We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic place in the heart of St.Petersburg”
Review of Demetra Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Demetra Art Hotel
Ranked #45 of 361 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2012

I've booked a room in this hotel for 14th of February as a surprise for my husband. It was just 1900 rubles per night on booking.com without breakfast.
On check-in I was given a small present from hotel - a cotton bag, which was nice.
Our room was on the last floor with a balcony facing the Vosstaniya street with a figure of Demetra covering half of the view. But the roofs of the central part of the city could be seen, and balcony wasn't the thing we were looking for in this hotel:)
The room itself and bathroom were very stylish! 100% the same as on the pictures. TV with a lot of channels, small fridge. It seemed like there were no other people in the hotel, because of good soundproofing.
All the problems in room (absence of 1 big towel, also we asked for the vase) were solved by staff instantly.
I highly recommend this hotel for those citizens who look for the romantic place and tourists who want to stay in the heart of "Old city".

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank supagrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

86 - 92 of 367 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2012

We stayed 3 days at the Demetra Art hotel in St. Petersburg. We were here visiting our Russian friend who was living in St. Petersburg. We chose this hotel because of the location and his recommendation. Overall, the Demetra Art Hotel far exceeded our expectations in service, location, and quality. We were able to obtain a discounted rate by booking directly with the hotel website, and although this was a nonrefundable booking, we took the chance, was able to save 25%, and used that savings to book a room with a good view. Much to our joy, we were fortunate to get upgraded to a suite. Our room was gorgeous with huge balcony, luxurious, and had every amenity anyone could hope for. The entire hotel was built a year earlier, and it was very modern, yet maintained charm and was beautifully decorated throughout. The staff was very helpful, and polite, and we felt absolutely pampered our entire stay. The receptionist Fyodor was so nice, he made us restaurant reservations, as well as obtained us tickets to museums so that we didn't have to wait in line. Anyone choosing the Demetra Art Hotel will not be sorry. It was one of the best hotels we have ever stayed at!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarastrobl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We stayed several times in St. petersburg. I started as student in 1967 visiting Leningrad, in a very very small cheap hotel, with roomservice that brough you tea for a few kopecks in the 5th floor. As the years passed my requirements also get more, and I saw many hotels, we visit many times the city for business and relax. We think it is with Rome , Barcelona , Amsterdam one of the best cities in Europe to visit.
In this hotel breakfast was may be a little bit expensive, but it was worthwile and we still remember it. The location was stunning , the rooms beautifull and you have to feel the russian history, culture and art in the rooms. It is in the center, you can walk to nice several places close by. We stayed in other hotels and they were are also excellent ,but this was the one we remember the best.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Nice looking boutique hotel, a little bit strange location of rooms, you can easily live at the floor 3 1/2, which mean no elevator goes exactly to your floor.
Service is terrible, it looks like the hotel is being managed by the team of students. At the breakfast you need always beg for tea cups, plates and napkins. Choice of food is OK, but for this price can be better.
No free water in a room or in the hall.
Basically what did I like to the most from this hotel is very comfortable location close to metro station in the center of the city.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a room of the 1/2 of the floor, otherwise you need to carry your luggage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chevochka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

New hotel, room (double) well furnished (except mini bar). Friendly and helpfull staff. Location is not bad, about 15 minutes of walk to Nevskiy prospekt and about 40 minutes of walk to Winter Palace.
There is no space in lobby for have a short meeting except of restaurants = no good for business trips.
Lobby bar - very bad - no choice except beer, tea, coffee and juice (even in restaurant no wine).
Buffet breakfest is not too large, but you can find there all what you need.
Price doesn't correspond to the level of services (it was strongly impacted by top season).
Generaly recomanded to tourists and not during top season.

Room Tip: there should be some small rooms - better to ask before the size of the room. Mini bar is very limi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Radomira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

New and confortable bedrooms even if cleanliness is not perfect. After 3 days of presence, some breadcrumbs were always at the same place as they were at our arrival.
Service is poor except for paying services. You will say hello or thank you at least twice more than you will hear them from the staff.

Poor breakfast without butter, nor jam and croissants from the day before. Given the price It is probly better to have breakfast somewhere else.

With a few things, this hotel good be really better. But maybe not so simple...

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Haris2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Good boutique hotel. Nice rooms and breakfast. Only problems were lack of staff and occasional smell of sigaret smoke wich came via ac duct apparently from other room. Its a new hotel so hopefully service will improve in future.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pasi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevsky Forum Hotel
#19 of 361 in St. Petersburg
764 reviews
Liteyny
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tchaikovskogo
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tc...
#4 of 361 in St. Petersburg
804 reviews
Nevskiy
Akyan St.Petersburg
Akyan St.Petersburg
#11 of 361 in St. Petersburg
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vasilyevsky Island
NasHotel
NasHotel
#10 of 361 in St. Petersburg
679 reviews
Nevskiy
Majestic Boutique Hotel Deluxe
Majestic Boutique Hotel Deluxe
#22 of 361 in St. Petersburg
248 reviews
Nevskiy
Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA
Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA
#25 of 361 in St. Petersburg
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Demetra Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Demetra Art Hotel

Address: Vosstaniya St., 44, St. Petersburg 191123, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 361 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range: £41 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Demetra Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Demetra Art Hotel is the excellent choice for those travelers, who prefer high level of comfort and service, but do not want, having entered into the hotel, to forget in which city and which country they are staying. Demetra Art Hotel possesses all advantages of the modern hotel, new and qualitative hardware, systems of safety and security. But at the same time - which is a rarity nowadays - it is an embodiment of Saint-Petersburg spirit. Floors of Demetra Art Hotel are designed in the styles of different epochs of cultural capital of Russia - the classic style, the baroque style, the art-nouveau style. The building itself is a masterpiece of northern modern style - it is the restored monument of architecture and is on the list of cultural heritage of the Russian Federation. All 57 rooms, designed by Italian architectural studio Rossi Cattaneo have different lay-out, even very non-standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Demetra Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing