We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Bargain: Great Location, Great Staff for small, local hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Mark Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Grand Mark Hotel
Ranked #74 of 331 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Bargain: Great Location, Great Staff for small, local hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed at this hotel for our 5 days in St Petersburg and it was one of the better choices we made on our trip. It is a great bargain with a central location, especially considering the price. It looks like a converted apartment and we had a "junior suite" with quite a bit of room, but I can't speak to the standard rooms. The women running the counter are great: very friendly, extremely accommodating, and most speak better English than we spoke Russian. If I could give more than a "5" on service, I would. Complimentary breakfasts are simple but filling and delivered to your room. There are also a lot of nice little touches like complimentary toiletries, water, wifi, etc and reasonable prices to arrange for a transfer from the train station. They were even kind enough to let us do some laundry in the evening hours while there (small washing machine and no dryer but that's still an unexpected bonus). The reviews for this hotel were excellent and we were even happier with it than expected. If we are able to visit St Petersburg again, we will definitely return! One tip: go upstairs to the second floor to check in as another hotel is on the ground floor.

Room Tip: The junior suite has more than enough room, especially for a European hotel. Don't really know...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sterlingice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    70
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
21
87
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

Good, value for money, very small (8 rooms?) and very basic hotel. Clean and good shower and amenities like comb, toothbrush, slippers and robe kindly provided and included in price. This was a nice touch and appreciated.

Lisa and Ksenia work on reception and were very helpful, thank you. Wi-fi works fine in room and is included in price as was breakfast, brought to the room at a time you request in advance, If I need to make a mention, there is a small sink in bathroom which wasn't really big enough to hold my toiletries bag, and a little bathroom shelf would help. When I asked where was good to eat, Reception mentioned a Very nice steak and stroganoff restaurant nearby which is a bit expensive but I recommend and reviewed.

The Grand Mark Hotel in St Petersburg (which I booked via booking.com) should not be confused with a hotel of the same name in Turkey who I accidentally emailed by mistake to confirm my booking and was told I had no booking! Despite sending them my booking confirmation clearly stating Grand Mark Hotel, St Petersburg, they never bothered to tell me theirs was the hotel with same name in Turkey, and they had no address on their email, so how was I to know!? grrr. Reception in SPb told me this happens sometimes!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
162 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 536 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

The airport transfer arranged by the hotel went perfectly. The hotel reception is up the stairs so don't get distracted by Nevsky's "Reception" sign as you enter the front doors. When you get to the Grand Mark's door, ring the doorbell (button with a little bell") and you will be blown away when you open the door to the new and bright entrance.
Staff was the best! Room was just fine - everything I needed and clean. Order breakfast once (I chose to have it brought to my room) and you don't have to order again for the rest of your stay. (unless you want something different.) Loved having it delivered to my room each morning. Lots of hooks for hanging things in the bathroom. (Bring a drain plug if you wash things in the sink.) Adequate closet, frig for chilling your vodka.(The liquor store is right next door to the rear entrance gate and beer can be bought next door to the front entrance.) Great shower pressure and lots of hot water. Good location. Within a quick walk upon arrival, I got to photograph St. Isaac's, the Horseman statue, the river Neva and some other surrounding buildings. Down the street, straight and through the Admiralty park and you're at the Hermitage. I left maintenance requests as I went out for the day (my fault,) and when I got back problems were taken care of. Entrance from two streets is a plus. (Make sure you get address for back facing street, should you choose that way upon return. See my photos for pic of that entrance.) Rear entrance can only be accessed with key card. I would come back to the Grand Mark. A very nice intimate mini-hotel. If you found my review helpful, please click on "yes." Thanks.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank kitchenchemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

Just returned from a short break to st p this hotel is excellent for the money it costs, the girls could not be more helpful if they tried the rooms are small,but extremely clean,the shower is agood size and also spotless, the breakfast is basic but is ample to last you until lunch. The only problem at the moment is the building site next door ,noisy at times but not overmuch easy to walk to all the main sites (Nevsky,Hermitage etc) would reccomend to anyone. Thank you Lady's for a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank terry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

The hotel occupies one floor of a building. The courtyard and the stairs do remind the Soviet period, but once inside the hotel itself, everything is fine. The standard rooms are small but fully equipped. The staff is very nice and efficient. An important advantage is the location. In the center, but in a quiet street. I will definitely stay here again on a return visit book

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrLTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northants
Level Contributor
348 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

Grand Mark is an 11 room, not easy to find, compact hotel, with no facilities other than the room, and two tables in reception where breakfast can be served (your room is the other).
Conversely, the room was clean, the shower superb, and you are close to all main historical sites, the river, and the new Admiralteiskaya Metro station.
We paid £61 per night here, in this expensive city, we thought it was great value for our needs. Enough restaurants, cares and bars within 5 minutes walk, but in a quiet street with no noise at all.
Just double check the hotel name and address - this was the one on Galernaya st. 12 , very near to St Isaacs Cathedral and the Peter the Great statue in Novemberist Square .... As we both thought we had read details of a larger hotel with very similar name elsewhere in St Pete.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AndyLFC_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

Pros: nice and clean hotel, close to the Neva river, the Hermitage and to a bus stop. Helpful staff. You can choose what do you want for breakfast and have it in your room. They offer free wifi connection. Cons: There's no metro station nearby.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kleiton C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Admiralteisky
Deluxe Hotel
Deluxe Hotel
#124 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Admiralteisky
Nevsky Breeze Hotel
Nevsky Breeze Hotel
#116 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Admiralteisky
Happy Pushkin Boutique Hotel
Happy Pushkin Boutique Hotel
#92 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralteisky
Comfort Hotel
Comfort Hotel
#11 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Admiralteisky
Herzen House Hotel
Herzen House Hotel
#77 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Admiralteisky
Prestige Hotel
Prestige Hotel
#147 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mark Hotel

Property: Grand Mark Hotel
Address: Galernaya St., 12, St. Petersburg 190000, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Admiralteisky
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 331 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Mark Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to mini-hotel Grand Mark (Russia, St.Petersburg). The elegant interiors, cosiness, care and hospitality of the personnel create the atmosphere of full comfort necessary for worthy rest of our guests. Visit the hotel Grand Mark and appreciate the individual approach and service offered to our guests! The combination of unique location of the mini-hotel in the historical centre of the city, professionalism of the personnel and comfort of the rooms will make your staying in St. Petersburg pleasant and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Grand Mark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing