We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend this lovely little place. I had room 4.”
Review of Grand Mark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Mark Hotel
Ranked #74 of 336 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
162 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 539 helpful votes
“Would recommend this lovely little place. I had room 4.”
Reviewed 2 May 2013

The airport transfer arranged by the hotel went perfectly. The hotel reception is up the stairs so don't get distracted by Nevsky's "Reception" sign as you enter the front doors. When you get to the Grand Mark's door, ring the doorbell (button with a little bell") and you will be blown away when you open the door to the new and bright entrance.
Staff was the best! Room was just fine - everything I needed and clean. Order breakfast once (I chose to have it brought to my room) and you don't have to order again for the rest of your stay. (unless you want something different.) Loved having it delivered to my room each morning. Lots of hooks for hanging things in the bathroom. (Bring a drain plug if you wash things in the sink.) Adequate closet, frig for chilling your vodka.(The liquor store is right next door to the rear entrance gate and beer can be bought next door to the front entrance.) Great shower pressure and lots of hot water. Good location. Within a quick walk upon arrival, I got to photograph St. Isaac's, the Horseman statue, the river Neva and some other surrounding buildings. Down the street, straight and through the Admiralty park and you're at the Hermitage. I left maintenance requests as I went out for the day (my fault,) and when I got back problems were taken care of. Entrance from two streets is a plus. (Make sure you get address for back facing street, should you choose that way upon return. See my photos for pic of that entrance.) Rear entrance can only be accessed with key card. I would come back to the Grand Mark. A very nice intimate mini-hotel. If you found my review helpful, please click on "yes." Thanks.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank kitchenchemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    71
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
21
89
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Just returned from a short break to st p this hotel is excellent for the money it costs, the girls could not be more helpful if they tried the rooms are small,but extremely clean,the shower is agood size and also spotless, the breakfast is basic but is ample to last you until lunch. The only problem at the moment is the building site next door ,noisy at times but not overmuch easy to walk to all the main sites (Nevsky,Hermitage etc) would reccomend to anyone. Thank you Lady's for a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

The hotel occupies one floor of a building. The courtyard and the stairs do remind the Soviet period, but once inside the hotel itself, everything is fine. The standard rooms are small but fully equipped. The staff is very nice and efficient. An important advantage is the location. In the center, but in a quiet street. I will definitely stay here again on a return visit book

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrLTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
354 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

Grand Mark is an 11 room, not easy to find, compact hotel, with no facilities other than the room, and two tables in reception where breakfast can be served (your room is the other).
Conversely, the room was clean, the shower superb, and you are close to all main historical sites, the river, and the new Admiralteiskaya Metro station.
We paid £61 per night here, in this expensive city, we thought it was great value for our needs. Enough restaurants, cares and bars within 5 minutes walk, but in a quiet street with no noise at all.
Just double check the hotel name and address - this was the one on Galernaya st. 12 , very near to St Isaacs Cathedral and the Peter the Great statue in Novemberist Square .... As we both thought we had read details of a larger hotel with very similar name elsewhere in St Pete.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AndyLFC_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Pros: nice and clean hotel, close to the Neva river, the Hermitage and to a bus stop. Helpful staff. You can choose what do you want for breakfast and have it in your room. They offer free wifi connection. Cons: There's no metro station nearby.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kleiton C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

On a positive note this hotel was always very welcoming, friendly and willing to help plan and sort out my time in St Petersburg (without their assistance, I never would have found the public bus to Catherine Palace). A big plus is that they even did my washing for free! For this I can't thank them enough, as this sort of thing can be very costly in Europe. The hotel was also very well priced, I really didn't pay a lot of money to stay here, so it's a good option if you're on a budget. The location is also very good, whilst it's off the main street, St Isaac's Cathedral is literally at your front door. There are two things I guess I probably didn't like, but it's really my own fault for not doing my homework. Firstly, this is a mini-hotel (a collection of old apartments turned into a hotel) so you do not have all the facilities of a normal hotel and no common areas to sit down in etc. Secondly, whilst the tariff was very fair I felt the rooms could be spruced up a little, the double bed was basically two single beds pushed together and the bed spreads had clearly seen better days (old and a little worn). Overall I think this is a good choice if you're on a budget or are planning a short stay of just a few days.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AllanCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2012 via mobile

Spacious, clean, comfortable. Polite staff. Situated almost in the city centre - walking distance from major sights. Breakfast could serve a bit more food, but you can get in your room! Nice! Good value for money!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Branka M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Admiralteisky
Deluxe Hotel
Deluxe Hotel
#125 of 336 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Admiralteisky
Happy Pushkin Boutique Hotel
Happy Pushkin Boutique Hotel
#110 of 336 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Admiralteisky
Nevsky Breeze Hotel
Nevsky Breeze Hotel
#117 of 336 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralteisky
Comfort Hotel
Comfort Hotel
#12 of 336 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Nevskiy
Hotel Anabel on Nevsky 88
Hotel Anabel on Nevsky 88
#55 of 336 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Nevskiy
Hotel Grifon
Hotel Grifon
#82 of 336 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mark Hotel

Property: Grand Mark Hotel
Address: Galernaya St., 12, St. Petersburg 190000, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Admiralteisky
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 336 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Mark Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Grand Mark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing