We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost unbelievable”

State Hermitage Museum and Winter Palace
Book In Advance
More Info
US$60.00*
and up
Small-Group St Petersburg Hermitage Museum Tour with Skip-the-Line Entry and...
Ranked #2 of 1,786 things to do in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: One of the most famous art museums in the world, this museum is housed in the Winter Palace, and contains over 2.7 million exhibits including some of the world's greatest works of art.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
482 reviews
141 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Almost unbelievable”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This really is one of the world's great museums/art galleries. Sumptuous rooms, beautifully maintained and restored, wonderful works of art and paintings (the Impressionist collection alone is world-class), glorious views out over the River Neva from the front of the building, good information in Russian and English. There are lots of groups visiting, of course, and looking at the same major attractions - but the collection is so vast that you have to be really selective. We were certainly really grateful to go round with our own guide who selected a manageable number of paintings and sculptures to look at in a very full half-day visit.
Just wonderful - and we'd love to go back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank amdgriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17,027 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14,051
    2,275
    496
    118
    87
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Must do in St.Petersburg.”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The state hermitage museum is a brilliant place with a large collection of historical artefacts. A minimum of a day is required to do justice to this place. The collection is organised in terms of various civilisations and time periods.
The entry is crowded and even inside the museum the major attractions are all humming with people. There are artefacts from wide variety of pieces from paintings to marbles to mummies to picassos. Some rooms just blow your mind away as you enter them, the decorations of various rooms is an art in itself.
It is a lot better to explore the place with tour/audio guide as it will guide you to the main attractions through this maze of wonder. TOTALLY WORTH IT..!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mrinal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
283 reviews
196 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Exceeded all expectations”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Spent four hours visiting the exhibits in the Hermitage, and enjoyed every second. Purchased our tickets online from home, and were very glad because the lines at the ticket booths were extremely long. We saved a lot of time, and were able to get into the facility in minutes. You could spend days in the museum, so we used Rick Steves' book on St. Petersburg to guide us around to the most important sites. During our visit they had a temporary exhibition that showed clothes worn by people in Russia from 1700 up to the present day. This was one of my favorite,however I never could understand why taking pictures was prohibited in the temp exhibit only. Enjoyed visiting the room in which Bolshevik revolution started. Loved all the paintings by the masters. I would strongly recommend that all visitors be required to visit the museum because they teach history from a completely different perspective from that we've been told in the West. .

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank BostonRedSoxFan2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

full of culture and beatiful place to visit full of history, but make sure to go early to see all the hermitage.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Abdelhamid A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent Museum”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Brilliant examples of 18th and 19th century decadence. Rooms and displays were stunning but there is so much to see you really need top go at your own pace rather than a guided tour. Not sure what the modern paintings or various ethnic displays had to do the history of the Palace.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed State Hermitage Museum and Winter Palace also viewed

St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
Peterhof, Petrodvortsovy District
 
Pushkin, Pushkinsky District
 

Been to State Hermitage Museum and Winter Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing