We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fascinating”

State Hermitage Museum and Winter Palace
Book In Advance
More Info
US$60.00*
and up
Small-Group St Petersburg Hermitage Museum Tour with Skip-the-Line Entry and...
Ranked #2 of 1,781 things to do in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: One of the most famous art museums in the world, this museum is housed in the Winter Palace, and contains over 2.7 million exhibits including some of the world's greatest works of art.
UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Pure opulence extravagance and beautiful. A must see. The Hermitage museum is incredible I loved every room and there were a lot of rooms to see.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bordagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16,771 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13,843
    2,236
    490
    116
    86
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Huge, beautiful, amazing, very crowded. Buy tickets online.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

A must-see for every visitor to St. Petersburg - and that makes it very crowded. I'd recommend joining a guided tour, otherwise you'd be lost after 10 minutes. But, if you have plenty of time, getting lost in such a wonderful palace is not a bad thing, isn't it? Do yourself a favor and buy the tickets online in advance (their official website http://www.hermitageshop.org/tickets/) - that will save you a lot of time! The ticket lines could be pretty long during the tourist season (and I'm not even sure if there is such a thing as a "low season" in St. Petersburg).

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank I K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Puerto de Santa Maria, Spain
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful art!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

This place is gorgeous, and if you've been to the Louvre in Paris, you will definitely notice the similarity between the two museums - both huge, both located within beautiful palaces, both potentially somewhat confusing to first-time visitors without a tour guide. (To be honest, though, the Hermitage feels a little less organized. The map is slightly harder to decipher than that of the Louvre. In fact, I would say that if you've been to the Louvre, you might be a tiny bit disappointed with the Hermitage. That was how I felt, but I'm not crazy about art, so...) I won't even go on to describe the works of art that are contained within this museum, because there is a such a vast range of them. You'll also definitely want to pay attention to the interior design of the rooms themselves, since they are absolutely magnificent and each has a lot of history to it.

As for the technicalities:
If you find a good timing for your visit to the Hermitage Museum (i.e. weekdays, early on in the day), you won't have to deal with too much of a crowd. When I went in July 2014, the fees were as follows:
Normal entrance: 8-ish euro (400 rubles)
If you can provide proof of being a Russian/Belarusian citizen, you pay 1 euro less.
Children under 18 and students (must provide student card) go in for free.

You are supposed to pay extra to take photographs (4 euro), but honestly, the place is always fairly crowded and nobody bothers to check whether you have the ticket that allows you to photograph. Personally, I didn't pay extra and would just take my phone out occasionally to take a picture or two, and nobody said a thing to me.

You'll want to put most of your stuff away into storage, since they don't let you in with large or even medium-sized rucksacks and bags (handbags are an exception, I think).

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank porcelainfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
1,169 reviews
637 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,225 helpful votes
“Hugely impressive!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

It is massive and would take forever to see everything so just do what you can!! The rooms are ornate and beautiful. We just visited by ourselves and whilst museums aren't my number one thing to do, I found time running away with itself in here. Before we knew it, we had spent a day there and it was time to leave! Go, you'll enjoy it even if you aren't entirely taken with museums it's interesting to see.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank champkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rajasthan
Level Contributor
92 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“wonderfull for art lovers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Well if you dont see hermitage in russia then you have missed it all ..

Grand palce with over 1000 rooms and 7 million artifacts and objects to see ..

great for art lovers and people who love history and ancient objects ..

need 3 hours minimum if u visit like a tourist only..

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pknrajasthan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed State Hermitage Museum and Winter Palace also viewed

St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
Peterhof, Petrodvortsovy District
 
Pushkin, Pushkinsky District
 

Been to State Hermitage Museum and Winter Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing