We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Angleterre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Angleterre Hotel
Ranked #31 of 334 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Wonderful location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

We stayed for 6 nights in May. The hotel is in a fabulous location opposite St Isaac's Cathedral, 5 minutes walk to the Hermitage and the main shopping area. Room was a good size, comfortable and clean. There was a good choice for breakfast. Staff on reception and at the door were efficient and helpful. There are a couple of restaurants. We ate there one night but thought it was much too expensive. There are many restaurants in the vicinity. Unfortunately internet was not free which we were unhappy with given the price of the accommodation. This is the only hotel of the 4 that we stayed at in Russia which charged us a passport registration fee. Again we were unhappy with this. However, we would certainly stay here again for the central location and comfort.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lachie255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngleterreGM, General Manager at Angleterre Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2011
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your comments on your recent visit to the Angleterre Hotel.
I am glad that you find the room in good quality and clean, the hotel being in a fabulous location , the view of St. Isaaks Cathedral worth the upgrade .
I was very sorry to read that you were unhappy with the passport registration fee.
Unfortunately we'd like to inform you that passport registration fee is aplicable according to the Russian Law. What concerns internet, I would like to inform you that it is free of charge for corporate business travelers, the charge to be waived at departure due to IT software programming. I would assume that has been the reason for being charged.
Since the 15th of June we have already established free WI-FI access in the rooms.
Thank you very much indeed for taking the time and trouble to write your comments which I very much appreciate.

Sincerely yours
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    372
    118
    22
    8
See reviews for
104
335
49
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 nights stay at the Angleterre Hotel.
The location is perfect with a several minutes walk to the Hermitage.
The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was clean, with internet , cable TV and security box. There is a staffed money change outlet and ATM machines in the reception The breakfast was excellent.
We would thorough;y recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ron_cubano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngleterreGM, General Manager at Angleterre Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at the Angleterre Hotel. I was very happy to learn that you found the location unbeatable, staff friendly and helpful and a comfortable room.
I was also happy to read that you found our breakfast bountiful.

Thank you very much for taking some of your precious time to write your comment which I really appreciate very much.
We look forward to welcoming you back at our hotel during a visit to St. Petersburg.
Sincerely yours
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2011

I stayed here with Martin Randall Tours for 6 nights. All the staff that I encountered were most welcoming, in particular in the Borsalino (Italian) Restaurant. It was so nice to be served with a choice of proper tea or coffee at breakfast. I had a spacious room overlooking the inner garden which was quiet at night, nicely furnished and with a stylishly equiped bathroom. The small pool and sauna were spotlessly clean.The hotel was a haven after a day of sightseeing and is conveniently located near to St Isaacs cathedral. It is within walking distance of The Hermitage and is near a park where it is possible to go for an evening stroll.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngleterreGM, General Manager at Angleterre Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2011
Dear Guest
Thank for your comments on your recent stay at the Angleterre Hotel in St. Petersburg, which we highly value.
I am glad that you find the hotel being clean and spacious, nicely furnished and with a stylishly equiped bathroom and in a perfect location within a walking distance from all the highlights of the center of St.-Petersburg. I was very pleased to hear that you highly appreciate our service in particular in the Borsalino (Italian) Restaurant and especially a great choice of proper tea or coffee during the breakfast .
Thank you very much indeed for taking the time and write your comments which I very much appreciate.
With best regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2011

i am writing this as i stay in the hotel. i have previously stayed next door in the Astoria, and although enjoyed my stay i did not think it was value for money. so this trip the sister hotel next door was my choice, as the location is great.
staff here are very friendly, receptionists are wonderfully pleasant with great english, the restuarant manager is also 'out of his way' helpful. infact staff wise it is difficult to fault the hotel. that being said those of you corporate travellers used to 4/5 star european hotels should not expect rooms of those standards. dont get me wrong, the hotel is clean, fresh and housekeeping are extreemly efficient, but the hotel is, russian, and maybe not as glitzy and shiny as you (and I) maybe used to.
However, it is a good hotel, great location, wonderful staff. Easy walking from most major attractions, quiet rooms...seem quieter then the rooms in the astoria next door, where every footfall from room above could be heard.
I would choose this hotel again just for position and staff, both are great.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank talluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plovdiv
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2011

The Hotel has a superb location overlooking the beautifull St.Isaac cathedral and square.We stayed for four nights in a classical double room facing the inner cortyard and it was very quiet and tranquill.The Hotel and the room itself are decorated in very sophisticated and manner but yet very confortable.
The main Restaurant offers very lush buffet-breakfast and genuine italian dishes,and maybe best pizza in town.
I definetly will stay again if I have a chance to visit the town.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ekzosvetliashki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngleterreGM, General Manager at Angleterre Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at the Angleterre Hotel. I was very happy to learn that you found the location superb, the atmosphere quiet and tranquil, also the rooms are very comfortable.

I was also happy to read that you found our breakfast bountiful and you’re fond of Pizza from our Italian Chef.

Thank you very much for taking some of your precious time to write your comment which I really appreciate very much.
We look forward to welcoming you back at our hotel during a visit to St. Petersburg.
Sincerely yours
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2010

I stayed here with a small group tour in September 2001 - was very happy with levels of comfort and excellent location (with surprisingly large rooms by European standards). I would happily recommend to family, which is always my benchmark.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyAndrewHy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngleterreGM, General Manager at Angleterre Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank for your comments on your recent stay at the Angleterre Hotel in St. Petersburg, which we highly value.
I am glad that you find the hotel in a perfect location with a high level of comfort and size of the room.

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write your comments which I very much appreciate.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family back at our hotel during a visit to St. Petersburg.

With best regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Spezia, Italy
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2010

It is a nice Hotel with a central location, it is few minutes away from Hermitage and all the other main attraction. Rooms are very clean, Internet connection is ok, but a bitexpensive if you don't have a business rate, in that case it is included.

Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank FraBenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Admiralteisky
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#8 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,479 reviews
Admiralteisky
W St. Petersburg
W St. Petersburg
#22 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Admiralteisky
Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel
Renaissance St. Petersburg Balti...
#32 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralteisky
Taleon Imperial Hotel
Taleon Imperial Hotel
#33 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Admiralteisky
Domina St.Petersburg
Domina St.Petersburg
#10 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Admiralteisky
Petro Palace Hotel
Petro Palace Hotel
#27 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angleterre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angleterre Hotel

Property: Angleterre Hotel
Address: Malaya Morskaya St., 24 | Isaakiyevskaya Square, St. Petersburg 190000, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Admiralteisky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#23 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#35 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#43 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#64 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Angleterre Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Angleterre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angleterre Hotel St Petersburg
Angleterre St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing