountered them). It was a pleasure to see them everyday. They were great. The price was good. The location isn’t.
The Crowne Plaza is situated on a 10 lane “street” -- more like highway -- with a pedestrian barrier across it, two blocks south of the Moscow Train Station. We picked the hotel due to its proximity to the station, as we took the Sapsan high-speed train here from Moscow. Yes, it is technically across the “street” from the station and it was nice to be able to walk to our hotel after the 4 hour train ride, but it still takes you about 10-15 minutes to get here. (Incidentally, the Sapsan is the best way to travel between Russian’s two main cities --- a brand new, very comfortable train --- but the ride itself isn’t particularly scenic).
The immediate neighborhood isn’t charming at all. And parts of Saint Petersburg obviously are. We thought we could get on the metro and zip right into the center of the old town. Alas, the city’s metro system isn’t designed for tourists... it’s meant to get commuters to and from work. There are no stops near the Hermitage or this hotel. There is a metro station that looks quite close to the hotel on a map, but it’s a long, crummy walk past some funky shops and "restaurants" to get there via a crowded, relatively dirty sidewalk (most of the city is very clean). Not a pleasant stroll when you leave in the morning or when you return to the hotel in the evening.
Since Russia's taxis aren't trustworthy, we were forced to walk and walk and walk in this sprawling city and were exhausted by the end of each day. I would opt for a hotel closer to the historic center of town if I were to visit again -- which I’m not sure we will -- though Saint Petersburg is definitely worth seeing once. A hotel shuttle service would be a great idea.
The hotel itself is in an older building that was nicely redone in the last 5 or so years (along with the adjacent all-glass office building). We stayed on the top floor (9th?) facing west… so we had the best view the hotel has to offer. We could see over the charming rooftops a few miles to the far-off domes and spires of St. Petersburg’s churches and palaces. It was really nice and we appreciated the upgrade. The lobby is small and not the kind of place you’d want to hang out in… we didn’t have the time or inclination to check out the hotel restaurant or fitness center.
Our room was small but stylish (although it has way too many switches for things like hidden lights and blackout curtains). Unfortunately, the bed was HARD. Really hard. We had to put the comforter and blankets under the sheets to add a little cushion to the mattress. The carpet in the room and the hallways is light colored and needed a good cleaning. Our A/C couldn’t keep up with the mild late summer temps (low 70s), so we kept the (large) window open a lot. We also used outside air to mask the very faint stench of sewage that occasionally came up through the toilet and shower drain. (We kept the lid down and the bathroom door closed, which helped, too).
We never ate at the hotel, but adjacent to the train station is a newish 4-story mall, where we had breakfast at Costa’s every morning when it opened at 10 am. There is a modern Stockman’s Department Store (a Finnish chain) a few blocks away with a great food floor (more like a high-end supermarket). We bought groceries there and made our own sandwiches every day (it’s hard to get a good – or, for that matter, any -- sandwich in Russia).
Though the neighborhood around the hotel has no good dining options, there are a few, new, very good restaurants near the Hermitage. Our favorite was Barbaresco… owned by a local company that is called Global Point Family (check out their website). Good Italian cuisine, beautiful décor, an outdoor dining area, a friendly staff, and reasonable (for Russia) prices.
Overall, as visitors, we much preferred Moscow to Saint Petersburg, no matter how grand a faded beauty it is. The city is full of tour groups... the Crowne Plaza was no exception. There were some low-rent, loud and crass Brits staying when we were guests. In fact, we saw them at the Hermitage… which is pretty dilapidated on the inside and full of other similar groups. The groups took over the Impressionist wing, making it impossible to see the great works (which are displayed horribly, by the way). The rest of the museum, however, was virtually deserted.
Definitely take a canal boat tour and the hop-on, hop-off bus when you're visiting... the concierge can tell you where to pick them up. We took a boat tour narrated live in Russian (though at first, they didn't want to sell us, obviously English-speakers, the tickets). It was great not to have to pay attention to a tour guide blathering on and on about pointless details and just be able to enjoy the beautiful architecture and vistas of Saint Petersburg.
I totally understand why the Crowne Plaza ranks so high on Trip Advisor (which is the reason we chose it) –- it’s a good value and has nice rooms -- but this hotel wasn’t a great choice for us. It’s simply way too inconvenient to everything there is to see in Saint Petersburg and is set in a very uncharismatic neighborhood. It was the staff (and the staff alone) that made us not regret choosing this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a high floor facing west.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia S, Manager at Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Ligovsky, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comment about our hotel on Trip Advisor.
Highly appreciate ideas that you share with us
Your opinion is very important for us.
We are glad that you enjoy your staying with us.
Looking forward to welcome you in our hotel in your neat visit in St.Petersburg
Regards
Julia Sokolova
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (905)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Ligovsky
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

293 - 299 of 905 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2012

I was pleasantly surprised! Hotel service friendly and efficient... Rooms beautifully fitted out with comfortable mattress and pillows.. Good shower.. Bar far too smokey but like most hotels in Russia... ! Nice breakfast.
The gym is better than average but geared to weight lifters. No Swiss balls or mats which are cheap additions.. But spotless...

Room Tip: The room blind is on an unmarked switch by the bed.. First night I attempted sleep in UV light from...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen187046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia S, Manager at Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Ligovsky, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comment about our hotel on Trip Advisor.
Your opinion is very important for us.
We are glad that you enjoy your staying with us.
Looking forward to welcome you in our hotel in your neat visit in St.Petersburg
Regards
Julia Sokolova
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Top quality hotel. Property and guest rooms are stylish, well-maintained, fresh, and modern. Hotel was quiet in re street noise ( we were right on the Ligovsky Prospekt side) as well as insulated from internal noise. We did have a lightning strike that caused evacuation from the hotel at midnight in a big rainstorm and the personnel were not efficient in telling we evacuees that is was OK to re-enter. But all the personnel were super friendly, totally conversant in English, and helpful in all respects. We stayed there 9 days and were completely happy that we chose this property! It was but a short walk to Nevsky Prospect as well as to the Moscow Vokzal (train station to Moscow). There was a wonderful mall right across the street (The Galeria) with a great ( and reasonable) Ukrainian (??) restaurant on the 4th level. Its name was Pepmemmaya Douzhema (probably an incorrect transliteration from the Cyrillic). Metro stop Mayaskosky was close by on Nevsky but the #24 bus on Nevsky took us down to the center of town in no time without the long escalator rides to get down to the Metro loading platform. Highly recommend this hotel and if going back would stay there again! Our room 613 was great.

Room Tip: Our room 613 was great.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CSU_prof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia S, Manager at Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Ligovsky, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to leave comment about our hotel on Trip Advisor.
We are glad that you enjoy your staying with us.
Your opinion is very important for us and we will pay high attention on handling emergency situations. Please accept our sincere apology for inconvenience.

Looking forward to welcome you in our hotel in your neat visit in St.Petersburg

Regards

Julia Sokolova
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights for our tour in St Petersburg.

Very convenient, with a big shopping mall opposite, many restuarants nearby, a money changer just round the corner, near the train station.

Room is very clean and modern, bed is very comfortable and toilet is clean.

Breakfast is good with a good variety of western style food. A pity that they do not have the Japanese rice though miso soup is served.

Hotel staff is very helpful. Oh ya, the hotel comes with free wi-fi!!!! and we have to obtain a new userid and password from the counter everyday.

Overall, I enjoyed the stay very much.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank esta8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia S, Manager at Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Ligovsky, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comment about our hotel on Trip Advisor.
We are glad that you enjoy your staying with us.

Looking forward to welcome you in our hotel in your neat visit in St.Petersburg

Regards

Julia Sokolova
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012 via mobile

Modern and clean. Comfortable bed, not so comfortable pillows. Good buffet breakfast, but its quality seems to vary from day to day. Located conveniently close to the metro, shopping malls and restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannu H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia S, Manager at Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Ligovsky, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Dear Mr. Hannu H,
Thank you for your comment about our hotel on Trip Advisor.
We are glad that you enjoy your staying with us.

Looking forward to welcome you in our hotel in your neat visit in St.Petersburg

Regards

Julia Sokolova
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Crowne Plaza at Ligovsky prospekt is really an excellent hotel. It is centrally situated, nereby Nevski prospekt. Rooms are very elegant and stylish, spacious and clean, the one I will certainly remember. Bathroom is luxorious and clean. Hotel stuff is kind and helpful, but for my opinion should be more descret when controlling own employees. Breakfast is served in cozy ambiance, some meals are prepared at a site. I liked a kind of small thick pancakes - delicious! For those who have time and will for shopping – there is an excellent and big shopping mall just across the street. This hotel I would recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikica_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia S, Manager at Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Ligovsky, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comment about our hotel on Trip Advisor.
Your opinion is very important for us and we will take in consideration your comments
We are glad that you enjoy your staying with us.

Looking forward to welcome you in our hotel in your neat visit in St.Petersburg

Regards

Julia Sokolova
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Even though we used reward points to pay for our stay at this expensive hotel they put us in a quiet, spacious, beautifully decorated room with a seating area, workdesks, good wardrobes, a safe, two comfortable beds with quality linen, towels and bathrobes. The bathroom was luxurious, with a walk-in shower, a modern free-standing bathtub and a smart shallow basin. They gave us a welcome gift, wine, chokolades and bottles of still and sparkling water every day. There were coffee and tea-making facilities and cookies. The location is good, it is about half an hour walk from the hotel along the lively Nevsky Prospect to the Neva and the Hermitage Museum and many of the must-sees are along the way. The metro station Ploschad Vosstaniya is less than 5-minute walk away. The Moscow train station and the big shopping mall, Galleria, are across the street. There are restaurants and coffee shops in almost every building in the area. The staff spoke good english and they were willing to make bookings for events and assist in every way.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen-ss-64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia S, Manager at Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Ligovsky, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comment about our hotel on Trip Advisor.
We highly appreciate you loyalty to Priority Club Rewards Program.
We are glad that you enjoy your staying with us.

Looking forward to welcome you in our hotel in your neat visit in St.Petersburg

Regards

Julia Sokolova
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Liteyny
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tchaikovskogo
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tc...
#4 of 357 in St. Petersburg
766 reviews
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 357 in St. Petersburg
1,612 reviews
Nevsky Forum Hotel
#16 of 357 in St. Petersburg
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
Akyan St.Petersburg
Akyan St.Petersburg
#11 of 357 in St. Petersburg
546 reviews
Vladimir
Helvetia Deluxe Hotel
Helvetia Deluxe Hotel
#5 of 357 in St. Petersburg
755 reviews
Nevskiy
Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA
Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA
#25 of 357 in St. Petersburg
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Ligovsky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Ligovsky

Address: Ligovsky Prospect, 61, St. Petersburg 191040, Russia
Phone Number:
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Vladimir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#12 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#23 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#27 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: £67 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Ligovsky 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Ligovsky is located in the spectacular environment of business area of St. Petersburg just a stone's throw from the main street Nevsky Prospect and Moskovsky railway station. The hotel is rather close to Anichkov Palace, State Russian Museum, Hermitage, Kazan Cathedral and Mariinsky Theater. The nearby points of interest also include Church of the Savior on the Blood, Summer Garden and St. Isaac's Cathedral. And the popular shopping mall is located across the street, where you may buy needed goods, have dinner or go to beauty salon. Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg-Ligovsky will set your mood for this great city. After a long business trip, it's the best way to relax in our Lobby Bar with fresh drinks and starters from Chef, taste delicate Mediterranean Cuisine in the restaurant Olivetto and enjoy the walk along famous Nevsky Prospect, contemporary experiencing the world famous White Nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Ligovsky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg-Ligovsky Hotel St. Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing