We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unusual even eccentric”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
History on Angliyskaya Embankment
Ranked #332 of 864 St. Petersburg B&B and Inns
Bath, England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Unusual even eccentric”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

My wife and I stayed in this hotel which had been booked by my eldest daughter and as it was the first hotel that we had stayed at in Russia the way it was run may be the norm. I believe that the appartments were once used by foreign doctors engaged by the czars;as such they lack some of the amenities found in a purpose built hotel.
The Reception was manned by a succession of young students some of whom appeared to be on duty for a full twenty four hours. They were both welcoming and pleasant and all spoke some English.
We were allotted a double room at the top of the building,- no lift and on the fourth floor. The room was small but with a modern shower and bathroom which was excellent and quiet until the adjoining room was occupied and one realised how thin the partitions were; one could hear both ends of a telephone conversation. On checking our booking we realised that our daughter had in fact paid for a room with two double beds and we were promoted to a much bigger room on a second floor but with a smaller and rather dingy bathroom attached. The mistake was probably a misunderstanding but we never identified who among the staff was the permanent hotel manager.
Finding breakfast was intially a challenge as it was also on the fourth floor but the only way of reaching it was via the second floor. There was little signage in the building ( even outside the hotel name is in small lettering). This was a large room but at this season there were few guests; it was very much a help yourself exercise and those on duty were inclined to chat together than go out of their way to be helpful.
Rooms were apparently cleaned every other day which came as a surprise.
The convenient location of the hotel more than makes up for these drawbacks being within twenty minutes walking of the historical centre, or five minutes from bus and trolleybus routes.
The temperature was low at this time of year but there was sunshine in plenty and with little wind
it was pleasanter than much of Great Britain in the last few months. St Petersburg in the snow must be the most beautiful city in the world.

Room Tip: Being an old building I would suspect that rooms vary a great deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SergeBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    16
    16
    6
    11
See reviews for
10
17
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013 via mobile

Realy beautiful. Quiet, large rooms with nice bathrooms. Has a beautiful ebtrance with views to the old stables. There is also a large ballroom and dining room. Downside- pretty far from things (near the marinsky theater though). Also a but rough around the edges and the breakfast wasnt great. But quirky... Id stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank Tealismyname
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Villa La Angostura, Argentina
Level Contributor
439 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

I really enjoyed my recent 2 days stay in this hotel. It’s located in the historic center of St. Petersburg, in the very riverside of Neva river, not so far (15 minutes walking) from the main commercial avenue (Nevsky Prospekt) and the famous Hermitage palace. Surroundings are beautiful in the night!

The overall atmosphere is very nice, stylish and comfortable. It’s a remodeled historic building with an impressive glassed-roof atrium (ideal to enjoy a coffee) and astonishing main stairs. My room was clean and well decorated, and I really enjoyed a high quality sleep as well as a great heating service. The front desk staff was extremely nice and helpful, assisting me in all my needs during my stay. The breakfast was good, served in a nicely decorated room (but the only weak aspect, not thinking on myself but in obese or older people) is that this room is located in the fourth floor only accessible by stairs; since no lift is available).

Considering all the aforementioned aspects, fares are really convenient, determining an excellent price-value relation. Therefore, I strongly recommended this nice hotel to tourists who are planning to visit St. Petersburg.

Room Tip: Preferably choose rooms located far from the front street (to avoid traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mariobrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, England.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Great little hotel and it could be so much more. Most of the hotel ios on the fourth floor but no lift and then the breakfast room needs a route map to find it - we trapped dpown to the ground floor and then up another staircase to the fourth floor again...! There actually is a shortcut through the third floor but it is not signposted.

All in all a great little hotel - if only they would understand the concept of customer service.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fujimar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

The hotel is easily accessible by foot from several Metro stations. The location is quiet. The building is old, with some style, spacious warm rooms with lots of air, good beds. Pleasing walk along the embankment in the evening. Unless you are short on time, it does not make much sense to have breakfast at the hotel every day, better to take 10-15 min. walk, enjoy views, and find a place to eat that suits your taste.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sierrabravooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olga H, General Manager at History on Angliyskaya Embankment, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
Dear Sierrabravooo,

I want to thank you for the review. I really appreciate you have chosen our hotel and found time to evaluate our service.

I do hope that your stay in our hotel and your trip to Saint Petersburg was pleasant and successful. We will be glad to see you one more time in our hotel and in the city. We are always ready to provide you our best service. If you have any further questions about the hotel, future stays in Saint-Petersburg or even just about the city I will be glad to assist you any time.

Thank you one more time for your comments about the hotel, that is really important for us.

With kind regards,

Olga Hatkevich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

I staid 3 nights in the hotel at the English embankment.
One of the advantages of the hotel is that it's located on the embankment of the Neva river right next to the bridge connecting the city to the Vasil'evskiy island. Another advantage is that the hotel is in the old mansion and it's nice to see the unusual (for modern people) design of the building.
The breakfast was not bad - porridge, pancakes, vegetables, sausage, cornflakes, some sweets, etc. These are the only advantages of the hotel.
The first night was awful, and I didn't sleep till something like 3 a.m. fighting mosquitos. There are neither nets on the windows, no fumigators in the room. So, I had to buy one to sleep well the next two nights.
Before the trip I made a call to the hotel to specifically ask if there is an iron which I could use any time. The receptionist said yes. When I arrived and asked for an iron, the receptionist said it was brocken and I could ask the cleaning lady to iron my clothes for addtional payment, which was not very pleasant and customer-friendly.
The room I had was meant for 2 people, but there was no cupboard there. Only some hooks near the door.
I didn't notice any cleaning of the room at all. No change of the bedclothes and towels, no arrangement of the bedspread, no cleaning of the shower cabin.
The hotel is not that close to the metro station. In the morning it's ok to walk a bit, but in the evening, after you have been walking the whole day, it's quite tiresome.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olga I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olga H, General Manager at History on Angliyskaya Embankment, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
Dear Olga,

Thank you very much for you hotel evaluation. I really appreciate that you have found time to write this review.

First of all please accept my sincere apology that not everything at the hotel was pleasant during the stay. I can assure you we continually working on improvement of our service and room equipment. We do our best to solve some technical problems as soon as possible. For the new season we are in process of ordering new equipment for our rooms and changing some kind of facilities to make our guests’ stays more comfortable. Also we have already changed our standards and internal procedures regarding room cleaning and quality control.

Olga, one more time I want to apologize for the inconveniences you had during the stay with us and hope to welcome you back one day in the future.

Best regards,
Olga Hatkevich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed at Hotel "History" for 9 nights at end of December 2011 - beginning of January 2012 (for me, the longest stay at the same hotel in all my holidays!) and it really was the best choice. If you want to visit as much as possible of the city's museums and see as many churches and palaces without paying for a 5 stars hotel, then "History" is the place to stay: the Hermitage is 15-20 min to the right (just follow the bank of Neva), the State Museum a bit further away, the Zoological Museum on the other side of the river... You have the churches nearby, you can get to Mariinsky Theatre or Nikolayevsky Palace in less than 15 min... just perfect if you want to enjoy the cultural side of St. Petersburg. Not to mention the restaurants in the area... yumm!
Regarding the accommodation, don't expect something fancy, like porters dressed as Cossacks or caviar at breakfast. It is an old building, so it doesn't have an elevator. It was not transformed into something modern, which in my opinion is really a good thing. Still, we had warm rooms (very important, if you visit Russia in winter), hot water and a good breakfast (a bit repetitive though).
As important as the comfort and maybe more, the people working in the hotel were very helpful and friendly.
And if you happen to be there for the New Year, don't miss the ball - it was the funnest party ever.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Octavian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Hotel Park Lion Bridge
#292 of 334 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Admiralteisky
Happy Pushkin Boutique Hotel
Happy Pushkin Boutique Hotel
#100 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Admiralteisky
Domina St.Petersburg
Domina St.Petersburg
#10 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
Nevsky Hotel Grand
Nevsky Hotel Grand
#69 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Admiralteisky
Grand Mark Hotel
Grand Mark Hotel
#78 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Admiralteisky
Katyusha
Katyusha
#145 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to History on Angliyskaya Embankment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about History on Angliyskaya Embankment

Property: History on Angliyskaya Embankment
Address: Angliyskaya Emb., 46, St. Petersburg 190000, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Admiralteisky
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #332 of 864 B&Bs / Inns in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — History on Angliyskaya Embankment 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
History Hotel Angliyskaya Embankment located in the classic building of the 18th century on one of the most scenic embankments of St.Petersburg. The St. Isaac Cathedral, the Hermitage, the Admiralty and the main street of the city – Nevsky prospect are within 10 minutes from the hotel. All rooms and suites of the hotel are highlighted with their size and décor elements. They are equipped with all necessary for the convenient accommodation: wide comfortable beds, bath amenities, TV’s, hairdryers. Several suites have additional rooms and relaxing facilities. Continental breakfast is included in the rates and covered at the hotel cafe. Public parking place in front of the hotel and sauna are also to our guest’s service. Free Wi-Fi is available all around the hotel. The hotel administrators will assist you in arranging city tours, excursions, taxi or train and airplane tickets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your History on Angliyskaya Embankment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing