We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location”
Review of Fortezia Piter

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fortezia Piter
Ranked #17 of 880 St. Petersburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Fantastic location; less than a minutes walk to the Hermitage and close to many other sights in the historic heart of St Petersburg. The hotel is set within a small courtyard, rooms small but clean and nicely decorated, good breakfast served to suit your timings and very friendly & helpful staff who spoke English. We stayed four nights and will highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    20
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
14
33
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
97 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

This lovely boutique hotel is in a fantastic location right next to the Hermitage and walking distance to all the wonderful sights of St. Petersburg. Very nice,helpful staff. Some of the staff doesn't speak English but try to help as much as they can. Small rooms but charmingly decorated. Generous breakfast. Good price for location.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4EverTraveler66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2013

My parents stayed at Fortecia Piter 4 nights last July (I booked it for them) and they really liked it. I would definitely recommend. There was some miscommunication in the beginning with the placement of the booking (probably because I was in St. Petersburg in person, which is more rare I guess than booking online) but they were really professional about it and in the end were really helpful with everything. The hotel is close to the Hermitage and the Russian Museum among other cultural must-sees, Nevsky Prospect and the Neva. Overall, prime location but still quiet, and small size-- they only have 8 rooms if I recall correctly (which to me personally is a big plus!). A real gem for a hotel in my opinion. Charming interiors; rooms are not huge but they're tidy and up-to-date, bathrooms are new. Great service from what I remember--my parents don't speak Russian so I was often the one communicating with the staff in Russian (which might have had something to do with the quality of service), but they do speak English too. I would agree with other people though on trying to coin some key phrases/greetings in Russian, it really does help with communication, and with attitudes, they really appreciate the effort! Breakfast included, and what is really great is that you choose for each day what you want to eat and drink among coffee, tea, oatmeal, sandwiches, pancakes, with different sides/toppings..

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fjallravenfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed 5 nights at this lovely little hotel in St Petersburg and can't fault it. The staff were lovley and really helpful, the location is ideal especially for visiting the Hermitage, the Church on the Spilled Blood and taking the hydrofoil to Peterhof (all highly recommended), the hotel is nice and quiet at night and its excellent value for such a central location. The rooms aren't big but the shower was great and the fluffy dressing gowns and slippers very welcome after a long day sightseeing. The hotel also has a certain local charm you don't get in the bigger international chains. All in all very pleased with the hotel and St Petersburg as a destination.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EastYorkshireSalsera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collingwood, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Found this 8 room boutique hotel through Trip Advisor and Lonely Planet. Terrific location, 2 blocks from the Hermitage. Excellent staff who speak English, wonderful room but small, great breakfast to your own order, quiet, clean, well appointed, internet. Easy walking to most attractions in central St Petersburg and reasonably priced. Made our 3 day stay in SPB most convenient and enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Collwd-Bala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Chapelle Montbrandeix
Level Contributor
98 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

From the outside you are tempted to think...ouch!!! and then the lobby area is has a certain charm but not much more than ok. The rooms are smallish but actually pretty good with fluffy dressing gowns, slippers, bottled water and ours had a good shower, We found the staff reserved but if we spoke the three or four words of Russian that we learned their whole attitude changed. ( This proved to be the case in most places that we went. A few words in their language made everyone smile. I encourage you to learn some, it will enhance your stay.). The location of the hotel is the gem of the property. The Hermitage was a few paces away as was the Nevesky Prospect, the enjoyable main "drag" of the city. You can walk to many other of the main attractions in the city. We were there in June and the days were long and bright which encouraged meandering late into the evening. Defintely, but definitely, we would recommend taking a boat trip. Ours was informative and the views from the river gave a different aspect and put everything in place. It was not expensive ( about €10 ) and we got a glass of champagne !!! We loved St. Petersburg and we are glad we spoiled ourselves by taking a driver and guide. We used Maxibalttours ( "Volkov Alexei, MaxiBaltTours" <volkoff@yandex.ru>) and are so glad we did. Alexei was charming, funny and hospitable and our guide Maria was a font of information.
We came on the 72 hour no visa trip with St. Peter Line. It is a floating factory, well run, efficient and good value. We wished we had stayed longer

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Scotcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NE Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We stayed here for one night in transit between Murmansk and Warsaw. It was our last night in Russia and we wanted a change from the modern hotels that we’d been in for the previous days in Murmansk and Arkhangelsk – Fortecia Piter certainly fit the bill in this regard.

Its location in Millionnaya ulitsa is upmarket and extremely handy for the Hermitage Museum, about a three-minute walk so it would suit anyone wanting to spend quite a bit of time there. It’s not so handy for the metro, nor for restaurants, cafés etc – there are some in the vicinity, but we weren’t particularly attracted by any of them – but it’s only a five- to ten-minute stroll to Nevsky Prospekt and from there, St Petersburg is your oyster. The hotel can be a little hard to find if you’re not prepared for it – the entrance is tucked away within a gated courtyard, with security personnel at the street entrance – and the sign on the outside of the building is only in Russian, but it matches with the typeface on their website so it’s not so bad if you learn what it looks like beforehand. The street number is simple enough to find.

We’d booked well in advance on booking.com and got a cheaper than normal rate. There are lots of pictures on that site and the hotel’s website and we found that the interior matched what we had seen online (actually a bit better); we booked a twin room rather than a double because it appeared to be a little more spacious (and we saw a double room whilst we were there – we’re glad that we picked a twin). It felt like a mini-hotel with its eight rooms and cosy reception/dining area, which was fine by us.

The welcome was warm and the staff could speak some English, which helped (our Russian being fairly limited in scope). We arrived early due to our flight times and our room wasn’t ready, but we were able to leave our bags at reception until check-in time. One thing that I found a little strange was having to sign a form saying that I’d understood the “house rules” (I thought this a bit draconian but okay, fair enough); we were also given a breakfast menu to fill in where we could tick what we wanted the following morning. It was a bit either/or in what you could have, but it was fine and turned out to be plentiful. Breakfast time itself was endearingly disorganised but we got what we’d asked for and it was more than ample to set us up for the day. The DIY espresso machine was appreciated greatly!

Our room was on the first floor (American second floor) and, like the other rooms, overlooked the courtyard (which was very quiet at night). It was the smallest of the rooms we’d had in Russia but there was still plenty of space for two people and it was thoughtfully equipped with nice toiletries, bottled water, insect screens, a safe that worked, information folder and so on. The décor was charming with a chandelier and carefully arranged curtains – evidently some care had gone into the furnishing. Beds were very comfortable – the one against the window was larger than the one along the wall, almost a double in size but not quite – and my partner enjoyed being able to stretch out. The bathroom was contemporary and very clean with a powerful shower. We could pick up wifi in our room and it was free, an undoubted bonus (we did have to pay extra for migration registration, which other hotels had done free of charge).

Overall, it was a charming and friendly little hotel and we were happy with our brief stay there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor (American second floor) to avoid looking out of your window at par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank halwimsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Admiralteisky
3MostA Boutique Hotel
3MostA Boutique Hotel
#13 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 335 in St. Petersburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,508 reviews
Admiralteisky
Comfort Hotel
Comfort Hotel
#11 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Liteyny
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tchaikovskogo
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tc...
#5 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Nevskiy
Golden Triangle Hotel
Golden Triangle Hotel
#23 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Nevskiy
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
#15 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortezia Piter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortezia Piter

Property: Fortezia Piter
Address: Millionnaya St., 29, St. Petersburg 191186, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Admiralteisky
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 880 B&Bs / Inns in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fortezia Piter 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Fortezia Piter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing