We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lousy hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vedensky Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vedensky Hotel
Ranked #76 of 331 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lousy hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

I've been to St Petersburg for several times and this is the most lousy hotel that I ever had in St Petersburg. I went to St Petersburg during summer (23 June - 25 June 2013) and I was staying in Vvedenskiy Hotel for 2 nights. The air conditioning system in hotel was really bad because it doesn't work at all, the weather was like 30 degrees for day time but the room was so stuffy all the time. I feed back to reception and the reply was they can't do anything on it. So disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teddy198600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rafael A, Deputy of Sales Director at Vedensky Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear Teddy,

Thank you for taking time and writing your review on Tripadvisor.
It's so important for us to know your opinion about our hotel.

The more difficult for us to recognize that you had a negative experience during your stay.
Indeed, there are could be technical difficulties due to high occupancy of the hotel.
But anyway that does not excuse inconvinience you faced with.

Please accept our sincere apologies for your problem not been resolved at time you back with it to the reception desk. We'll do our best to improve our service.

Your opinion is very important for us.

We hope to see you in our hotel again.

Best regards,
Rafael Arutyunyan
Deputy Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    99
    49
    14
    5
See reviews for
36
74
15
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

It is a nice hotel. The rooms are confortable and renewable; the breakfast is diversified. The staff is attentitive but they do not have a concierge.

It requires a long walk to downtown, where the many atractions are. You may do once but not frequently. This is a problem in a town where it is not easy to pick up a tax in a street.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank augusto53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rafael A, Deputy of Sales Director at Vedensky Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear Augusto,

Thank you for your review at Tripadvisor.com about your reсent stay at Vedensky Hotel.

We glad to announce that just a few days ago we start to provide concierge services in our hotel again.

We are pleased that your room and breakfasts met your expectations.

We higly appreciate your review and will be glad to see you in St.Petersburg at Vedensky Hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Rafael Arutyunyan
Deputy of Sales Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napoli
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

I have stayed three nights, in May 2013. Quality of rooms and services was perfect. Only problem was quality of meals (dining room is very small and menu assortment is poor). In the morning the dining room was crowded by large groups. However, with small fee (to be negotiated) you can get taxi to go anywhere to eat. Cheapest taxi company was telephone nr. 6000000. Ask for it, otherwise receptionists will call different, more expensive companies. In the vicinity there is a very good Georgian restaurant.

Room Tip: Rooms on front side, lower floors may be a little noisy, as cars drive really fast on Bolshoy prosp.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fveltri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rafael A, Deputy of Sales Director at Vedensky Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Dear fveltri!

Thank you for your review at Tripadvisor.com about your reсent stay at Vedensky Hotel! We are pleased to receive your feedback.

On behalf of hotel Vedensky staff members, let me thank you for a positive total scroe you choose.
You may rest assured that your comments will be passed to the affilated departments and we will do our best to keep our service on the highest level and improve aspects you notted in your review.

Once again, we higly appreciate your comments and will be glad to see you at Vedensky Hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Rafael Arutyunyan
Deputy of Sales Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imatra, Finland
Level Contributor
204 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

I collect experience from hotels around the world and this hotel was hotel of its rating.i have almost nothing bad to say about it.however that hotel has some small details to improve...f.e.no car parking exept on the road and bathroom worked a little bad too but thats all.breakfast ok,room ok.athmosphere ok

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattisaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rafael A, Deputy of Sales Director at Vedensky Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Dear Mattisaki!

Thank you for your review at Tripadvisor.com about your reсent stay at Vedensky Hotel!

On behalf of hotel Vedensky staff members, let me thank you for a positive response and comments regarding improvements you would like to see, so here is explanations some of them:
Parking - we have secured underground parking upon request, you are welcome to use it on your next stay.
Bathroom - our staff will extra check the rooms, be sure we will fix it.

You may rest assured that your comments will be passed to the affilated departments and we will do our best to keep our service on the highest level.

We are glad that your room and extra services met your expectations.

Once again, we higly appreciate your comments and will be glad to see you at Vedensky Hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Rafael Arutyunyan
Deputy of Sales Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zaragoza, Spain
Level Contributor
212 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

I stayed there for two nights this week. Friendly staff, good breakfast buffet, ample and clean room. Located 20 min. walking from the Hermitage. They can also arrange transfer from and to the airport (Pulkovo), at a reasonable price. I'll repeat, for sure.

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Luis_de_Zaragoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rafael A, Deputy of Sales Director at Vedensky Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Dear Luis!

Thank you for your review at Tripadvisor.com!

On behalf of hotel Vedensky staff members, let me thank you for such a positive review about your recent stay.

You may rest assured that your comments will be passed to the affilated departments and we will do our best to keep our service on the highest level.

We are glad that your room and extra services met your expectations.

Once again, we higly appreciate your comments and will be glad to serve you in the nearest future.

Yours sincerely,
Rafael Arutyunyan
Deputy of Sales Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

A pretty, lovingly refurbished hotel which has had no expense spared. Spotlessly clean throughout. Charming staff who couldn't not have done more for us, including finding somewhere for us to eat at midnight (a two minute walk away as well). Rooms were immaculate although the wifi in the rooms is unusably slow. You can plug in a R45 network cable which ups the speed to barely functional, good enough for email but not web browsing. Forget about using Skype.

Breakfast was excellent, no suspicious young women drinking alone at the bar looking for company, location excellent. Cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DMT_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rafael A, Manager at Vedensky Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Dear Guest!

Thank you for your review about your stay in our hotel at Tripadvisor.com!

We are glad that overall experience is up to your expectations and we will do our best to make it even better.
Thank you for your comments about our Wi Fi connection. We'll make extra works to do its speed higher, as we recognize that its very important extra service for our guests.
Once again, thank you for you review and you are always welcome to Hotel Vedensky!

Yours sincerely,
Rafael Arutyunyan
E-commerce Manager and all Vedensky staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

Good price / value ratio. Rather small, but clean and newly equipped rooms. Quied place, English speaking staff and decet breakfast. What really surprised me was champaigne for brekfast - but do not be mistaken: it is not the "champaigne and caviar" type of place... However, I can honestly reccoment as very reasonable place to stay. Surelu worth the money.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rafael A, Manager at Vedensky Hotel, responded to this review, 14 December 2012
Dear Thomas!

Thank you for your review about your stay on Tripadvisor.com!

We are glad that overall experience is up to your expectations and we will do our best to make it even better;

Thank you for your comments about our breakfast; We are working on new menu now which is supposed to be more delicious and varied and also the Champaighn is a complimentary for all our guests.
Once again, thank you for you review and you are always welcome to Hotel Vedensky!

Yours sincerely,

Rafael Arutyunyan
E-commerce Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Ambassador Hotel
#47 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Nevskiy
Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA
Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA
#24 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilyevsky
Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilyevsky
#26 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Petrogradsky
Tradition Hotel
Tradition Hotel
#34 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Petrogradsky
Anturage Hotel
Anturage Hotel
#94 of 331 in St. Petersburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden
#61 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vedensky Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vedensky Hotel

Property: Vedensky Hotel
Address: Bolshoi Ave., 37 | Petrogradskaya side, St. Petersburg 197198, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Petrogradsky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 331 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vedensky Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Vedensky" Hotel is located in a unique historic building in the center of St. Petersburg, on the busy Bolshoy Prospect of Petrograd Side. At a walking distance, there are such sightseeing attractions as the Hermitage, the cruiser "Aurora", the Peter-and-Paul Fortress, the house of Peter 1, the Kuntskamera. The building of this hotel represents an object of St. Petersburg's historical heritage. Due to the excellent quality-to-price ratio and high professionalism of staff, your stay in the Hotel will be memorable. The "Vedensky" Hotel is located in a nine-storey building, which in the days of Catherine the Great housed the Vedensky Gymnasium, being fully consistent with the spirit of the city. Nobody will stay indifferent to the modern and classic style of furniture, plenty of light and space. Further, the hotel guests can benefit from gym services (at the moment, the gym stands temporary idle, and we apologize for any inconveniences). Promotional actions organized by the Saint-Petersburg's Hotel provide certain discount room rates, so that virtually anyone could afford a stay in the center of the city. The number of regular customers is constantly increasing, and it means that the "Vedensky" Hotel cares about the comfort of its guests. To learn more about promotional actions organized by the hotel, located in the historic part of Saint-Petersburg - the most beautiful city in the world, please, access our web-site or contact our administration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Vedensky Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing