We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but not satisfied”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Demetra Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Demetra Art Hotel
Ranked #47 of 334 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Clean but not satisfied”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

I was staying at this hotel for 2 night on 30-Aug and 31-Aug. We came in the morning and for sure couldn't check in. So We leave my luggage there and went for the city to explore. When we came back on the afternoon, the room is ready, but unfortunately, it is not as we requested and need to change to different room. The receptionist is not nice as you can see on mostly Asian's hotel with smile, or perhaps they do not speak English well in St. Petersburg. They answer the question in very short statement and you will need to ask again. The room is clean but standard. TV is not working, you need to call the receptionist and they will ask one person to come and adjust the receiver.There is no kettle for hot water, there is no wardrobe. However, you can call to room service to ask for hot water. The bathroom's amenity is standard: towel, bath gel, shampoo, hair dryer, magnifying mirror. That is all. The view from my window is bad, facing to old apartment and parking lot which is not well managed. The location of the hotel is close to Metro station by walk. Or aorunfd 25 minutes by walk to Nevsky Prospeckt streed. When you check in by foursquare there, you will get one cup of coffee for free.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the old building, it is better for the windows look.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoHandaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayna M, Guest Relations Manager at Demetra Art Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear JoHandaya
We thank you for your review. Your opinion is very important for us.
Firstly, I would like to explain you situation with early check in. Early check in is for free if we have the opportunity to provide this service for our guests. We couldn’t offer you early check in august because there was high occupancy.
We are sorry that your opinion about our staff is not as good as we wish. We improve level of our service and we train our receptionists. Our staff is important aspect of our hotel and we work to improve their skills.
And about room facilities, there are kettles and wardrobes in next room types: Junior Suite and Deluxe. We also can bring a kettle free of charge to Classic or Superior rooms if guests ask.
And I would like to repeat that your opinion is very important for us, because it helps us to be better.

With kind regards,
Guest relations manager
Ayna Magomedova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    92
    24
    5
    1
See reviews for
48
118
28
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
240 reviews
237 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Arrived early in the hotel, the front desk doesnt even care to listen about request for early check in. I know they dont have to grant us the request but at least they can fake to care/listen.
Told us to put our bag in front of the desk, promised to save it later.
When came back for check in at 22,00, the bag is still left scattered in front desk.
During check in, had to changed and complain for 6 times! YES, 6 times!!!! The hotel system allocate us into double bed room, instead of twin bed as requested/booked! And I had to walk up down in each level just to find the twin bed room.
There were never any apology mentioned, nor anything offered, so after 40 minutes found a room with twin bed, but facing the garbage dump.
Make no mistake, the hotel itself its ok, its just the staff which create all the problem

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandre N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayna M, Guest Relations Manager at Demetra Art Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Alexandre N,
Thank you for your comments. Every guest’s remark is essential for us.
I am very sorry that your visit to our hotel was darkened and you found receptionists work not enough attentive and kind. Most probably this situation happened as a result of high occupancy of the hotel because it was the time of high season.
I can reassure you that the hotel team are doing their best to make the guest’s arrival and staying at the hotel comfortable and pleasant. Demetra Art Hotel holds regular skills development workshops for the whole staff. I hope that we can encourage you to visit our hotel again so we can make you feel a friendly atmosphere like at home.

With kind regards,
Guest relations manager
Ayna Magomedova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

2 nights here on business. The room was clean and comfortable as was the bathroom - but nothing special. The bath water runs brown at first but it does clear! The television didn't work so I reported it at breakfast and they promised to look into it but it still wasn't working the second night so I had no television during my stay. Breakfast is a poor buffet selection and staff were not very helpful when asked for additional items or fresh fried eggs when those on the buffet had gone cold. Sat in the bar for a couple of hours to work but one member of staff insisted on sitting down at the bar next to me for her cigarette break every half hour which was horrible.
Returned from business meeting at 17:30 but found that my room had not yet been made up and just as I sat down to work, room service arrived to make it up so I had to leave again for 30mins.
Good location and nice rooms but I will choose a different hotel next month.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms at the front are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasperTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayna M, Guest Relations Manager at Demetra Art Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear JasperTD,
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel during your stay in Saint-Petersburg! We appreciate that you found time to leave your comment on Tripadvisor. Thank you for sharing your positive experience which you had in our hotel.
We are very sorry about negative situations happened during your stay. We have investigated all points and took necessary actions to avoid these situations in the future.
Also I would like to comment some moments you have mentioned:
Our buffet breakfast includes selection of starters, main courses, dairy produce, desserts and drinks (hot and soft drinks). We are sorry that selection seemed small to you. Please, be assured that we offer our guest the best quality of dishes.
Thank you one more time for your feedback. We would be glad to welcome you in our hotel in future.

Kind regards,
Guest relations manager
Ayna Magomedova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

This hotel was perfect for us. Small, newly renovated, beautifully decorated, modern and clean. True it is a 15 minute walk to Nevsky Prospekt but we took the view that as a visit to St Petersburg involves so much walking anyway that it didn't really matter. Breakfast was lovely, plenty of choice and one evening we ate in the restaurant which was also excellent. The staff are wonderful. The girls on the front desk are very sweet and friendly and go out of their way to help with every little question we had. St Petersburg is beautiful, much to see ... just watch out for taxi drivers ... some of them have no shame!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayna M, Guest Relations Manager at Demetra Art Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Caroline M,
Thank you for your opinion. We are very glad that you were enjoyed your staying with us. It's very important for us to know that our guests were satisfied.
With kind regards,
Guest relations manager
Ayna Magomedova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Booked three nights in this hotel and coudn't be more satisfied. Lovely interior, great staff and very nice location. We stayed here with out friends and we all had different rooms. In my opinnion the blue was the most beautiful, red the second and lime/orange was the ugliest. Metro is very near and you can walk to the center in 20 minutes.

The rooms were clean and the water wasn't as yellow as everyone said it to be.

Room Tip: Ask for a blue room if you want a nice decor with a chandelier
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aiugdsaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

With a very elegant and warm decoration, but at same time very modern, Demetra Art Hotel is a surprise in the center of San Petersburg. Reception staff is very kind, and also speak good english.
The rooms are very complete and clean, with a bed king size and have important details as the shoe sponge shiner.
The price is fair for the service.
The only thing you have to be careful are the mosquitos.
Very recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivianadiazb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

Our tour company booked this hotel for us so we were pleasantly surprised by how great our stay was here, the room was decorated very nicely and I loved the shower. The breakfast was great and had a good variety of food and the restaurant had great food dinner. All the staff were very helpful and friendly and having the security at the door was reassuring, it was also the first hotel through Europe that we had help with getting our luggage to our room. Having a metro station close was very handy for getting around when not on our tour, I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Akyan Saint Petersburg
Akyan Saint Petersburg
#12 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Nevsky Forum Hotel
#14 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
NasHotel
NasHotel
#9 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
Golden Triangle Hotel
Golden Triangle Hotel
#19 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Liteyny
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tchaikovskogo
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tc...
#5 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Vladimir
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Ligovsky
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Li...
#17 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Demetra Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Demetra Art Hotel

Property: Demetra Art Hotel
Address: Vosstaniya St., 44, St. Petersburg 191123, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 334 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Demetra Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Demetra Art Hotel is the excellent choice for those travelers, who prefer high level of comfort and service, but do not want, having entered into the hotel, to forget in which city and which country they are staying. Demetra Art Hotel possesses all advantages of the modern hotel, new and qualitative hardware, systems of safety and security. But at the same time - which is a rarity nowadays - it is an embodiment of Saint-Petersburg spirit. Floors of Demetra Art Hotel are designed in the styles of different epochs of cultural capital of Russia - the classic style, the baroque style, the art-nouveau style. The building itself is a masterpiece of northern modern style - it is the restored monument of architecture and is on the list of cultural heritage of the Russian Federation. All 57 rooms, designed by Italian architectural studio Rossi Cattaneo have different lay-out, even very non-standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Demetra Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing