We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed in several things”
Review of Apple Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Apple Hostel
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed in several things”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We were a team of student guides and we booked well in advance to get a separate dorm rooms for just our group. I was confirmed several times that we get two 8-bed dorms and a 3-bed dorm to fit us. The staff was quick in replying to my e-mails and everything seemed to be going well, but when we arrived part of our group was placed together with others to a 12-bed dorm. Since we found that out after I had already paid for everyone via credit card and paid the requested 3% extra fee, I can just say – we were quite shocked to have only "there's nothing we can do" for an answer. Since the hostel was quite full, there was no possibility to move and also no attempt to recover this in any way.

Two of the girls were quite nice, but the third one greeted us in the hostel in the middle of the night in her pajamas, half asleep, by a quite aggressive "who are you?" even though we had been said that the reception is 24 hours. We didn't have a problem with the no alcohol in the hostel rule, but coming in late on a weekend night from a party while being quiet and respectful shouldn't cause any problems.

Also, we found it quite funny that the sheets had to be put on ourselves but while cleaning the rooms during the day everyone's personal stuff were rearranged to the extent of hanging dresses up on a hanger. Some of us felt weird about the fact that someone went through their dirty clothes. Even though 2 of the rooms were used only and exclusively by our group, we couldn't lock the rooms.

I have to give it to two of the reception girls who were always offering tea or coffee and trying to make everyone happy, but the handling of issues was really inefficient.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ylane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    22
    13
    8
    7
See reviews for
1
8
33
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Terrible computer, bad atmosphere, good bathrooms and good location
- The rooms were cleaned everyday
- The hostel is very well located
- The computer for using internet was very bad and the wire-less only worked in part of the hostel
- It's not allowed to enter the hostel with beers or any kind of alcoholic drink
- I went with young friends and the atmosphere was not good at all
- The girls keep sending e-mails with: "Please, do a nice review. If you don't, we will not get our salary." So, I don't konw how much you should trust the reviews in general.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cal92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I stayed here for a week during a study trip with some other college students from the Netherlands. The staff was very friendly and can really make you feel "at home", the Nevsky Prospekt (Main street) is just around the corner, all basic needs of a hostel are provided and of acceptable quality.

The hostel could do with some maintenance, the showers don't look at all like on the pictures here on trip advisor (pictures are probably taken 10 years ago!). But that's no big issue.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gijon
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We made a booking through their official website 2 months in advance and received an email with all the confirmation details. When We got there We found out that there was not room available for us. After having waited for more than 8 hours for a solution they finally put us in separated rooms both extremely crowded and noisy and with poor wifi conection. The facilities are not as good as they mention on their website, only 3 showers and 2 toilets for all the guests. The location is really good though, just mere meters from Nevsky Prospekt apart from this I don't really know why is so highly rated on both Tripadvisor and Hostelworld, maybe you have to be a young backpacker to get the most of it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarGijon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Apple for 3 nights in July. The hostel is in an ideal location, tucked away in a quiet courtyard just a couple of minutes from Nevsky Prospekt. The rooms are clean and tidy with handy reading lamps on each bed. The only real drawback is that there are not enough showers for the whole hostel so when it's busy you may face a bit of a wait in the morning. Special mention must go to Oksana (sp?) who made a real effort to inform us of interesting sights, opening times, etc. and always had a smile on her face.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucyinmedway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IRAN
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

The hostel is located in the heart of city and accessible almost to the all historical part of St. Petersburg. Hostel staff will help you to find all afordable places arround the city and very kindly and politly. More overe there is very nice yard in front of the hostel since you can rest and drink your coffee. Don't miss it!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farshad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I booked this hotel for two nights and when I arrived things started well. I was offered a shower while I waited for my room which wouldn't be available until 13:00. I took a walk and when I returned at about 12:00 I was told they did not have a room and that they had booked my a room somewhere else and handed back the money they had been paid.

Room Tip: Look for one in a different establishment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CE778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
#7 of 344 in St. Petersburg
1,555 reviews
Nevskiy
Peter Hostel
Peter Hostel
#384 of 1,613 in St. Petersburg
14 reviews
Nevskiy
Ready Steady Hostel
Ready Steady Hostel
#469 of 1,613 in St. Petersburg
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
Baby Lemonade Hostel
Baby Lemonade Hostel
#3 of 1,613 in St. Petersburg
237 reviews
Nevskiy
Meridian Hotel
Meridian Hotel
#151 of 1,613 in St. Petersburg
41 reviews
Nevskiy
A Boutique Hotel
A Boutique Hotel
#171 of 344 in St. Petersburg
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Hostel

Property: Apple Hostel
Address: Sadovaya 8, St. Petersburg 191011, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Nevskiy , Palace Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 1,613 Speciality Lodging in St. Petersburg
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Apple Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Apple Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing