We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“grand mark”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Mark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Mark Hotel
Ranked #78 of 334 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“grand mark”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

excellent location, great staff -very helpful and kind, they bring you breakfast to your room if you dont turn up, the room was nice and clean, free coffee, tea and water, towels changed every day (despite the need), maybe little cold-ish but the room had an electric heater that worked quickly and well....well worth the location, value and service !!!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank k4kcz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    71
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
21
88
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edson, Alberta
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Great value for the price paid. This isn't the Four Seasons hotel--so if you are looking for something with a grand entrance and an expensive lobby, keep looking.

The first impression of the building is that you are in a bit of a quiet dark alley. But the reality is you are in the middle of the government building and you feel very comfortable walking to and from the hotel at night. As others have noted, about 10-15 minutes to the metro, and 10 minute walk to the Hermitage. MANY great restaurants within a short walk to the hotel.

Staff were amazing: left a bottle of sparkling wine for my birthday; helped with reservations and logistics. Breakfast was simple and filling. Rooms were comfortable and quiet.

There are other hotels through the same door--so follow the signs to the second floor.

Room Tip: You don't really get to pick the room unless you upgrade to superior rooms--then you will get on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Din_Keye_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Location is certainly the best for leisure traveller. 5mins walk or less to St Issac Cathedral, The Winter Palace and The Hermitage is 5-10mins walk ways. The romantic waterfront is right behind the hotel. Yes the nearest Metro station may be 10-15mins walk away but it is a safe and pleasant walk. There are frequent and convenient bus services right outside the main road. Bus staff may not speak English but is communicate-able.

Ok I do agree that if you approach the hotel from Konnogvardeyskiy the hotel may not look welcoming and in fact daunting (but it is perfectly ok). If you approach from Galernaya, push the glass door and go up a flight of stair, you will get to the hotel easily.

The interior of the hotel is brightly lid and with modern decco. I believe it only has 8 rooms (not sure). Receptionist very friendly to explain check in, payment, provide free map, and answer any travel related questions.

Room is not huge but perfectly adequate for 2 occupants. Bathroom has all one required, even toothbrush, shaver, comb, bathrobe. There are tea/coffee making facility in room, so as a fridge and a safety box. Slippers were provided too. There is a TV, no English channel.

Outside the 'lobby' there is unlimited access to drinking water. Umbrella was provided for customers too.

Breakfast is rather simple I have to say, but adequate. You get a list to choose - tea/coffee, milk, fruit juices, toast, cheese, ham.

Great value for money, superb location, quite, able to have good night sleep (consider my room was right next to the hotel entrance), helpful staff, unlimited drinking water supplies. What more do you ask for? - a happy customer!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JerryMJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

After reading countless reviews for many hotels in St. Petersburg we chose this one for our September stay and we are so glad we did. The best thing about the Grand Mark Hotel - without question - is their customer service. Seriously, I cannot say enough about how far out of her way Olga went to help us. To sum up the insanity - she communicated with us through an often delayed flight into St. Petersburg until 5 a.m. in the morning, changed our cab multiple times to accommodate the delays then pleasantly greeted us when we arrived. Then, on the way out, she notified us that our plane was cancelled thanks to the G20 and helped us eventually find someone somewhere in the world who could help. If she (and the cab company) hadn't let us know... lord, I don't even want to imagine. Truly, the most amazing customer service EVER. She. Is. Awesome. The other hotel ladies were nice as well but Olga was incredible.

Ok. The second best thing about this hotel is the location. Don't listen to what people say about a grungy courtyard - most everywhere in St. Petersburg other than the luxury hotels seemed like there was some corner somewhere that was a little grungy. This is next to a very sweet little restaurant/bar and is a nice walk to many locations. It's not in the middle of Nevsky Prospekt, which I was worried about, but in the end, I was happy about that because it was much calmer. The distance only ended up being about a 5 to 10 minute extra walk to places. The Grand Mark is also a block away from The Bronze Horseman and two blocks from the river.

The third best thing about it was the room. We had the room nearest the main entry door and it was perfectly fine. It was clean and somewhat small but had a small view of the courtyard and its random cats. The room is very clean and simple but it met our needs. The breakfast is basic (breads, oatmeal, juices and coffee) but is all you need for a day of insane walking. When people throughout the hotel were being loud but it wasn't a constant noise.

The only other thing I would comment on is that since this hotel is near government buildings, there are always police outside so it is a very safe spot. Also - go eat at Crocodile and have the salmon and caviar. It's wonderful.

Room Tip: Wonderful, central, calm location. Eat at Crocodile down the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KazSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

This Hotel is an EXCELLENT choice - location, price and quality.
Best rooms would be #6 (mine), 7 or 8 at the opposite end of the reception. Other rooms in hallway near entrance door. Breakfast was VG. Choose to eat in room or table in reception area. Many attractions super close to location. Very pleasant and English speaking personnel.

Room Tip: #6, 7 or 8 - away from entrance hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GTO-Gerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 9 nights. We found the location of the hotel excellent, within walking distance from Hermitage, St Isaac and Decembrist Square. The nearest metro (Admiralty) was quite a distance away but the trolley bus stops were just a few minutes walk from the back entrance to he hotel. The N5 and N22 go directly to Nevsky Prospekt.

The staff were friendly, helpful and most importantly spoke good Engish.

We were however a little disappointed with the room assigned to us. It was on the ground floor (1st floor in Russia). Room was cleaned daily and the size was not an issue but because it was on the ground floor overlooking the street we could not open the window. We would not want to anyway because of the dust from the street. This meant that we had to keep the window and the shutters down all the time. The room has air-conditioning so that helped somewhat, The room and especially the bathroom had a damp and musty smell. Requested for a room change to the 2nd floor (same floor as the reception) but none was available. So my advice would be to request for a 2nd floor room at the time of booking.

For rooms on the 1st floor, breakfast is served in the dining room of the adjoining hotel. The breakfast is so-so and some days the porridge was very diluted. On two occasions we had to have an early breakfast and we requested for breakfast at the hotel's tiny reception. Now the breakfast there is so much better.

We will still recommend this hotel because of its location but just make sure you request for a 2nd Floor room.

Room Tip: Request for a 2nd Floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MsiaSling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed here for three nights during White Nights festivities. The place is quite cozy, rooms are almost new (and clean) and the location is quite central to access major historical sights and the lively Nevsky Prospekt.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Pozkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Admiralteisky
Deluxe Hotel
Deluxe Hotel
#126 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Admiralteisky
Happy Pushkin Boutique Hotel
Happy Pushkin Boutique Hotel
#100 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Admiralteisky
Nevsky Breeze Hotel
Nevsky Breeze Hotel
#118 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralteisky
Comfort Hotel
Comfort Hotel
#11 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Nevskiy
Hotel Anabel on Nevsky 88
Hotel Anabel on Nevsky 88
#53 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Nevskiy
Hotel Grifon
Hotel Grifon
#77 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mark Hotel

Property: Grand Mark Hotel
Address: Galernaya St., 12, St. Petersburg 190000, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Admiralteisky
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 334 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Mark Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Mark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing